Possessed
Revelations of Oblivion


3.5
great

Review

by AriDoe USER (15 Reviews)
May 11th, 2019 | 20 replies


Release Date: 05/10/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For better or worse, Possessed give us exactly what we would expect

34 years have passed since Possessed released their genre defining opus "Seven Churches." Since the releasing that classic and promptly splitting after one more album and several demos; death metal, the genre they spawned, has exploded worldwide. Regional scenes, various subgenres and fusion genres, and literally thousands of death metal bands have come and gone over the three and a half decades since "Seven Churches," so what could the reformed Possessed possibly have to offer a genre which has evolved so exponentially? Especially when the current lineup consists of only one original member, vocalist and bassist Jeff Becerra? "Revelations of Oblivion" answers that question question with a resounding "nothing."

This album, the third from the band, attempts absolutely nothing new for either themselves or for death metal as a whole. Instead Possessed opt for a sound directly derivative of "Seven Churches," old school death/thrash through and through. You'll find no technical wankery, gutteral vocals, melodic riffs, or slams anywhere on "Revelations," the band stick entirely to an old school sound which, for better or worse, plays to their strengths. The riffs here, and there are riffs aplenty, are deeply rooted in thrash metal, often sounding more like Slayer than any modern death metal. Occassional tremolo picking does pop up as well, but its hard to escape the feeling that we've heard this all before three decades ago. The only real experiment comes from the song "Omen" which has some very awkward clean vocals about halfway through.

Even the production on "Revelations" is definitely retro sounding. The drums in particular have a very 80s sound. Possessed clearly did this intentionally and it compliments the album's old school vibe well enough. Jeff's vocals sound a bit strained here which is to be expected given his age, but these types of thrash vocals really don't hold up very well against modern death metal vocalists sadly, who often possess far more vocal range and power. The other performances are relatively good, certainly much tighter than the performances on their early records. The absence of classic members like Larry Lalonde and Mike Sus is a shame, and I can't help but wonder if the record would feel different with more of those members.

Despite all the criticisms I have of "Revelations," it's still an enjoyable listen. This kind of death/thrash is somewhat of a lost art these days, with death metal having evolved so far beyond its roots in thrash. In a way, being so retro actually makes it feel somewhat refreshing among the hordes of cleanly produced, hyper technical death metal bands of today. It may not reinvent the wheel, but "Revelations of Oblivion" is a solid and worthwhile listen from a legendary band.



Recent reviews by this author
Slipknot We Are Not Your KindMorbid Angel Blessed Are the Sick
Bolt Thrower Honour - Valour - PridePitchshifter Desensitized
Pitchshifter IndustrialWhite Zombie Soul-Crusher
user ratings (83)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Sean H. (1.5)
Dragged to Heck....


Comments:Add a Comment 
metalhead2425
May 11th 2019


323 Comments


Nice review. I'll probably have to check this out, the album art is pretty sweet.

zaruyache
May 11th 2019


21659 Comments


DEATH LIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVES

Digging: Blue Noise - Everyone Goes Away Eventually

Firedust
May 11th 2019


1176 Comments


Well, this was a pleasant surprise

TheNotrap
May 11th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The album is more solid than I expected



“The riffs here, and there are riffs aplenty, are deeply rooted in thrash metal, often sounding more like Slayer than any modern death metal. ”



No surprises, Slayer was always their main influence

Nice job, have a pos

Digging: Unfathomable Ruination - Enraged & Unbound

ChaoticVortex
May 11th 2019


869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds pretty much what I expected. Nothing groundbreaking but very solid death/thrash metal with good riffs, meaty production and nasty vocals.

Also this came out the same time as the new Arch/Matheos and Whitesnake records. Gonna be a busy weekend for me.

Horfeepee01
May 11th 2019


44 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review was a great read. Have a pos.

Digging: Neurosis - A Sun That Never Sets

StrikeOfTheBeast
May 11th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's here, and it rules!



Also:



First off Possessed isn't a pure death metal band. Theyre tried and true thrash metal with death-tinged vocals (yes there is a difference although you yourself wouldn't know it). and that makes sense they're your favorite since the only genre you're somewhat knowledgeable in (being generous here) is thrash.



-Woody 2018

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2019


10908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Having trouble enjoying this

Firedust
May 11th 2019


1176 Comments


Nocte do you like these guys' debut?

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2019


10908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

At the very essence of all things pure and nasty, yes

Flugmorph
May 11th 2019


22143 Comments


rules m/m/m/

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

Funeralopolis
May 11th 2019


14390 Comments


album is pretty decent

TheNotrap
May 11th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Shadowcult rules

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2019


26234 Comments


I don't feel like this review reads as positively as you rated the album, but it still is good. Your positive and Bloon's negative has convinced me to check this out, but I am not feeling particularly optimistic atm.

Digging: Liturgy - H.A.Q.Q.

METALFACE666
May 11th 2019


408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

pos

StrikeOfTheBeast
May 11th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Demen \m/

DDDeftoneDDD
May 13th 2019


8993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The riffing ability alone makes this at least a 3...don't get the neg rates

Digging: Forest of Tygers - I Will Die of Violence

StrikeOfTheBeast
May 13th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Same

TheNotrap
May 24th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

New video:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0DCqdF7EzE



DePlazz
October 22nd 2019


1765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds like Possessed alright.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy