Full of Hell
Weeping Choir


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kenneth Timper USER (16 Reviews)
June 1st, 2019 | 17 replies


Release Date: 05/17/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Taking a bite of the forbidden fruit.

In an interview with Distorted Sound Magazine, vocalist Dylan Walker described the themes and inspiration behind Full of Hell’s latest offering Weeping Choir as “the upheaval of forbidden knowledge and all of the pleasure and turmoil that would come in its wake.” It is an appropriate concept for a band like Full of Hell to reflect upon on their latest album, which is a culmination of all their trials and experimental endeavors to date. Throughout their decade-long tenure as a band, Full of Hell has been open to experimentation and collaboration: they have crafted albums jointly with experimental noise terrorists like The Body and Merzbow and released a multitude of splits with hardcore and metal acts like Code Orange, NAILS, and Intensive Care. With every major full-length release, Full of Hell has changed their direction and stepped into new territory and Weeping Choir is their most fearless and adventurous release to date.

The glaring criticism against 2017’s Trumpeting Ecstasy was how the band dialed back its experimentation in favor of a more devastating and streamlined death metal-meets-grind approach. This is not the case on Weeping Choir. Full of Hell have since doubled down on their forays into noise and industrial music. “Rainbow Coil” is an odyssey into strange ambient soundscapes; drums and gunfire rattle against an eerie backdrop of siren-like noises and scraping feedback. “Angels Gather Here” is a straight-forward heavy industrial romp that would fit right in on a Youth Code album. It is apparent that Full of Hell have learned a few tricks from collaborators like Merzbow and The Body. If Trumpeting Ecstasy relied too heavily on its directness, then Weeping Choir does just the opposite, as if to retaliate against stagnation.

That’s not to say Full of Hell have relented on their blitzkrieg approach to extreme metal; a bulk of Weeping Choir sees them operating within their usual parameters. “Thundering Hammers” and “Silmaril” are simple cut-throat death metal cyclones that are over in the blink of an eye. On songs like opener “Burning Myrrh” and “Aria of Jeweled Tears” their fusion of harsh noise and bludgeoning grind has never came off so seamlessly. However, nothing on Weeping Choir feels quite as dangerous as Trumpeting Ecstasy (namely daggers like “Crawling Back to God” and “Gnawed Flesh”). Instead, Full of Hell’s latest offering showcases a band at their most potent and fearlessly creative. It is evident that Weeping Choir is the record the band has been working up to since their inception and solidifies that, even four albums and a multitude of bite-sized projects and collaborations later, Full of Hell is a band that refuses to rest on its laurels.



Recent reviews by this author
Candy (USA) Good To FeelSanction (NY) The Infringement Of God's Plan
Invoke (NC) No Law BeyondJesus Piece Only Self
Vein ErrorzoneMouthBreather (MA) Dollmeat
user ratings (315)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Fangs deep through your bleeding neck....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ktjammin
June 1st 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

in b4 “unnecessary review”



It’s slow at work and inspiration randomly struck. Pls point out any typos/mistakes because I typed this dumb thing on my phone. Just trying to keep the tools sharp.

JustJoe.
June 1st 2019


6939 Comments


An album having two reviews is unnecessary, yeah.

*pos*

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


17169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Unnecess... j/k great review dude! ;)





Digging: Emily Jane White - Immanent Fire

ktjammin
June 1st 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks players & likewise Dewinged! I think I prefer Trumpeting Ecstasy over this, but it rips regardless.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


17169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer this one cause I feel is a little more varied but yeah both ripppp.

ktjammin
June 1st 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do like the variety on this for sure, but there’s nothing that makes me want to throw my chair out the window like Crawling Back to God on this. I guess my lizard brain takes priority haha

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


17169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair enough brother. I also wish they had included a feature like the one with Nicole Dollenganghfdjhrer. Let's see what they are cooking with Lingua Ignota; after what she did with the Body I'm super stoked about it.

ktjammin
June 1st 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh hell yeah, I think the t/t on Trumpeting Beats out Armory for the title of better “slow” jam if we’re still comparing the two. I’m not too familiar with either; but I dig all of The Body’s collabs with FoH and Thou. The only album of theirs I really got into was I Shall Die Here though. I’ll have to do my homework.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2019


17169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh dude check the one they released last year with Lingua Ignota, "I have fought against it...", it's incredible.

TheNotrap
June 2nd 2019


12478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good job, have a pos



Armory of Obsidian Glass is a nightmare





Digging: Lord Mantis - Universal Death Church

ktjammin
June 2nd 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’ll give it a whirl sometime and let you know! Thanks NoTrap, it’s a beefy track for sure, but I think everyone else has been digging it more than I did lol.

Hawks
June 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review for an amazing album. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

ktjammin
June 2nd 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks men,, m/

Hawks
June 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

m/en

Relinquished
June 3rd 2019


42536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

props for the Intensive Care mention

cvlts
June 3rd 2019


9652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great fucking review dude.



"If Trumpeting Ecstasy relied too heavily on its directness, then Weeping Choir does just the opposite..."



basically my thoughts exactly.

ktjammin
June 3rd 2019


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Intensive Care is dumb underrated for sure



Thanks! I love both for what they do, Trumpeting being a little more my style



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy