Thy Art Is Murder
Human Target


2.0
poor

Review

by New Disillusion Album Soon... USER (6 Reviews)
July 27th, 2019 | 69 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thy Art Is Mediocre

Ever since the release of Dear Desolation, Thy Art Is Murder fans have been waiting patiently for something else, something better, something to fill the void that Hate las left. Even though Dear Desolation was a huge letdown, we all still wanted Human Target to be more than that. Because let's be honest here, Dear Desolation was a shit show and a half on release with no potential for growth or replay value. It couldn't possibly get worse for this once amazing band, finally a new TAIM release. That being said, let's get down to business.

Human Target is an album that is easily forgettable, has its moments but seems like it was rushed at the tail end to get it out as soon as possible, with no questions asked. As the album opens up, one can easily tell CJ has still got his vocal projection down, but it's not the performance of his vocals that is a letdown here, it's the lyrics. They decided to go political and in a very rudimentary form. Make America Hate Again. No, CJ is not 14 years old. He is 36 and some of these lyrics could have been mistaken for something written on a High School kid's folder. At no point during this album did I think to myself "this is good". In fact, there were many moments during this album to where I thought to myself "is this the same band that recorded Hate"" Sadly, yes it is. CJ did an amazing job since Brendan left but this is a gigantic disappointment from Infinite Death, hell even Holy War shits pellets all over this in every way, shape and form.

The entire album is a blurred mess of repetative riffs, corny cliché political lyrics and little to none when it comes to lead projection. There are some decent breakdowns but don't expect to get close to hard while listening to this album. If anything, it's a half chub. I wish I could write more about this album but unfortunately, it bombed hard and there's nothing left to say.


In closing, this was a huge disappointment and probably their worst album to date.



Recent reviews by this author
Hell Within Asylum Of The Human PredatorExterminatus Laniakea
Fragments of Unbecoming Skywards: A Sylphe's AscensionNaxatras III
Twista Kamikaze
user ratings (101)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
HedHoncho
July 26th 2019


27 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Good review and i agree with it. This album is atrocious in my opinion. Its very bland, generic and simply not good what so ever. Im pretty sure Nickelback has made some better tunes in their very shitty career. Its a big disappointment from what was a band with a very promising future. Infinite Death and Hate will always be their shining stars unless they can stop the burning ship from sinking further in to the abyss. Nice try i guess EZ GG.

Hellscythe
July 26th 2019


4075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great album agreed

Digging: Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

trilo
July 26th 2019


2715 Comments


this band lol

MacMillanCoD4
July 26th 2019


2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Shit you not, I was falling asleep halfway through. I wouldn't say it's dogshit, but it is as average as can be for a once great band. On a side note, I loved Dear Desolation. This is essentially the exact same record as that, but like the Lion King remake, somehow worse in every eay.

JayEnder
July 26th 2019


4971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Title track and Voyeurs Into Death are the only bangers really. Chemical Christ is aighttt. The rest of this, however, is a fucking snoozefest.



What a waste of that album art.

Digging: Knocked Loose - A Different Shade of Blue

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


9939 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Snap summary

Ninjahague
July 27th 2019


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

dear desolation was thy arts best album and this is just a bad rehash of said album

im sure the album has some bangers but i really dont wanna give this a proper listen considering its a worse dd

JayEnder
July 27th 2019


4971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They literally recycled the exact same riffs from both the title track on Dear Desolation (Death Squad Anthem) and Puppet Master (Make America Hate Again) lmao.

JayEnder
July 27th 2019


4971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

At least give it that dude. This really isn't terrible by any means, just a rehash of DD like Ninja said.

TheClansman95
July 27th 2019


2180 Comments


Dear Desolation was awesome tbh. This album is a collection of ripoffs from DD and material that was too weak to make it to the aforementioned album, that's what. Just listen to "Make America Hate Again". they literally made a copy-paste of puppet master. wtf. honestly the review feels rushed, there was much more to be said

TheClansman95
July 27th 2019


2180 Comments


anyway, thanks Nuclear Blast for ruining another band, goddammit

Morpha
July 27th 2019


76 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I thought this would at least be better then new carnifex

TheNotrap
July 27th 2019


11612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I disagree with you guys, the album is not as bad as some people might want to believe, Eternal Suffering is a good song, for example.



Kai you're being a bad bad boy, but I'm not gonna neg it, obviously. Besides, you dig Fire Woman ;)

Digging: Humanity's Last Breath - Abyssal

Confessed2005
July 27th 2019


4977 Comments


I like some Thy Art Is Murder, like Dear Desolation but other material is relatively boring.

Well written review my man, have a pos.

TheNotrap
July 27th 2019


11612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don’t neg reviews, much less a bro's writing.

You have a different opinion, and difference was never a bad thing. I just hope it's genuine and you're not following any hate herd.



Yeah, Infinite Death was a good start. Hate is my fav

TheClansman95
July 27th 2019


2180 Comments


"Also, I honestly don't think a lot of people have heard Infinite Death. True TAIM."

Hell yeah man, ID kicks major ass*s. That EP is the essence of deathcore

Morpha
July 27th 2019


76 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

They are just too inconsistent every other release since the EP has been awful

PuncakeTheThird
July 27th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I enjoyed it a fair bit and loved Dear Desolation but they do need to shake it up a bit for their next release. I'm also probably in the minority that doesn't like Infinite Death at all.

Digging: Thy Art Is Murder - Human Target

TheNotrap
July 27th 2019


11612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm diggin it, the album has great jams. The Decapitated-esque moment on t/t is massive

DaveT0738
July 27th 2019


121 Comments


Didn't they released this album for the third time in a row by now?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy