Ringworm
Death Becomes My Voice


3.0
good

Review

by ConcubinaryCode USER (14 Reviews)
May 15th, 2019 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist


Although I'm not familiar with Ringworm's history, they've been around for quite a while. My only experience with them is from old Victory Records' samplers in the mid 2000's. They play early sounding metalcore not far from the vein of Integrity, Converge, or Shai Hulud albeit not in a way as interesting or memorable as their contemporaries. They're not bad for what they do though even if their sound is a bit dated.

Ringworm does its' part filling in the niche of a genre that is the hardcore thrash crossover with tried and true riffs, harsh yells, and booming percussion. Everything hear sounds good and is mixed competently. The guitars sound crisp, the bass audible enough to provide some necessary depth, and vocals that feel powerful without drowning anything else out. The drumming is a little plain for my taste but it is serviceable enough. Nothing here jumps out (stand for a few fun solos) as memorable but it's fun enough as a throwback considering how distorted metalcore has become since its' inception.

Death Becomes My Voice won't blow anyone's mind that is well versed in metal or hardcore music, but it doesn't have to. I might've been a bit more disappointed in this album if I was a more longtime fan, but as it stands it's a fine playthrough.



Recent reviews by this author
The Sawtooth Grin The Jabberwocky DemoGreeley Estates Far From The Lies
Greeley Estates Caveat EmptorKendrick Lamar DAMN. Collector's Edition
Various Artists (Punk) Rock Sound Presents: The Black ParadeThese Arms Are Snakes Oxeneers or the Lion Sleeps When Its Antelope Go Home
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
May 15th 2019


10636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What a coincidence, I'm jamming the album now



Sounds quite solid so far, I dig their hardcore meets thrash thing

Digging: Deathspell Omega - Si Monvmentvm Reqvires Circvmspice

ConcubinaryCode
May 15th 2019


4610 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I jammed it at work for the review list. It's ok. I might want to jam some of their early work to see how it holds up in context to this but as they stand they won't take the place of the better bands in my playlists.

botb
May 15th 2019


12911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I loved this tbh

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2019


9447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good album to put into discussion, review needs a lot of work (not my neg)



There's something about this straightforward thrash-y/core sound that starts to tick the right boxes

DDDeftoneDDD
May 15th 2019


5055 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Solid crossover ripping.

Digging: Immolation - Close to a World Below

accompliceofmydeath
May 15th 2019


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ringworm delivers again.

Digging: Full of Hell - Weeping Choir

Papa Universe
May 15th 2019


20987 Comments


well, it is short, but...
death becomes my POS

Digging: Yes We Mystic - Ten Seated Figures

ConcubinaryCode
May 15th 2019


4610 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk. I struggled to find myself things to say about this past what I did. I wish I could've expanded past what I wrote but I couldn't think of how to. Eh

ConcubinaryCode
May 15th 2019


4610 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their first album is actually pretty solid. That one is recommended over this. Also would appreciate feedback on writing. Would it be alright to rewrite it some and expand if needed?

ktjammin
May 15th 2019


286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos, glad to see this get reviewed. Band is super underrated.

Digging: Employed to Serve - Eternal Forward Motion

naughtcturnal
May 16th 2019


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rules

Essence
May 16th 2019


6273 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pretty dull honestly, most of the songs ran together



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy