Judah and the Lion
Folk Hop N' Roll


0.5

Review

by industry plant USER (27 Reviews)
May 5th, 2019 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take your garbage album back

Judah and the Lion are not the first band to cross indie pop and folk. It's been done plenty of times before; Mumford and Sons, Cage the Elephant, Noah and the Whale all being examples of this. But Judah and the Lion have decided to take things a step further, crossing "indie folk" with hip-hop music. Does this sound like a disaster to you? Well, the sound you have probably crafted in your head through that description is probably much better than what Folk Hop 'n' Roll sounds like, because it's just...god, where do I start?

Well, i'm just going to be blunt: Folk Hop 'n' Roll is one of the worst albums ever made. Vocalist Judah Akers sounds like Dan Reynolds crossed with a hammered narwhal with absolutely no range whatsoever, and his rapping skills are completely horrendous. His backing band aren't all that competent either; Brian Macdonald and Nate Zuercher can only play the same song over and over again, while drummer Spencer Cross feels like a non-factor here because the only drum tracks sound like digital failures in FL Studio demo version production. The band's stab at hip-hop turns this from a laughably bad disasterpiece that you use to play mediocre pranks on your friends into the soundtrack of your nightmares; think of Billie Eilish mixed with XXXTentacion, only the producers are even more incompetent to the point where not even XXXTentacion's low standards would allow this to get commercially released. The lyrics? They might actually be the worst part of Folk Hop 'n' Roll: in "Take It All Back" it can basically be chalked down to Akers rapping "You know I'd take it all back, take it all back, take it all back / I'd take it all back just to have you". If that's not bad enough, the lyrical content of "Reputation" is literally what would happen if you mixed a pop-punk version of Hinder with whatever generic 2000's MySpace scene metalcore band that hates their parents, only they've inverted it because "good vibes", y'know?:

Six o'clock I put my new clothes on
I wanna look nice so I don't upset my mom
So I got my hair parted to the side
Shirt smellin' like the mall
I get to school, hop out of the van
I wanna look cool to impress my friends
Hey!
It's funny how life still feels like a middle school dance


I wish I could tell you that Folk Hop 'n' Roll is just a spectacular failure in satire, but perhaps the most disturbing part about the album is that it's real. This is actually the mindset of Judah and the Lion, which is virtually just taking the worst qualities of Billie Eilish, Mumford and Sons, Brokencyde, Imagine Dragons and XXXTentacion as a whole, amping them up to eleven and spilling even worse lyrics on them, and I find that as an insult to all five of those guys because not even any of them would dare put their name on this. Folk Hop 'n' Roll is real, very real, and it has broken me.

Run away. Just run—far away.



Recent reviews by this author
From First to Last From First to LastTrash Boat Crown Shyness
Belzebubs Pantheon of the Nightside GodsNew Years Day Unbreakable
Waterfall Strainer Carry ItGet Scared The Dead Days
user ratings (21)
Chart.
1.7
very poor
recommended by reviewer
Literally anything else

Comments:Add a Comment 
WeepinnWillow
May 5th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Album stream: https://open.spotify.com/album/2zWnSgOdCGGR9hbTRI53D1

Sometimes you wake up on the wrong side of the bed and you have to take it out on Judah and the Lion. Constructive criticism appreciated.

Digging: Daniel Seven - Resonate

onionbubs
May 5th 2019


11425 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah this band is fucking awful

Digging: Alexisonfire - Watch Out!

WeepinnWillow
May 5th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Tell me about it, holy god.

These guys make Imagine Dragons look 5-star worthy, and this is coming from someone who doesn't mind Imagine Dragons that much.

Papa Universe
May 5th 2019


21050 Comments


outraged negative reviews are the best reviews.
folk POS 'n roll

Digging: Rammstein - Rammstein

WeepinnWillow
May 5th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

@Papa: thanks fam ❤️

WeepinnWillow
May 5th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

also mods can I please give this a 0.0?

SlicePaperMoog
May 5th 2019


1266 Comments


"Literally anything else"

pffft noted

Sinternet
May 5th 2019


19398 Comments


why do I keep hearing about this band now when this came out three years ago? decent review mate anyway, although I wouldn't say cage the elephant are at all related to indie pop and folk, they're more watered-down bluesy indie rock. the lumineers or of monsters & men seem like more appropriate comparisons

Digging: Peggy Gou - Moment

WeepinnWillow
May 5th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Thanks Sin. I don't really see any similarity to Of Monsters & Men though that's probably only cause i've only heard Little Talks (though I do see The Lumineers comparisons), and the reason you keep hearing about them three years later is because for some reason alternative music circles are hyping them up as the next big thing. And if this is what the future of alt-rock is, please fucking neuter the genre.

SlicePaperMoog
May 5th 2019


1266 Comments


I almost wanna listen to this to hear how bad it is. But at the same time im pretty sure this one would be a waste of time.

SlicePaperMoog
May 5th 2019


1266 Comments


30 seconds of Take It All Back 2.0 is enough for me to decide that this is one of the worst things to ever exist.

I didnt need to know what Imagine Dragons would sound like if they tried to pander to rednecks.

Lucman
May 6th 2019


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

What is this title track? Holy duly, that's atrocious

Digging: Shiina Ringo - Shouso Strip

WeepinnWillow
May 6th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

The other most disturbing part is that this thing actually charted high and "Take It All Back" hit #1 on the Alternative charts

WeepinnWillow
May 6th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

@Luc: Yes. yes it is.

Lucman
May 6th 2019


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

It only got worse from there. If anyone bags on Swift's Reputation again I'm just going to show them the one on here.

Minushuman24
May 6th 2019


2212 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Fuck this didn't come out recently?



Anyway I listened to it out of curiosity, and for some reason the bonus tracks come before the actual album. The first two bonus tracks didn't prepare me well cause they're halfway decent folk pop songs, this main album is utter garbage though. Jesus.

Lucman
May 6th 2019


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Well there is a new album that just released this past Friday....

Minushuman24
May 6th 2019


2212 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nah, I heard my fair share.

I'm good.

Lucman
May 6th 2019


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Believe it or not, the new one is, so far, actually listenable. Hasn't escaped bottom of the barrel tier pop though. It seems they dropped the hip/hop schtick.

WeepinnWillow
May 6th 2019


610 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

that's what they want you to believe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy