Cherri Bomb
Stark


3.5
great

Review

by Get Low USER (67 Reviews)
May 26th, 2019 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This EP gets the cherries poppin'.

Cherri Bomb were an all-female hard rock band formed in 2008, when all of the members were still in middle school. In 2011, they signed to Hollywood Records and released their debut EP, Stark. During the following year, they would go on to release their first full-length album, This Is the End of Control, before kicking out their lead singer/lead guitarist Julia in early 2013. In 2015, they changed their name to Hey Violet and became a pop band, dropping nearly all traces of their rock roots. I recount these key points of Cherri Bomb/Hey Violet's history because they are essential to fully appreciating Stark, which is where this young band's rocky road essentially began.

Although there seems to be no information on the internet about the current or past ages of the band members, we do know that they were in middle school in 2008, which means that Stark was probably released while the band members were in high school. This is noteworthy because the instrumentation sounds impressively tight for such young musicians, and the lyrical themes are often quite mature. The first four tracks on this EP follow the same basic songwriting formula, with Julia singing the beginning verses with angst over the main riff, before belting out a catchy chorus over a soaring chord progression. A cover of the Foo Fighters hit The Pretender is used to conclude Stark, and while I'm always wary of cover songs making their way onto albums or EPs of otherwise original music, this cover is exceptionally well done, and fits effortlessly in with the sound of the other four tracks.

All of the tracks on Stark were written not by the band, but by professional songwriters (including Anastasia Lovelis, who is the drummer for the post-punk band Uke til U Puke, and the mother of band members Rena and Nia). The members of Cherri Bomb didn't have a hand in their own songwriting until This Is the End of Control, which saw the band going in a more pop rock direction as opposed to the heavier sound on this EP. As mentioned in the first paragraph, the band would eventually turn into the pop band Hey Violet, as they began to have more dictation over the style of their own music. With this gradual but drastic change, Julia, who was in charge of pumping out the riffs and delivering her loud, heart-driven rock vocals, found herself no longer having a place in the band. She would later be replaced on vocals by Rena, who has a soothing, almost hypnotic vocal style.

I consider Julia to have been the key member of the band, and the driving force behind the liveliness of Stark. Furthermore, I think this EP is the band's best work (across both names, and at the time of my writing this review), although Hey Violet's album From the Outside is thoroughly enjoyable, and a huge step up in the songwriting department from This Is the End of Control. I wish that we could have gotten more of the heavier sound presented here, but if they wanted to start writing their own songs and move away from rock music, I can't fault them. For what it's worth, this is an excellent EP to jam if you want something short and sweet, but chock-full of energy.



Recent reviews by this author
Belinda Coomes Ring of Pain (Original Soundtrack)Against The Current Fever
Flo Milli Ho, Why Is You Here?Lights PEP
Windrunner TANBlxst Before You Go
user ratings (14)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Get Low
May 26th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had to give these girls some love.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


katya should have won that lip sync

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had no idea wtf you were talking about, Googled it, found this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32xPDVkRxMs , and was thoroughly entertained.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


this wouldn't have happened if nina was blac chyna

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


(u don't watch rpdr?)

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd like to watch the show (I've been told by quite a few people that I'd like it), but I don't have cable TV.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


most seasons are on netflix i think, or u can pirate it smh

(start on season 6 if possible)


---

hey, is this closer to classic rock or foo fighters kinda stuff? to know what kind of rock to expect :0

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually just checked Netflix (U.S.), and it doesn't appear to be on there. I also don't like and am generally against pirating.



This is definitely closer to Foo Fighters stuff.

Valzentia
May 27th 2019


1397 Comments


what's with the negs this isn't bad at all

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I suspect recent shit talk of staff writers in a Carly Rae Jepsen thread is what's drawing them in. I also believe "LOVEANDACCEPTANCE" is one of the neggers, as I saw him bump a couple of threads immediately after the first neg. I know there's basically nothing wrong with the review, but alas, haters are going to hate. Thanks for the pos, Willow.

Rolling Girl
May 27th 2019


2028 Comments


I remember really liking this back in the day. I should give it another spin.

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do it. It's such a fun EP.

Rolling Girl
May 27th 2019


2028 Comments


Will do, shame Hey Violet couldn't keep this kind of energy.

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still like Hey Violet, but yeah, it is a shame.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


if i might say, i don't think it's haters, i personally feel the review talks a little too much about the band's history rather than the sound of the ep, for example (lmao like i'm one to talk, considering both of my reviews lol)

but people do hold grudges 'round here xD

Get Low
May 27th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're probably right. But in my defense, given the amount of change the band has undergone from this EP until now, I feel that the background was necessary for explaining my thoughts on the album. I think a review focusing mostly on the sound of the EP would be appropriate if it were brand new, but I'm reviewing an EP that's eight years old.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


24275 Comments


it's not a super popular, well-known band either so yea

SitarHero
May 28th 2019


14694 Comments


These girls are no The Donnas.

Get Low
May 29th 2019


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never listened to The Donnas but I should probably give them a go.

Get Low
November 19th 2020


14159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still think the amount of negs I got on this review was excessive (especially because they all came within like an hour of my posting the review), but it's definitely my worst review. It was a learning experience though, to always narrow my focus on the album itself; always relate everything back to the album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy