Imperialist
Cipher


3.5
great

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
May 2nd, 2019 | 27 replies


Release Date: 10/20/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The musical equivalent of time and space.

Imperialist is a relatively new melodic black metal band from the frosted wastelands of....Monrovia, California? Who would’ve thought that some of the coldest black metal could come from such a warm and happy place like California? Bands like Ash Borer, Fell Voices and now Imperialist have come from Cali and have put out some cold and miserable sounding black metal music.

I’m not comparing this band to Ash Borer or Fell Voices in any way to be clear. Imperialist is way more melodic, riff heavy and upbeat than said bands. Their lyrical themes focus on time and space similar to a band like Mare Cognitum or Midnight Odyssey. Their debut album Cipher focuses mainly on fast and ferocious melodic riffs and blast beats from the black abyss that is outer space. The vocals here are pretty much the norm for black metal ala shrieks from a demon.

Cipher won’t blow you away with originality by any means. If you’re a black metal fan then chances are you’ve heard this album dozens and dozens of times before. But if you like your black metal fast, with melody and full of riffs then you will find something you can enjoy in Imperialist’s debut album. The best is yet to come from these Californians and I’m all ears.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (12)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another write up for the blog and my assigned album for the random review game. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

TheNotrap
May 2nd 2019


12307 Comments


I heard the album and remember that I found it solid, I have to revisit

Another short & nice review bro

Digging: Abigail Williams - Walk Beyond The Dark

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks brother!



Yeah this is pretty cool. Nothing special but damn good stuff.

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it is solid, nothing new or different than what’s been done



the production is great and has audible bass



nice overall atmosphere and quality

Digging: Cadacross - So Pale Is The Light

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep my thoughts exactly. m/

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also there’s some death metal in this too



even some thrashy parts

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn’t hear much thrash but I can def see a blackened dm vibe.

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

scarcely but I did catch a few



however, one could argue it to be fast paced dm



either way, the parts were quite tasty XD

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you dig bro. At least dig a little bit lol.

Papa Universe
May 2nd 2019


22441 Comments


Hawks - the doer of god's work.
(or satan's, can't really tell)

imPOSialist

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahahahahaha love you bro!

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely, 3 is ‘good’ in my book



I have tons of 3’s and they’re all good to me

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah for sure. I don’t really listen to my 3’s often but anything 3 or above is listenable to me.

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that’s actually kinda true for me too



for instance: this is good to me but I’d rather use my time listening to something better. If a friend was jamming this when I’m around I would def jive to it!



I listen to a lot of stuff and have a lot of stuff to choose from

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it’s impossible to keep up lol.

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good point too



if this was only 1 of maybe 20 bm albums in existence then I would be jamming it daily no doubt

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exactly! There’s just so much good shit to go through.

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2019


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dam who negged? That’s lame



haters will hate just ignore them hawks



always someone negative around, why can’t we just celebrate Music



anywho, I pos’d

Hawks
May 2nd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah fuck em I couldn’t care less about the negs anymore lol. As long as these albums have threads that’s all I care about. m/

MotokoKusanagi
May 2nd 2019


2382 Comments


neat album art, might check



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy