After the Burial
Evergreen


2.0
poor

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (327 Reviews)
May 24th, 2019 | 32 replies


Release Date: 04/19/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After The Burial mix themselves right out of contention.

The cheese of the rhetorical question always manages to become somewhat overbearing when compared to the premise at hand… but how many times has a band come so close to achieving a long deserved greatness only to trip and crawl over the line embarrassed and defeated?Any number of "sure things" come to mind giving premise to After The Burial's newest offering being something of quality and realised potential, except for a combination of bland musicianship and an obnoxious mixing. After The Burial continue the long tradition of falling proverbially short of the expectations set by a listening community that's seen just about everything "core" has had to offer.

But it's hard to lay the blame solely at the feet of one band, given just how it's the genre that created so much heartache for musicians and listeners alike. Evergreen is an epitome of what established mainstream bands have to offer the modern day metal listeners. All the rage and testosterone fuelled screams amount to almost nothing when coupled with bandwagon trends and an inability to show growth. Even considering the fact that After The Burial now lean on a more low end focused noise than the band's origins they still somehow only manage to stick the tip in djent's dirty exit hole, hiding behind muddy toneless riffs… but hey, there's audible bass right?

Despite the album's overall shortcomings, Evergreen isn't all a waste of time. Opening with "Behold The Crown" (and some of the cheekiest riff work of 2019) most listeners would be left to believe that After The Burial are about to unleash one hell of a thought out album. Clearly, it's just a matter of wishful thinking as "Exit, Exist" drowns out any definable sense of melody under toneless and muddy low end. It's a shame since the Minneapolis based act are quite capable of wielding their instruments of choice but choose to fall face first into the stigma created by modern metalcore. Those earlier moments of cheek and catchy riffery fall quickly into the meandering monotonous repetitive ideas and directionless songwriting. After The Burial it seems, ran out of a lot of their ideas even before they saw the dank must of a mate's practice space. It's a shame that an established act like After The Burial can't justify their existence past a few gracing pinch harmonics and angsty growls but even as "A Pulse Exchanged" makes an unquiet exit both the band and its listeners are well spent.



Recent reviews by this author
Angerot The Divine ApostateSweven (SWE) The Eternal Resonance
Earth Rot Black Tides of ObscuritySallow Moth The Larval Hope
Sutrah (CAN) AletheiaMyrkur Folkesange
user ratings (176)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2019


11956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Roller skating in the sand would be a better activity than listening to this album

ConcubinaryCode
May 24th 2019


5095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yay, this has a review now! Agreed hard even if it's a bit harsh. This was disappointing to a great degree

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2019


11956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Behold The Crown" is an almost banger, the rest of this is less than meh

SteakByrnes
May 24th 2019


17709 Comments


Damn I forgot to jam this, gonna jam tomorrow

Nice review, I miss Justin Lowe man, he was such a dope guitarist and cool guy

Digging: Invent Animate - Greyview

TheNotrap
May 24th 2019


13446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I dig the album

Digging: Aeternam - Al Qassam

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2019


11956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I miss Justin Lowe man




These guys do too

MoshedPotatoes
May 24th 2019


29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Man i thought they were gonna bounce back after Dig Deep, how can the production get WORSE over time? Who thinks those muddy over-distorted chugs sound good? WHO?!

Digging: Luke and the Swells - Headcase

maximomckinnon
May 24th 2019


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hard agree



this whole record just kinda feels like a b-sides collection from Dig Deep, for better and for (much) worse



there's just no progression here, so fucking disappointed



I like In Flux tho

ConcubinaryCode
May 24th 2019


5095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do have a super soft spot for these guys and kinda see them as underdogs. It can't be easy losing a band member and friend. Especially considering how they lost him.

TundraL5Z
May 24th 2019


3834 Comments


"Roller skating in the sand would be a better activity than listening to this album"
The funny thing is that's actually probably true lol

JeetJeet
May 24th 2019


7828 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Such a boring album. These guys haven't made anything worth listening to since Rareform. I'll admit to having a soft spot for In Dreams tho.

Digging: Don Toliver - Heaven Or Hell

SteakByrnes
May 24th 2019


17709 Comments


Wolves Within slaps cheeks tho, Disconnect and Nine Summers my boi

BreakfastCat
May 24th 2019


122 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ww is a snoozefest

Digging: Black Thread - Rippling peacock ashes

JeetJeet
May 24th 2019


7828 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I fucking HAAAATE Wolves Within lol. The production on that album is ass.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2019


11956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sensing a trend

TundraL5Z
May 24th 2019


3834 Comments


album so boring I dont even care to rate it #oof

Comatorium.
May 24th 2019


4888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I kinda dig this

artiswar
May 25th 2019


9936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only jammed once, but it was solid as hell. And Wolves Within rulez, y'all are bonkers.

SteakByrnes
May 25th 2019


17709 Comments


Yea Wolves Within slaps cheeks, some of Lowe's best shit is on there

bloc
May 25th 2019


60136 Comments


Yeah this is pretty forgettable



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy