Defeater
Defeater


3.5
great

Review

by Odal USER (16 Reviews)
May 11th, 2019 | 63 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Either out of confidence or resignation, this is Defeater doing Defeater.

For a band that takes itself as seriously as Defeater, it sure is easy to make fun of them. There's the meme-ification of their reused lyrics, the complete and utter stagnation of their sound as of late, and the ever-present story that had honestly worn itself out by the end of album number two. So when it was announced after a long creative drought that Defeater were returning to that same story AGAIN on album number five(!) and slapping their band name on as its title with a tracklisting that looked like it was made out a Defeater-themed madlibs, I couldn't help but see this as both a joke and an admission of defeat (pun intended). After all, this band has presented roughly the same story through the perspective of two brothers, their father, their mother, the family priest, and some homeless dude...and for what, exactly" To say that drugs and war are bad" What more is there to say" Well, as it turns out, not too much. Truth be told, nearly everything you need to know about this album can be gleamed from its album title. Either out of confidence or resignation, this is Defeater presenting a Defeater album through and through. Thankfully, I'm inclined to believe it's the former.

What can sometimes get lost in all the posturing of the band's endless obsession with Johnny Got His Gun, is just how fun the band can be when they are on. With Defeater, the band have brought back some of that kinetic energy that has been sorely lacking since 2011's Endless Days and Sleepless Nights. The thunderous introduction of "The Worst of Fates" earns its place in the band's pantheon of strong openers before giving way to "List and Heel" and "Atheists in Foxholes". These opening tracks serve as a wonderful reminder of how talented and technical the band's rhythm section can be, proudly being on display without being overbearing. Elsewhere on "No Guilt", the band even lighten up a bit with a battlecry of "GO!" before a fairly generic hardcore breakdown that is actually a nice breather between tribal drumming and urgent guitar licks. To put it simply, it sounds like the band give a shit again.

That being said, this self-titled romp isn't without faults. There are still some stretches that don't entirely justify their existence -did "Desperate" really have to be that long... , the vocals sound a little worn compared to previous efforts, and sometimes the mix can be a little blobby. Still, Defeater is a much needed shot in the arm for the band after the underwhelming Letters Home and entirely forgettable Abandoned. At this point in their career, nobody is going to change their mind about Defeater but its nice being served a collection of songs to remind us of why they were worth having an opinion about in the first place.



Recent reviews by this author
Justin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience - 2 of 2Grouplove Spreading Rumours
Kylesa UltravioletPortugal. The Man Evil Friends
Jeff Rosenstock I Look Like ShitFour Year Strong In Some Way, Shape, or Form.
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Odal
May 11th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I wrote this kind of quickly since sputnik ate my first draft and I didn't have it backed up. As always, comments/critiques/suggestions are welcome. This is my first review on here in forever, so be gentle.



Was pleasantly surprised by this album and hope it's the spark they needed moving forward.

FourthReich
May 11th 2019


3750 Comments


this band still makes music lol

Digging: Bear Hands - Fake Tunes

onionbubs
May 11th 2019


11407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this is fucking sick and i hated abandoned so glad they improved even tho this sounds exactly the same as abandoned just written better

Digging: Conditions - Fluorescent Youth

Odal
May 11th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I listened to abandoned after listening to this a few times and, good god, there is a very large difference in quality lol

Confessed2005
May 11th 2019


4619 Comments


Good review, have a pos.

I like their older stuff a fair bit but I doubt I can be bothered to check this one out.

BMDrummer
May 11th 2019


14517 Comments


listened to lost ground for the first time in years today, might check this later

Odal
May 11th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thank for the pos! I think this is worth a cursory listen if you've ever foud the band enjoyable. There's enough here to make it worth it

9Hammer
May 11th 2019


133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not bad of a review. This is the first time I'm hearing the band's material though I'm not exactly blown away by how it sounds. It's mostly inoffensive, however, but the vocalist isn't really doing it for me here. I'll consider checking out their other works.

Odal
May 11th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks! You should seriously consider checking out Travels or Empty Days and Sleepless Nights. The vocals have more power and the material is a lot more dynamic and adventurous.

Crawl
May 12th 2019


2578 Comments


It ain't Empty Days, but to me, Defeater can do no wrong.

Firedust
May 12th 2019


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lost ground was the last good thing these guys released. Looks like it's gonna stay that way for now. Damn.

Funeralopolis
May 12th 2019


14293 Comments


who's perspective is this album from?

Digging: Tool - Ænima

JayEnder
May 12th 2019


3790 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

List & Heel would be my favorite Defeater song if Will Fucking Yip would turn the vocals up god dammit.



All Roads and No Man Born Evil rule hard too. Good album and great review.

Digging: Full of Hell - Weeping Choir

Pherin
May 12th 2019


17 Comments


Pleasant surprise for me, I think I like All Roads the best here.

Odal
May 12th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

There's actually a fair bit of confusion/mystery about who this album is about. They've gone on record saying it's the first time they've done multiple characters and skip around the timeline. Part of it is definitely from the dad's brother's perspective (lol), that much we do know. Part of it seems to be from the priest's perspective, part of it could be the dad's perspective, part of it could be from a dealer's persepctive. It's still being figured out lol

Scoot
May 12th 2019


19267 Comments


letters home pt. 3

Digging: Warforged - I: Voice

WatchItExplode
May 13th 2019


6672 Comments


Also thoroughly unimpressed as a first time listener

Digging: Pile - Green and Grey

XingKing
May 13th 2019


14584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

On my first jam now. The opening track was promising but over way too soon.



Also, review has quite a lot of typos, i.e. missing words and whatnot

Odal
May 13th 2019


392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Not sure why sput is turning question marks into quotation marks in the review, any idea how to change that?

backthonyairtano
May 13th 2019


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos'd. just finished my 2nd listen through, I'm pretty impressed with it tbh. I was concerned about the direction of the band after they parted ways with Jay Maas and the production definitely suffered a little bit as a result of that, but the instrumentation on the album isn't bad.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy