Dear Seattle
Don't Let Go


3.5
great

Review

by tyman128 USER (37 Reviews)
May 4th, 2019 | 14 replies


Release Date: 02/15/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Homegrown Aussie Indie-Emo-Rock

I’ve never been quite fond of indie rock. Not much from the genre has been able to catch and hold my attention for quite long enough to be interesting, so stumbling across Don’t Let Go didn’t strike much of a chord with me. Well, at first that is. Hailing from Australia, Dear Seattle mix in elements of indie rock, emo, and alternative, creating a concoction of a record insinuating a sense of upbeat tempos shadowed by expected melancholic lyrics (a staple of the emo-esque styles).

Never straying too far from comfort, Don’t Let Go is full of powerful guitar progressions enhanced by underlying chord arpeggios of supporting clean harmonies, punchy bass-lines following suite of the six strings’ patterns, and upbeat , punk-like drum grooves. Songs like “Bigger Than My Brain” and “Homegrown” boast the classic sound of emo-tinged indie rock, combining the softer façade of the verses with the juxtaposing aggressive attack of the choruses and bridges. Alternatively, “Daytime TV” and “Broke and Hungry” ditch the softer verses for crushing tonality in the atmosphere of the entire duration of the songs, the latter containing even some harsher vocals contrary to much of the record. Differing from the general progression of the album, songs like “You” and “I Keep Dreaming” showcase a much more reserved, yet nonetheless dramatic and powerful, ambiance, utilizing the aspect of progressive building into epic breaks, displaying Dear Seattle’s true talent in songwriting with the former song being the highlight of the song.

However, such songs couldn’t hold their true identity without fitting vocals. Throughout the album, the frontman bellows harmonies about how to be a good lover, watching people take him for granted, and fake people. With quite the strong Aussie-tinge, the vocals evoke a uniqueness amongst the generally formulaic structures. Throughout tracks like “Let Me Bleed” and “You,” a mix of shouted vocals with a hint of melody and clean, accented harmonies makes the music come full circle as all the pieces fall into place.

Sadly, as aforementioned, the songwriting on here happens to be quite vanilla, never venturing too far from the boundaries of the style’s general pattern. With only few moments of true originality (i.e. “You” and “I Keep Dreaming”), Don’t Let Go leaves room for improvement with sparks of potential within the band despite being redundant. Although the songs themselves are not bad, in fact they are all quite spectacular individually, the flow of the record begins to mesh together as almost everything follows the same structure.

Regardless, Don’t Let Go was definitely a surprise for me, as I found myself leaving this on repeat simply enjoying songs of a genre I’m not quite invested in. Although the flaws are apparent and striking, the highlights of the album are diamonds in the rough, pulling the album forward. This Australian indie rock may not be innovative or groundbreaking, yet it is a fun spin for fans of the genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Empty (USA) The Healing ProcessNik Nocturnal Reflection
Grandson a modern tragedy, vol. 2Kars Landman Everlasting, Ever-Fleeting
Emery EveA Continent Named Coma The Lachrymose Sessions - Demo
user ratings (14)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
May 4th 2019


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally got my review game done! Just sitting on an airplane some 35,000 feet in the air and decided to knock this out.

This album is actually pretty good, and I'm surprised I like it as much as I do. Even if you aren't into this kind of stuff, check out "You" and "I Keep Dreaming" both of which are absolute jams

Snake.
May 4th 2019


21818 Comments


broken artwork gross

TheSupernatural
May 5th 2019


2055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I tried submitting the correct artwork and didn't get anywhere with it.



I was the one who submitted this and I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's not an exceptional album but I enjoy the indie-rock/emo thing when it's done right and Dear Seattle seems to do it perfectly. The lyrics are a bit silly but it's part of the charm for me.



Check out "The Meadows" from their last album, it's what got me into them and it's more memorable than anything on this Don't Let Go. The chorus is something to behold.

tyman128
May 5th 2019


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll definitely check it out

Been trying to get that artwork to work, but it won't take anything I submit so that's annoying. Guess this'll have to do for now.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 5th 2019


32879 Comments


Sorry been meaning to fix that pesky artwork all weekend and just never got around to it. Should be good now.

Digging: Abigail Williams - Walk Beyond The Dark

tyman128
May 5th 2019


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sowing, I love you

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 5th 2019


32879 Comments


Ha ty, man...see what I did there?

Yeah it's hard to edit artwork via mobile (and I don't even bother), so I had to wait until I was at a laptop or PC. I had my eyes on it though. Good review < 3

tyman128
May 5th 2019


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man, I tried fix it on my PC but it just kept glitching on me for some reason... so I did the logical thing and just gave up

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 5th 2019


32879 Comments


The uploader is awfully specific, and I should probably know what the preferred/max dimensions are given I'm a mod, but I don't. I think 100x100 usually works. You might have to resize the image (imgur is convenient) and of course, always make sure it's a .jpg and not a .png.

tyman128
May 5th 2019


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah yea, that’s annoying, but I’m not really adding or editing albums frequently so I’m good

keza
May 5th 2019


487 Comments


As a fan of their EP this album disappointed me big time. Just absolutely nothing grabbed me about it, I'll give it another listen just in case I was super wrong back when this came out though.

schoonda
May 5th 2019


1714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

EP was so well done, the softer songs contrasted with bangers like Afterthought and The Meadows made it such a nice little EP whereas I feel like this all blends together too much as mentioned in the review. Still not a bad record but these guys are definitely capable of better!

TheSupernatural
May 7th 2019


2055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm thinking "Maybe" might be my favorite on this. It's just a really cute song

schoonda
June 28th 2019


1714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boys killed it on like a version this morning. I Keep Dreaming is such a gem



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy