Ceremony Of Silence
Oútis


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (47 Reviews)
June 27th, 2019 | 41 replies


Release Date: 04/05/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A mystical journey into emptiness and death

At the end of the decade, we've come across a series of extreme metal bands whose hybrid approach expresses a modern musical vision that explores and condenses different genres into a single narrative. Bands such as Hath, Venom Prison or Noctambulist, each in their own way, are products of their time, hybrids that mirror smells, shapes, colors, sounds, interpretations of the present. A present where everything blends. Ceremony of Silence is one of these new born creatures, whose musical signature doesn't belong to a single specific genre, but rather to a wider spectrum.

The opener "Invocation of the Silent Eye", with its Immolation meets black metal formula, immediately grabbed my attention. This NY death metal feeling is all around Oútis, as a transverse layer proudly showing the listener one of the band's main references. But the album's added value lies in the interaction of this layer with black metal aesthetics and surrounding dissonant harmonies. This combination of styles is shown, e.g., in the middle of "Invocation of the Silent Eye", through its mystic harmony, that appears out of nowhere, or in the final sequence of "Ceremony of a Thousand Stars", which brilliantly contrasts with the song's initial death metal approach. A dark, dense mist is always present, but I don't feel it as something demonic but rather mystical. A Slovak black haze that slowly surrounds us until it captures all oxygen and light. "Upon the Shores of Death", the album's doomiest song, invokes this surrounding emptiness that precedes death. This song, besides being one of the highlights, also provides a brief moment of contemplation, thus avoiding some saturation and weariness, sometimes present in this denser musical approach. The last tracks close the circle coherently, just like ouroboros in its ceaseless cycle of life and death, leaving nothing but hollowness and void.

Oútis is a mystical journey into emptiness and death. It's cohesive, focused, meaningful and artistically relevant. A surprisingly interesting debut from a band that has a message, a purpose and which solidly stands as one of the biggest promises of the European extreme metal scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Aeternam Al QassamAfterbirth Four Dimensional Flesh
Dark Fortress Spectres from the Old WorldMarrasmieli Between Land And Sky
Ihsahn TelemarkBlaze of Perdition The Harrowing of Hearts
user ratings (72)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
June 27th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Some thoughts about one of the good albums that came out this year.



You guys can stream the album here:

https://ceremonyofsilence.bandcamp.com/album/o-tis

Digging: Aeternam - Al Qassam

Papa Universe
June 27th 2019


22505 Comments


album slaps, heavy as fuck
ceremony of silence - oúPOS

TheNotrap
June 27th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks ;)



Yeah, heavy & dense stuff

butt.
June 27th 2019


7045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

" Immolation meets black metal formula, immediately grabbed my attention"

yeah that grabs my attention too! nice write-up, will check

TheNotrap
June 27th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Butt



It was the first thing that came to mind when I heard "Invocation of the Silent Eye". If you wish, you can check the opener here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9C5nBgYwZQo



The middle section is particularly interesting ;)

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2019


11851 Comments


Great write-up, you've shaken all the rust and gotten the hang of it!

The album looks like something that I normally wouldn't check, but you never know. Enjoyed the review, nonetheless.

TheNotrap
June 27th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks a lot manosg! Your feedback is always welcome mate.



I've had so much fun writing lately, it's my small contribution to the good music that has been emerging recently.



Check the opener, if you wish, and see if you dig the vibe ;)



Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2019


11956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Basically what Papa said

TheNotrap
June 28th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Nocte

MotokoKusanagi
June 28th 2019


2523 Comments


this sounds good

Hawks
June 28th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jamming this now. m/

TheNotrap
June 28th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I hope you like it bro ;)

Hawks
June 28th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s amazing so far.

TheNotrap
June 28th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, album rules hard. Super dense stuff, I dig their mystical vibe.

Hawks
June 28th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s like a Portal meets Immolation meets Sacramentum type of vibe. I’m digging it ahrd. m/

TheNotrap
June 28th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Immolation meets dissonant BM

Hawks
June 28th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep this absolutely slayz.

TheNotrap
June 28th 2019


13444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice rating ;)

Hawks
June 28th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro. m/

trilo
June 29th 2019


3132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nicee glad you got on this finally hawks



rulezz



production here is amazing too

Digging: Afterbirth - Four Dimensional Flesh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy