Wormed
Metaportal


4.0
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (57 Reviews)
July 20th, 2019 | 43 replies


Release Date: 07/19/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Portal to quantum brutality

Extreme metal has been the most interesting and relevant musical genre of the last decades, being responsible for some of the most progressive and adventurous incursions of modern music. The Spanish Wormed belong to a restricted group of bands that managed to stand out from the pack. Their distinctive sound and attractive sci-fi concept caught the attention of the metal community, who saw the Spaniards as one of the greatest exponents of contemporary brutality.

Since the considerable hiatus after Planisphaerium, the band has released a single and two full-length, well-received by fans and critics, who have surrendered to the challenging creativity of these Spanish astronauts. The band's latest works are among the best releases the genre has offered this decade, in which I would highlight Krighsu, one of my favorite albums of 2016 and, for many, Wormed's creative peak.

On 9 March 2018, drummer Guillermo Calero died at the age of 27. A tragic event for the band and fans who, like me, found his performance in Krighsu, absolutely overwhelming. It's sad not knowing how Wormed's new release would sound with Guillermo behind the kit, but show must go on...

...and it goes on with 16-minute EP Metaportal, which continues the story of Krighsu, the last post-human being in a vast robotised galaxy. In a brave attempt to save the galaxy, Krighsu will have to access the immense Metaportal to win the nano-technological war.

As expected, "Remote Void", the first chapter of this quantum odyssey, is massive. While maintaining similarities with Krighsu, the sound is now bolder and the vocals slightly more perceptible in some parts. The band's formula remains unchanged, but we're not listening to the same song, a bit like the similarity between "Prowler" and "Wrathchild", we recognize Maiden's DNA perfectly, but we feel something has changed. This fresher approach remains in "Cryptoubiquity" and "Bionic Relic" which are among the most accessible songs (within genre standards) the band has ever recorded. At this point, we realize the band has evolved into a more orthodox dimension, which doesn't necessarily imply that the music has become predictable and uninteresting, on the contrary, it means the band is alive and still looking for new cosmic textures. This galactic research finds its most progressive form in "E-Xystem://CE", which is clearly the album's most contrasting song, exploring unusual time signatures and different vocal approaches. This last song closes the EP, without truly closing it, leaving a suspenseful nebula behind, which leads me to believe Krighsu's story may not be over yet...

Metaportal is a quantum portal to a galactic battle of catastrophic proportions. No one knows who will win the nano-technological war, but if it left such devastation in just 16 minutes, I can't wait for the next chapter.



Recent reviews by this author
...and Oceans Cosmic World MotherVader Solitude in Madness
Warbringer Weapons Of TomorrowBlack Curse Endless Wound
Oranssi Pazuzu Mestarin KynsiCaustic Wound Death Posture
user ratings (43)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some brief thoughts about this EP. Rules.



You guys can stream it here:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TV1NTXGdQtc

Digging: Sorcerer - Lamenting of the Innocent

Pikazilla
July 20th 2019


10989 Comments


Band rules, need to hear this.

Hawks
July 20th 2019


73730 Comments


This sounds sickkkkk.

Thalassic
July 20th 2019


4851 Comments


Band rules. Hopefully this is just an appetizer for an upcoming full length.

PunchforPunch
July 20th 2019


7085 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That last bit of E-Xystem://CE freaked me out the first time I listened to it. Fantastic EP, and a great review too!

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check it Hawks bro, I don't know if this stuff is your kind of thing, but don’t miss it.



I hope so Thalassic



Thanks Punch!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2019


8750 Comments


I remember enjoying Exodromos in the past, good review, might give this a shot.

Digging: Muspellzheimr - Muspellzheimr

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for stopping by mate. I believe you'll like this

Space Jester
July 20th 2019


8626 Comments


Damn is this out? AND Tomb Mold? AND JEROMES DREAM? How am I supposed to set aside two hours and listen to it all

Confessed2005
July 20th 2019


5166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck, this sounds awesome.

DDDeftoneDDD
July 20th 2019


12071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Need to check this x) seems like riff fest

Digging: Cirith Ungol - Forever Black

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mandatory jam D

DDDeftoneDDD
July 20th 2019


12071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only the EP or its a full discog band?

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All their recent stuff is awesome. I don't dig the debut, but old-school freaks might disagree.



Check Krighsu first and then this one ;)

zaruyache
July 20th 2019


22447 Comments


but does it breeee

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2019


13928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Always



But it's a different breee..check it out, It will only take 16 min of your time

Confessed2005
July 20th 2019


5166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Top notch tech death. Vocals are monstrous.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2019


11216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see tech death, I listen.



And only 16 minutes, that's a steal.

Digging: No Note - if this is the future then I'm in the dark

ramon.
July 21st 2019


3707 Comments


womed save lives

ramon.
July 21st 2019


3707 Comments


womed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy