Tool
Lateralus


5.0
classic

Review

by ChinaWheyete USER (1 Reviews)
May 25th, 2019 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A behemoth of an album that showcases masterful musicianship and maturity rarely seen in music.

Disclaimer: I don’t expect to add anything to what’s already been said about this album. I know I’m also extremely late to writing about it. But this album, like few others to me, is one that must be discussed.

It’s hard to believe that this album is almost 20 years old and I am just now writing a review of it. Either I just did not have the time, or (more likely the case) I had chosen to write off Tool as a pretentious band whose songs were either too long or boring or both, and whose albums took much, much too long to be released (I still stand by this one). Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed “10,000 Days”. Well, at least some of it. I found the singles to be enjoyable, but too much of the album was bogged down with filler tracks, some of which amounted to nothing more than repetitive lines that dragged on or mere walls of sound such as the closing track. Nevertheless, I had seen an over abundance of favorable reviews for “Lateralus”, with many referring to it as the band’s masterwork. I decided to give it a listen, ignoring all the comments made about the pretentiousness of the band and choosing instead to simply focus on the music.

I must admit that this album didn’t grab my attention at first. Many of the songs, while powerful in their own right, were slow-burners that took some time to fully digest. However, with multiple listens I began to appreciate the album more and more. I can now safely agree with the others who say that this album is a masterpiece. There is not one bad song on this album, and every second of it feels meaningful and intentional (aside from the two minutes of silence at the end of “Triad” and the last track of the album, which is almost totally static).

There has been much that has been said about the maturity of this album, and, while not adding anything to the conversation, I couldn’t agree more. On “Lateralus”, Tool showcases a surprising amount of maturity, especially with this being only their 3rd full length.

I could go on and review each individual song on this album, but what good would that do" Everyone who has praised this album is already familiar with the songs, therefore reviewing each one of them would simply be eye-rolling repetition to the fans. But if you have yet to listen to this album and are hesitant, I encourage you not to wait any longer. Listen for yourself and discover why this album is a beloved masterpiece of modern music.


user ratings (6384)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
mindleviticus
May 25th 2019


9770 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pos'd bb

Funeralopolis
May 25th 2019


14336 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the greatest masterpieces ever made

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2019


9615 Comments


which is almost totally static, but I will touch more on this later


Patiently waiting.

Digging: Gnaw Their Tongues - An Eternity Of Suffering, An Eternity Of Pain

StrikeOfTheBeast
May 26th 2019


7689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Disclaimer: I don’t expect to add anything to what’s already been said about this album. I know I’m also extremely late to writing about it. But this album, like few others to me, is one that must be discussed."



The disclaimer is appreciated, but there's a problem:



"I must admit that this album didn’t grab my attention at first. Many of the songs, while powerful in their own right, were slow-burners that took some time to fully digest. However, with multiple listens I began to appreciate the album more and more. I can now safely agree with the others who say that this album is a masterpiece. There is not one bad song on this album, and every second of it feels meaningful and intentional (aside from the two minutes of silence at the end of “Triad” and the last track of the album, which is almost totally static, but I will touch more on this later).



There has been much that has been said about the maturity of this album, and, while not adding anything to the conversation, I couldn’t agree more. On “Lateralus”, Tool showcases a surprising amount of maturity, especially with this being only their 3rd full length."



This is literally the review. It's perfectly fine to reflect back on things or different albums if it flows into an actual review for this album, but you barely describe anything (powerful slow-burners and static aren't enough to give people a good idea about what makes these songs stand out). You say you will touch more on it later, but it would've made more sense to have done so with this review before submitting it. I understand many people here already know what the buzz is about with the album, and it certainly didn't need yet another 5 star "review" that adds nothing new, but I would recommend patiently constructing a well-thought out review where you go into the themes, specific standout moments in songs, resonance, what the album means to you, the flaws, and little details that would make for an enticing read. Props for the review title, but it's disappointing that you didn't go into why this is "a behemoth of an album that showcases masterful musicianship and maturity rarely seen in music."





Digging: The Organization - The Organization

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2019


14869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeahhhhh so this is basically just "there's a huge consensus on this, I heard it a few times and it was kind of amazing, guess I agree, bye." There are still good reasons to write on this, mainly related to the perspective we might take on it with so many years' removal, but you don't flesh this out in significant depth

Digging: Bleach03 - Kibakuzai

Snake.
May 26th 2019


21709 Comments


every single fan of this band needs to take a shower

Digging: Spielbergs - This Is Not The End

Sinternet
May 26th 2019


19677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

or off themselves that works too

mindleviticus
May 26th 2019


9770 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very simple I see a 5/5 lateralus review I click pos

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2019


16168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"this album, like few others to me, is one that must be discussed."



Well, you had another 20 review threads to discuss about it ;)

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


14869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't be mean, we would never have learnt how mature this album is if that discussion had been buried in threads!

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


20646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good album

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


16168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Don't be mean, we would never have learnt how mature this album is if that discussion had been buried in threads! "



Fair point, fair point.

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


20646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

let people write reviews, if there's too many for a single album just don't read them tbh, people gotta have somewhere to start when it comes to reviewing

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


16168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Now Asdfp is being mean to me, Johnny say smth dammit.

budgie
May 27th 2019


10866 Comments


gentlemen, gentlemen, pls.

Digging: Claire Cronin - Big Dread Moon

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


20646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:[

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


14869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No wholesomeness on Tool threads plz and thank you

And yes agreed that everyone starts somewhere etcetc, but half the point of that is to learn to take + incorporate criticism

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2019


16168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You can always write first reviews for unknown bands and albums that doesn't have one, I mean... JUST SAYING.

budgie
May 27th 2019


10866 Comments


ya a lot of depressive suicidal black metal out there needing reviews

Asdfp277
May 27th 2019


20646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i guess it's harder to first review a band that's never discussed, and since it's someone's first review, it's unlikely that they know that many obscure bands to begin with, but yea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy