Lil Peep
Live Forever


3.5
great

Review

by ian b. mk iii USER (3 Reviews)
June 21st, 2019 | 23 replies


Release Date: 12/01/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Part 2: A unique blend of emo, guitar-driven trap production, and pop punk inspired vocals. But also simultaneously maintain a brooding atmosphere.

There’s a lot to say about Lil Peep. I mean, being one of the most polarizing figures in Emo and Rap of the past decade is just the tip of the iceberg. Even looking at it from an unbiased perspective, Lil Peep managed to create a damn near inane amount of music in his short ~2 year run of making music, whether it be churning out mixtapes and EPs with his collaborators or popping up on over 100 features.

At his best, Lil Peep knew which producers and which beats to pick, as well as when he could absolutely sink right into the atmosphere of a beat and make his connection to it. With complementarily haunting lyrics in his verses, but with just as many ear-wormy hooks and standout lines that stick in your head for weeks, the highs of this record are at times structured perfectly and never overstay their welcome. At his worst, his sound would tend to drone on, with having some tracks that don’t stay around long enough to catch your attention. Plus, his affinity for using a plethora of producers made way for some hit or miss moments throughout his earlier music, as his full-length discography is an enigma, excluding his commercial studio albums.

Though Live Forever is a another weird enigma in itself within Peep’s discography; as it has both of these elements of his at full throttle, but maintains a certain consistency of doom. Songs like the title track, “haunt u”, and “nuts (feat. lil skil)” all feature incredible beats with a brooding atmosphere that can feel like being clouded/surrounded by fog (“haunt u” is an exception though, as the song is more of a dark cry for help with an upbeat emo guitar melody than dreary). While on the other side of this double edged sword though, 3 or so songs here, especially “pick me up (feat. Yunggoth)” and “mirror, mirror” are entirely forgettable tracks in nearly every aspect. The consistency of the dark and desolate tracks here usually get the job done, but at times it feels like it could wear with repeated listens.

So while Live Forever doesn’t necessarily live it up the best of Peep’s full lengths by any means. It doesn’t carry the quality-consistency of other mixtapes like LiL PEEP: Part One, Crybaby, and California Girls, nor does it contain a drop of the zaniness found in projects like Hellboy (or what’s been released from Goth Angel Sinner). But, the tape still offers some really strong highs at the end of the day, and while it doesn’t maintain a quality-consistency as much as LPP1 or Crybaby, it still has a remarkable atmospheric consistency that only very few of his projects share. So while Live Forever is not necessarily the best or go-to Lil Peep offering, it still is enjoyable if you’re a fan of the style, and if it intrigues you, his other mixtapes are much more worth checking out, even if there are some signature songs here.

In fact, no record can bring such vivid imagery to me as the music video for “Live Forever” does, which features Peep alone in a dark hoodie in an abandoned parking lot, completely surrounded by a desolating fog. The end of the video sees Lil Peep walking away from the camera, into the fog to disappear into the bleakness and the unknown, which I believe is what Live Forever wears on its sleeve, and represents Lil Peep’s persona, his emptiness, as well as his mindset more than any other of his records/mixtapes ever managed to during his lifetime.



3.69/5

”If I don’t relapse and I stay strong / I could do anything I want to / Bump Lil Peep, when I die Imma haunt you / I could live forever if i want to / I could stop time but I never want to do that again / Ain’t nothing worse than losing a friend, and the feeling you get when everybody that you love ain't around / I really got to get away from this town / I’m just waiting for a wave and I’ll drown, Satan letting me down” — “haunt u”


user ratings (26)
Chart.
3
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
ianbisntdeadyet
June 21st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm baaaaack ;) srsly though i’m happy to be back where i began, and i hope with this account i can write even better reviews than i did on ianblxdsoe. any and all feedback is of course appreciated to the fullest extent. this is probably rough because it’s been quite a long time since i sat down and cranked out a review like this. anyways let me know what you think and/or what i should review next !! 💛

Digging: Jeromes Dream - LP

ianbisntdeadyet
June 21st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also shoutout to the writing-god Blush for giving me some tips and making me actually revise this before posting it lol

WatchItExplode
June 21st 2019


6896 Comments


"With complementarity haunting lyrics in his verses" - I must be missing something here

"Though Live Forever is a weird in Peep’s discography" - here too

I've never knowingly listened to Peep. Perhaps someday I'll change that.

ianbisntdeadyet
June 21st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah, it should have been complimentarily, accidental typo thank you, also i forgot to put a word in there because i had enigma but didn’t want to use it twice, so to fix it i just used it twice lmao but thank you so much for the feedback!! this definitely isn’t the first Peep project you should check out though. For everyone, i ALWAYS recommend Lil Peep: Part One, California Girls, CASTLES II, or if you want something kinda experimental + all over the place, i would recommend Hellboy

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2019


56815 Comments


why the new account?

Digging: Me in Capris - For Those Who Think You

ianbisntdeadyet
June 21st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

kicked out of my old one, plus it's been over a year since i've reviewed so i figured a fresh start would be nice, how have you been though Treb?

WatchItExplode
June 21st 2019


6896 Comments


I'll check Cali today since you and Blush always pop up in my mopey emo/indie threads.

ianbisntdeadyet
June 21st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good pick! The second track “pray i die” is a bit of a droner, but hopefully the rest of the ep is as entrancing/cord-striking to you as it is to me.

Papa Universe
June 21st 2019


22234 Comments


POS forever
welcome back, bub

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2019


24903 Comments


Good to see u back man. Solid review

ianbisntdeadyet
June 22nd 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks guys :'))) i genuinely appreciate it so much coming from both u legends 💛

ianbisntdeadyet
June 22nd 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also an idea, since i've still got Peep's discography in heavy rotation now that i have it all DL'd, but; Lil Peep full discography run??? or nah too emo lol

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2019


2923 Comments


Good work Ian !

ianbisntdeadyet
June 23rd 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

couldn’t have done it without your help !

ianbisntdeadyet
June 23rd 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://twitter.com/losinyrpatience/status/1142967020780163072?s=21 hi if you enjoyed this or reading anything of mine, i put up a poll of which project to review next, if you guys wanna vote 💛

ianbisntdeadyet
June 24th 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

looks like i'm gonna be reviewing Hellboy next! unless something else takes over in the next 5 hours lol

ianbisntdeadyet
June 24th 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright, the people of twitter have spoken, Hellboy review coming in the next 72 hours 🤠

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2019


2592 Comments


welcome back lil buddy 8+)

Digging: Crossed Out - Fuck Grindcore

ianbisntdeadyet
June 25th 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks Wines :') hope you've been doing well, missed ya

WatchItExplode
June 25th 2019


6896 Comments


So I did listen to California Girls and Part One over the weekend. I can see how this style owes a lot to Peep, but some of the crude/graphic bars really took me out of the music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy