The Wildhearts
Renaissance Men


4.0
excellent

Review

by SitarHero CONTRIBUTOR (60 Reviews)
May 13th, 2019 | 75 replies


Release Date: 05/03/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Riff after riff after motherf*cking riff, or, why The Wildhearts can't be destroyed

The Wildhearts are one of rock ’n’ rolls greatest almost-weres. They got their start in the early ‘90s, when their fusion of metallic hard rock riffs, snarling punky sardonicism, power pop melodic sensibilities, and more hooks than a fisherman’s convention, seemed almost perfectly constructed to shoot them to stardom. Yet the band somehow managed to miss the boat to worldwide relevance and petered out as a popular cult act thanks to record label feuding, intra-band tension, and a cocktail of drug addictions. Nearly thirty years later, and a decade after their last release, the band’s music is almost aggressively out of style, but instead of making concessions to popular trends The Wildhearts have returned once again to save twenty-first century rock music from its joyless, feckless, humourless modern self, by serving up some proper rock ’n’ roll filled to the brim with monstrous arena-sized riffs, Friday night pub-shoutalong choruses, and palpable anger sharpened by frontman Ginger Wildheart’s ageless wit.

From the get-go Ginger and crew take unabashed aim at everything they think ails the world, from online bullying (“Dislocated”), to depression, suicide and drug prescription-culture (“Diagnosis” and “Fentanyl Babylon”), to people with racist, misogynistic and homophobic tendencies (“Let ‘Em Go” and “My Side of the Bed”). Despite the overt cynicism of some of the lyrical matter the songs still exude a kind of resilient optimism and positivity that’s buoyed by the upbeat melodies and riffs. Renaissance Men doesn’t get bogged down by the dark side of life in 2019; it takes it in stride and endeavours to overcome it. Some of its message is a tad diluted by a little too much mawkishness—despite their snarky wit, The Wildhearts have always had a mile-wide sentimental streak—but even at its most kumbaya, Renaissance Men has enough energy and infectious melodicism to lend it an air of unapologetic sincerity.

Possibly the biggest compliment one can give an album by a band this deep into their career is that, if you had never listened to them before, this would be a great place to start listening. This definitely holds true of Renaissance Men. Songs like the title-track, “Dislocation”, “Diagnosis”, and "Pilo Erection", are the perfect distillation of everything that makes The Wildhearts special. “Let ‘Em Go” even has a classic potty-mouthed refrain (“Let ‘em go / let ‘em go / let the sh!t-filled rivers flow”) that taps into the same dumb-funny-catchy vein of lyrical gold as “My Baby is a Headf*uck” off 1993’s Earth vs. The Wildhearts. At its best, Renaissance Men is another gleaming feather in the cap of a band that is, in some alternate dimension, enjoying all the success that the Foo Fighters are enjoying in our own, and at its worst it’s a hark back to a simpler time when the only requisites for a raucous good time were an electric guitar, a thunderous backbeat, and a simple melody.

You can stream the album here:
http://musicmp3.ru/artist_the-wildhearts__album_renaissance-men.html



Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist Our BonesHe Is Legend White Bat
Destrage The Chosen OneSolitude Aeturnus Beyond the Crimson Horizon
Periphery Periphery IV: Hail StanDevin Townsend Empath
user ratings (18)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goddamn is this fun!

DoofDoof
May 13th 2019


5077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A Wildhearts review in 2019, yowzers

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm as surprised as you are tbh. This thing is a gem!

DoofDoof
May 13th 2019


5077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I only got four songs in the other day but I'll give it a full listen on the morrow



And then read the review ;D

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not gonna lie, it definitely occurred to me that you and zak would enjoy this. xD

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2019


8431 Comments


Excellent/informative review, mindpos.

I remember these guys being promoted by MTV's Headbangers' Ball back in the early '90s.



For those interested, the album is streaming below:

http://musicmp3.ru/artist_the-wildhearts__album_renaissance-men.html

Digging: Apparatus - Yonder Yawns the Universe

Kingdok
May 13th 2019


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, spot on. The band that got me into heavy music with Earth vs, think this is their best album since phuq. Can't get enough of My Kinda Movie in particular.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Voivod: Thanks for the link! I added it to the review.

@Kingdok: Completely agreed. This is definitely their best since PHUQ.

zakalwe
May 13th 2019


28510 Comments


Exciting review

Band is real deal

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha! I had a feeling you'd chime in zak. xD

TheNotrap
May 13th 2019


11802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Your summary riffs hard



I think I never heard these guys





Digging: Vitriol (USA) - To Bathe From the Throat of Cowardice

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha! I'm riffing (pun intended!) on a couple of The Wildhearts' own album titles. You should check this album out, or check out their first 2 albums. If you like loud guitars and a good time this band delivers like crazy.

TheNotrap
May 13th 2019


11802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds rock'n' roll SH, will jam it

therapy20
May 13th 2019


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pleased someone has reviewed this, an overlooked gem of a band. Love this album.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2019


10628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm pleased there are actually still people on the site who remember The Wildhearts and appreciate this.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2019


16651 Comments


Nice review dude. It's nice to see these guys are still going strong, specially after Ginger constantly dealing with depression.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2019


2894 Comments


"...take unabashed aim at... ...online bullying..."
oh no

Digging: Streetlight Manifesto - Everything Goes Numb

DoofDoof
May 14th 2019


5077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review - like the album a fair bit. Early days.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2019


11743 Comments


Love your summary, Sitar. Need to check this one.

Digging: Leonard Cohen - Live in London

BigHans
May 14th 2019


30276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Summary obligates me to jam this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy