Deathspell Omega
The Furnaces of Palingenesia


4.5
superb

Review

by TheNotrap USER (50 Reviews)
May 25th, 2019 | 384 replies


Release Date: 05/24/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Behold the colossal return of chaos, darkness and pain, behold, hear and bow.

Deathspell Omega needs no detailed introduction, since it's one of the most respected bands of the European underground extreme metal scene. The little information available about the band and the fact they have never played live also helped to feed the mystery and cult around Deathspell Omega, and yes, the cult is real, only something truly respected could influence as many bands as Altarage, Artificial Brain, Suffering Hour, among others.

After all, when you think dissonant you think Deathspell Omega.

I've been listening to their albums over the past few years but the band's more abstract and dissonant side has always kept me from wanting to explore it more deeply, it required an effort and focus that for one reason or another was not willing to give. Everything changed when I heard
"Ad Arma! Ad Arma!". The Furnaces of Palingenesia single featured a more catchy and straightforward side of the band I'd never heard of and it was the trigger that led me to revisit their most relevant discography more closely.

The Furnaces of Palingenesia is everything I expected after hearing the single, a less abstract musical approach, while keeping the band's DNA and the structural elements of their music intact. As if an abstract surrealist painter decided to bet on more evident, contrasting and visible forms, but maintaining the dark colors palette of his previous work. It's a new period, a slight change in style, but the artistic language remains the same.

Yes, The Furnaces of Palingenesia is a triumphant return. Its seductive dissonant abstractionism surrounds us like a cloak of darkness and its intriguing melodic adventurism on songs such as "1523" or "You Cannot Even Find the Ruins…" create an interesting contrast and represent an unexpected but pleasant new approach for the band.

My friends, Deathspell Omega is back, behold the colossal return of chaos, darkness and pain, behold, hear and bow.



Recent reviews by this author
Wake Devouring RuinSkam Sounds of a Disease
White Stones KuarahyAeternam Al Qassam
Afterbirth Four Dimensional FleshDark Fortress Spectres from the Old World
user ratings (393)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Eons (4)
The Furnaces of Palingenesia exists as a dissertation to the listener, from the perspective of a tyr...

MiloRuggles (5)
Pssst. Hey, kid. You wanna hear about Palingenesia?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
May 25th 2019


13505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

English is not my first language, so my sentences are quite simple and basic, but I did my best ;)



If someone finds some grammatical error or sentences that can be improved / optimized, please let me know, I'll fix it.

Digging: Wake - Devouring Ruin

CaptainDooRight
May 25th 2019


4282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

faith



Digging: Hallas - Conundrum

Hawks
May 25th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2]

necropig
May 25th 2019


5994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules. Sorry for my bad english

Digging: Sentient Divide - Haunted by Cruelty

trilo
May 25th 2019


3145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review pos

Digging: Afterbirth - Four Dimensional Flesh

zaruyache
May 25th 2019


22182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

s a t a n

a

t

a

n





TheNotrap
May 25th 2019


13505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers guys and thanks trilo ;)

Demon of the Fall
May 25th 2019


15526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos, concise but nicely written. I was waiting for this review.



Album rules, it’ll be interesting to see where it settles but I really like this ‘new-ish’ direction. Nice balance between their older dissonance and the slightly more accessible (almost catchy) slant you alluded to in the review. The atmosphere is there, for me, I don’t mind that it doesn’t go ballistic so consistently.

Digging: Flourishing - The Sum of All Fossils

CaptainDooRight
May 25th 2019


4282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

same



TheNotrap
May 25th 2019


13505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Demon.



I totally agree when you say the album gets a good balance between the old and this new more accessible approach. It's great when a band doesn’t play it safe.

BigPleb
May 25th 2019


60377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love metal.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 25th 2019


52838 Comments


cool story Brick Tamland

Digging: Oren Bloedow and Jennifer Charles - Convivencia

mindleviticus
May 25th 2019


10099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jesus this may be the best DsO album yet

Totengott
May 25th 2019


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pos, album rules.

Azog
May 25th 2019


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band never disappoints.

Hawks
May 25th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Correct.

WretchedCacophony
May 26th 2019


1899 Comments


How in the hell is this still a 4.3? Its THAT good?? I have to listen more...

Hawks
May 26th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wouldn’t take it over Paracletus but this, Synarchy and Fas are all damn close.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2019


3755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kinda wish this was more aggressive



Synarchy with this kinda production would've been A1

Digging: Ulcerate - Stare Into Death and Be Still

Hawks
May 26th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk bro it seems pretty aggressive to me just in a different way than the past few albums. I dig the direction they went in for sure though. Band can do no wrong imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy