Illyria
The Carpathian Summit


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
May 1st, 2019 | 96 replies


Release Date: 04/26/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A journey into the heart of dream land.

Post-black metal is a genre that has been absolutely on fire in 2019. Bands like Remete, Together to the Stars, Numenorean and numerous others have released instant classics in a genre that is normally hit or miss. But one band has stood out among the pack so far this year and that band is Australia’s Illyria.

Prior to about a month ago I’ve never heard of this particular band but they hit me like a ton of bricks. The dreamy atmosphere of The Carpathian Summit is absolutely magical to say the least. Illyria mixes in traces of post-hardcore and 90’s style screamo with their punishing brand of black metal and it works to perfection. Cries of pain mixed with clean vocals over the reverb of the trems makes for such an engaging atmosphere that makes this album is almost impossible to put down.

When you think of black metal you think of Satan and destruction but Illyria makes the genre sound almost happy at times and they execute at such a high level. The Carpathain Summit is about an hour in length but is never grating on the listener or boring at any point. If you like a hazy, almost dream pop like atmosphere then Illyria is just what you need.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (60)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Short write up I did for the blog. Thought I might as well post so this has a thread. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

Papa Universe
May 1st 2019


22440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the carPOSian summit

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There he is. Sup Uni????

CaptainDooRight
May 1st 2019


4189 Comments


jamming now pos

Digging: Cadacross - So Pale Is The Light

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Cap! Hope you enjoy. m/

CaptainDooRight
May 1st 2019


4189 Comments


those cubs are cute af

Papa Universe
May 1st 2019


22440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey Hawks, what's cookin'?

this as tight as people say it is, huh?

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you’ll love it. Get on it bro.

CaptainDooRight
May 1st 2019


4189 Comments


never heard anything like this before

it’s like emo bm with indie flavorings

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep that’s exactly what it’s like!

Papa Universe
May 1st 2019


22440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so like Earth Moves and Bosse-de-Nage?

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2019


8737 Comments


Hate the vox, love the music
Will report back after I listen to the whole thing

Digging: Liturgy - H.A.Q.Q.

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah kinda. They’re pretty similar to Together to the Stars and Astronoid to an extent.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 1st 2019


32716 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

omg those bears are adorable wtf

Digging: Low Roar - ross.

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sowing you might actually dig this. Give it a chance. :]

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 1st 2019


32716 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

I saw you reference Astronoid so there's always hope

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There’s a big indie/emo vibe here so it could be up your alley.

SymbolicInTime
May 1st 2019


4797 Comments


This is absolutely stunning!! Thanks for giving this gem some exposure Hawks

Digging: Sleep In. - Settling

Hawks
May 1st 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah bro! Glad you dig. m/

Hellscythe
May 1st 2019


4275 Comments


I was gonna check this out but now all these references to midwest emo are turning me off completely

good bears though

Digging: Thornhill - The Dark Pool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy