Fleshgod Apocalypse
Veleno


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (17 Reviews)
May 27th, 2019 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Poisonous symphony

Formed in 2007 by multi-instrumentalist Francesco Paoli (former Hour of Penance), Fleshgod Apocalypse has built up a solid reputation over the past ten years. Even without a consensual reception by the metal community, the band was able to impose itself on the international metal scene with growing popularity, much due to having signed with Nuclear Blast that allowed them to increase their exposure, leaving the underground universe that unfortunately is common ground for many bands.

From the more straightforward technical brutal death metal of their early work, reminiscent of Hour of Penance, Fleshgod Apocalypse has been added an increasingly orchestral approach to its songwriting, to the point of becoming the cornerstone of the band's music. However in the last album King, the band already began to pursue less complex territories, simplifying some processes and presenting more standard and accessible music structures in some songs.

This more direct approach is perfectly perceptible in "Fury", "Carnivorous Lamb" and "Sugar", the album's first songs. The orchestration ceases to be the structural element, to become an harmonious surrounding complement that works for the benefit of the songs and not the other way around. This may seem like a small detail, but it means a new approach for the band, which seeks to broaden their fanbase by making more reachable music. However, the band's older fans can rest assured, Veleno keeps the band's DNA intact and Francesco Ferrini's classic orchestrations remain present, more subtler, but always present.
The well-known Fleshgod Apocalypse's warp speed signature also slowed down, creating room for everything to breathe and flow better, thus avoiding more saturating and asphyxiating moments present in previous albums, such as Labyrinth.

Veleno is a product of a mature band that, without ever questioning their past, has decided to take a step forward through simplification. And even though this more accessible new approach is probably not enough to grab people who have never liked the band's style in the past, it can be an open door for new fans and new horizons.



Recent reviews by this author
Hate Auric Gates of VelesKalmah Palo
Xentrix Bury The PainFuneral Mist Hekatomb
Misery Index Rituals of PowerDeathspell Omega The Furnaces of Palingenesia
user ratings (95)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Awash of the typical poisonous Fleshgod flair....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
May 27th 2019


11143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I know many sputbros don't like this band, but I think this album deserved a review ;)



If someone finds some grammatical error or sentences that can be improved / optimized, please let me know, I'll fix it.



Digging: Panzerfaust - The Suns of Perdition - Chapter I: War, Horrid War

Hawks
May 27th 2019


71824 Comments


Cool review bro. Band blowz. m/

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

TheNotrap
May 27th 2019


11143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hahah damn & thanks ;)

Hawks
May 27th 2019


71824 Comments


To be fair the debut is the only one I’ve heard in full but it’s one of the worst albums I’ve ever heard lol.

Kusangii
May 27th 2019


2316 Comments


Kinda curious to jam this tbh even if I haven't jammed this band in years. I really prefer the debut over the rest I've heard, would this change my mind?

TheNotrap
May 27th 2019


11143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You should give this album a chance Hawks, it's probably not your thing, but you might dig some moments. If you wish check Sugar and tell me what you think.



@Kusangii

It's more catchy than their previous works, but some songs like "Carnivorous Lamb" have their initial brutal tech vibe.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2019


11718 Comments


I have the previous one rated but can't remember how it sounds tbh.


Really like your to-the-point approach, Notrap. pos.

TheNotrap
May 27th 2019


11143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That means a lot manosg, thanks mate ;)

bloc
May 27th 2019


55929 Comments


The good morning is a fine exercise, but using an elephant? Grab a barbell bro ffs

Digging: Paris - Sleeping with the Enemy

CaptainDooRight
May 27th 2019


4091 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos bro



I enjoyed this

Digging: Karmic Juggernaut - The Dreams That Stuff Are Made Of

rockandmetaljunkie
May 27th 2019


8072 Comments


Holy shit, Notrap is back to reviewing? Insta pos!

Nerdurosis
May 27th 2019


109 Comments


Nice review. Could never get into these guys but I'll check this out

Dmax28
May 27th 2019


546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is such a rewarding and concise listen. The tone is so pitch black throughout this thing. Sounds like Fleshgod has gone blackened to me. I really like how the piano comes out in Pissing on the Score. The middle section of that song is magic. I felt like I was on a rickety Tim Burton'esque roller coaster of musical notes. The album starts strong. I feel like Carnivorous Lamb is one of their heaviest songs yet. And the final stretch tracks 8-11 play off each other dynamically with some really impactful lyrics, especially The Day We'll Be Gone and Embrace the Oblivion .

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


9614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Notrap seems to be picking all the album's I wanna review. I haven't had a read yet but wanted to say it's nice to see you frequently posting.

Digging: Gnaw Their Tongues - An Eternity Of Suffering, An Eternity Of Pain

TheNotrap
May 27th 2019


11143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys!

Your 2019 so far list includes most of my favorite albums, so it's no wonder we're hearing the same things ;)

New Misthyrming needs an urgent review, already tried to convince Hawks, but it seems that it will not happen



christhjian
May 27th 2019


669 Comments


I think their debut and Mafia EP are ok, but rest is like too symphonic

TheClansman95
May 27th 2019


2036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really love these guys and this one is one of their best for sure!

Digging: Sectioned (Metalcore) - Annihilated

TheClansman95
May 27th 2019


2036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review btw!

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


9614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reading this now that I've got mine up and I gotta say there's a lot of unintended echoing going on (apologies).

Pos'd naturally.

Ashtiel
May 27th 2019


442 Comments


never listened to these guys before but definitely gonna check after hearing the singles

Digging: black midi - Schlagenheim



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy