Com Truise
Persuasion System


3.0
good

Review

by Simon STAFF
May 19th, 2019 | 17 replies


Release Date: 05/17/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A safe and solid return.

Synthwave is a by-product of 80s pop culture, this is no secret. Its whole selling point is repackaging 80s technology and making something creative out of it; because of this, it’s a sound that has to shield itself behind the nostalgias of that era, regardless of how artistically inventive it attempts to be. To be blunt, it’s a genre built upon the limitations set by technology made 30-some years ago, and as a result makes itself a novelty with restricted movement. That’s not to say I don’t find the genre deeply enjoyable, because I do. Perturbator, Com Truise and Dynatron are but a few of the big artists from the synthwave movement who take these beloved tropes and make grand spectacles out of them – but there’s only so many ways you can hear this sound without it coming across homogenised after a few albums. This is Com Truise’s fourth LP and the first to move away from the equipment that made his first three albums. Listening to Persuasion System however, you can scarcely tell. The production is a little crisper, the tone a shade darker at times, but generally speaking it’s the same recycled premise. “Ultrafiche of You” and “Persuasion System” represent the classic Com Truise sound: mid-tempo pops, rattling hi-hats, and punches of elasticated synth and glitchy samples that bring his trademark feel-good sound to the forefront. At times occasionally more melancholic than usual with the ambient calm of “Guassian” and its misty backdrop concealing bare piano keys which sit in the centre of its haze; other times “Laconism” provides a more intense and hostile array of sounds than previously explored. These changes are minute though, and it doesn’t help that the pacing of the album is a little more sluggish than normal. It’s clear it was a conscious effort to savour this intergalactic soundscape and add more detail, but its after-effects certainly carry over excess baggage. It’s not a bad album by any means and if you like his work, this will deliver in all the ways you’d expect, but in that regard that’s half the problem.

FORMAT//EDITIONS: DIGITAL/̶/̶C̶D̶/̶/̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION BONUSES: N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE: https://comtruise.bandcamp.com/album/persuasion-system-2




Recent reviews by this author
Nine Inch Nails Ghosts VI: LocustsIn This Moment Mother
HEALTH Dimensions In Noise (2020 Remaster)Burzum Thulêan Mysteries
Caroline Rose SuperstarOzzy Osbourne Ordinary Man
user ratings (35)
3.3
great
related reviews

Wave 1

Comments:Add a Comment 
granitenotebook
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2019


991 Comments


good review, appreciate keeping it straightforward when that's all that needs to be said. wish i liked this guy more

hobblepot
May 20th 2019


2430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

inspired me to maybe review Iteration, as i think that album deserves much more recognition than it's getting

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2019


16213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cheers granite.



yeah, go for it man. i'm quite surprised by the lack of reviews for com truise tbh. i love his work.

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Ghosts VI: Locusts

twlichty
May 20th 2019


4335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

after first listen this feels close to a 4 for me

bloc
May 20th 2019


60251 Comments


Cyanide Sisters is one of my fav EPs ever, and Galactic Melt was great, but I haven't liked anything since then

budgie
May 24th 2019


18465 Comments


this is kind of meh for me. i liked earlier material though

Digging: Desert Medicine - Desert Medicine

TVC15
May 26th 2019


10363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh hol up, a synthwave review on the front page of Sput? I'm obligated to listen to this now

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 26th 2019


52855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is the same quality as anything he's ever done really, but thats kind of the problem. he has had literally zero growth and development as an artist and with each release I just care that much less. If he doesn't evolve eventually I probably won't even check out his new material as it comes.

Digging: Oren Bloedow and Jennifer Charles - Convivencia

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 26th 2019


52855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't spoil something good by letting it get stale, ya know?

TVC15
May 26th 2019


10363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh I totally get that, lotta synthwave artists, unfortunately, fall into that pit

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 26th 2019


52855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, he's one of the few that I've ever really seen the potential to break free of the constraints of a genre that hinges on such a specific nostalgic flare though.

budgie
May 26th 2019


18465 Comments


huh i felt like this sounded differently from galactic melt but it has been ages since i played that one

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 26th 2019


52855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i mean his production is clearer (which isn't necessarily even a compliment considering i feel having super clean production is kind of redundant for synthwave)

hobblepot
May 30th 2019


2430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Listening through this again I can't decide if I prefer this to Iteration or not, some of his greatest tracks to date are on this thing, Privilege Escalation might be my favorite Com Truise song thus far

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2019


16213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

only song I thoroughly enjoy here is Ultrafiche of You

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2019


18148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it

Blizzink
August 13th 2019


137 Comments


Honestly think this is his best. I like the whole album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy