Vaura
Sables


4.0
excellent

Review

by Benjamin Kuettel STAFF
April 29th, 2019 | 49 replies


Release Date: 04/26/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After six years, Vaura return with a lighter direction inspired by 1980s darkwave

Vaura have been one of the most interesting supergroups in recent years, fusing atmospheric guitar tones and a metallic intensity with a brooding, avant-garde spin. After six years, the band have returned with a refined and accessible style not unlike The Chameleons or ‘80s era The Cure. Those influences were always present, but without any metal sections the band are free to indulge fully in a lighter, more chorus-driven direction. “The Ruins (Hymn)” is built on a catchy hook and pleasant, echoed guitar melodies that wouldn’t sound out of place on a college radio station. Despite the streamlined approach, most of Sables still carries the strangeness of their original sound. Each track moves subtly, rewarding the patient listener with an equally engrossing experience as the finest moments from the band’s previous releases. Their versatility is felt throughout, particularly with the rhythm section. “Zwischen” is anchored by an off-kilter groove and sustained ambiance, as layers of spacy guitars traverse a labyrinth of distant harmonies that could’ve kept going for another five minutes. The bass guitar is at the forefront, almost sounding like a lead instrument at times similar to Tool or Isis. Sables is a unique blend of styles, emphasizing the supergroup's always present meditative, gothic side. The instrumentalists effortlessly carry this style, and prove that their evolution is a positive change. While not quite as dynamic and unpredictable as before, Sables shows new shades of what Vaura can be and embraces a blissful, gothic sound with their unique sensibilities.




Recent reviews by this author
Opeth In Cauda VenenumKayo Dot Blasphemy
Tool Fear InoculumAmon Tobin Fear In A Handful Of Dust
Our Oceans Our OceansMark Hollis Mark Hollis
user ratings (33)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2019


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decided to make this short and sweet, the previous reviews do a great job giving the backstory and I recommend reading those for anyone not familiar with their early releases.

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 29th 2019


32736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review. I gave this band a go for the first time today and thought this album was decent. Not really my thing (I don't think) but I'm going to give it at least one more listen.

Digging: Low Roar - ross.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


17657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Need to jam this again, nice succinct analysis in this shortboi

"The bass guitar is at the forefront, almost sounding like a lead instrument at times similar to Tool or Isis."

Agreed, Toby has a good knack for that with these guys. The bass in Putting Flesh to Bone was pretty much that style exemplified

Digging: Hakushi Hasegawa - Air Ni Ni

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


17138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pumped to check this, love their first two

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2019


8496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Short, sweet and informative review, sound production herein is a tremendous accomplishment, and kudos is due to the band for waiting to collaborate with the right man for the job.



Style-wise, Vaura filtered '80s darkwave through their own mesh, with more hits (most of the album) than misses, a 3.5+ for me.



Those fancying the album, are eagerly prompted to check the three most recent albums (at least) of a German band called Aeon Sable,with whom Vaura should tour in Europe or elsewhere.

Jasdevi087
April 29th 2019


5818 Comments


so is everything Toby Driver does now just gonna be Depeche Mode playing the blade runner soundtrack?

teamster
April 29th 2019


4498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahhh, thanks for this. Great band. I love what they do. Production on here is perfect. Songs are memorable. Toby Driver is genius.

Digging: Purify - The Grief

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2019


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys



@Jas: If so, I won’t complain haha. The Kayo Dot album Coffins on Io has some of their best songs

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


11148 Comments


"emphasizing the supergroups’ always present meditative, gothic side."
That should probably be "supergroup's". Great review all around though!

I kind of like the embedded song but it just sounds so period specific rather than being a contemporary take on a period's music. Even the production has that slightly flat early '80s feel.

On a related note I've been meaning to ask, how does one embed bandcamp tracks in a review?

Hawks
April 29th 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’m on this asap. Awesome review as always bro. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

Hawks
April 29th 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules as expected.

JasonCarne
April 29th 2019


1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Loved their last album, but this one isn't really doing anything for me. Their heavier elements were what really sold their sound for me in the past, and now that they've shed that dynamic, the music it falls flat for me and just blends too much.

Hawks
April 29th 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I might like this just a bit more than the previous album tbh. Both slay though.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


17138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this isn't doing it for me very much compared to the first two, don't need anymore 80s pop in my life thanks

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2019


17009 Comments


Listening to their debut now and it's freaking cool. Excited to hear this one after.

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2019


17138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think that's their best actually, but the 2nd is almost completely on par

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2019


17009 Comments


Yeah just skimming over the second one and seems pretty similar. Good stuff.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2019


17009 Comments


Uf yeah not digging this one, it's like they traded all that wonderful blend of styles for smth super specific and it's not very exciting.

AnimalsAsSummit
April 30th 2019


4324 Comments


does this sound like KD at all

Digging: Teebee and K - Black Science

Hawks
April 30th 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn Dewi. :[



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy