Krypts
Cadaver Circulation


3.5
great

Review

by Marehelm USER (6 Reviews)
June 3rd, 2019 | 20 replies


Release Date: 05/31/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: That's the way the cookie crumbles.

About two years ago, I took the final exam of my studies. Hot days, cold beers, friends, and music awaited me. After the exam, I went straight on a bus and watched the 8th episode of Twin Peaks: The Return while riding towards a music festival. I watched the atomic bomb go off and create the evil of Lynch’s universe while the broad daylight obscured the finer cinematic details and bus-noises pushed Dean Hurley’s sounds into the background. It all murked together and only weeks later, after several re-watches, I would start to appreciate this episode.

With Krypts, and their newest album Cadaver Circulation, it is just the opposite. If you are familiar these Finnish gentle(cave)men and their cavernous sound, you know what I mean. Sometimes, the reverberating murkiness and the melting-pot-of-sound-approach used by Krypts and others can, despite the obscuring of individual sounds and elements, make the entire package more frightening and exhilarating than the combined individual parts. Atmosphere is deliberately created.

When I arrived at the festival, I ate a single weed cookie. About an hour later, after much hardship and many tribulations including ineffective cellular communication and carrying several cases of beers and camping gear, I arrived at our camp. During the usual formalities (hugs, setting up my tent, beer-bongs, and so on) I started feeling the crumble. The sun was shining and I had another beer. I sat down and my friends wanted to play a song for me. They were hyped. It was a Foo Fighters song: A version of “Best of You” looping the words “The best” throughout pretty much the entire song. I died of laughter, was resurrected some minutes later, but then died of laughter again. Today, I still find myself with a smurky grin when Foo Fighters somehow, in mystical and unintentional ways, manages to hit my ear canals.

With Krypts, and their newest album Cadaver Circulation, it is just the same. If you are familiar these Finnish gentle(cave)men and their cavernous sound, you know what I mean. Sometimes, well-written and -executed death metal with murk and atmosphere in spades that doesn’t overstay it’s welcome can bring out that smurky grin again. Krypts does just that while also making heads bang.

That is the way Krypt’s cookie crumbles. And that is definitely worth cherishing and celebrating.



Recent reviews by this author
Abyssal A Beacon In The HuskJulia Holter Aviary
Khorada SaltEliane Radigue Trilogie de la Mort
Mournful Congregation The Incubus of Karma
user ratings (69)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Yield to the grime that defines us all....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Marehelm
June 3rd 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thought this one needed a review. Pretty sweet album.

Marehelm
June 3rd 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All kinds of criticism is, of course, welcome. Apologies in advance for not talking enough about the music.

Papa Universe
June 3rd 2019


22454 Comments


cadaver POSulation

I guess, you've said it yourself, you don't really talk about music. It's okay to make a review in the form of a personal story, but it has to be more or less developed. This is just kinda short and pointless. This all would have been fine, had it been only the first third of the actual review. Cause all you say about the music can be summed up with: "If you like them, you'll like this.".
tl;dr - feels like there are about four paragraphs missing; it's really more of a thread or a soundoff.

Marehelm
June 3rd 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for reading, my man. Yeah, it probably seems a bit rushed - and it probably was. I do this just as much to practice my writing and actually getting something written. The added bonus, for me, is just that people gets a thread to discuss great albums. Not that that is in any way an excuse to write shitty and rushed reviews

Papa Universe
June 3rd 2019


22454 Comments


that's usually the goal, but try to maybe sit down and update it a little. dissect the songs, the band's history, album in the greater context of the genre, the feelings it evokes, the musical and creative choices the band took.

CaptainDooRight
June 3rd 2019


4202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

swee



Digging: Sarcasm (SWE) - Esoteric Tales of the Unserene

Marehelm
June 3rd 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/

Hawks
June 3rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rulez. Way better than the last one and pretty much on par with the debut. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

Marehelm
June 3rd 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had a feeling you would dig this, Hawksy

Hawks
June 3rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed I do. m/

CaptainDooRight
June 4th 2019


4202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dam this is good



might have to 4

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2019


17169 Comments


Love this review, good job man.

Digging: Emily Jane White - Immanent Fire

Deathconscious
June 4th 2019


23248 Comments


looking forward to hearing this.

oltnabrick
June 4th 2019


38191 Comments


gonna give this a listen tomorrow

Digging: ECCO2K - E

Marehelm
June 4th 2019


858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Dewi!

Azog
June 5th 2019


263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A rather stale cookie, though.

Hawks
June 5th 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh that’s how I feel about the previous album lol.

Azog
June 5th 2019


263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Actually I liked Remnants quite a lot better. Much more tension. Much more atmosphere. This one sounds more like straight up no frills OSDM. But to each their own, I guess. A bad album this is definately not.

Deathconscious
June 5th 2019


23248 Comments


I think theyre better at no-frills.

Azog
June 13th 2019


263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Truth be told, it did grow on me on repeated listens, so I upped my rating accordingly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy