Lowly
Hifalutin


4.5
superb

Review

by 0GuyMan0 USER (9 Reviews)
April 27th, 2019 | 13 replies


Release Date: 04/12/2019 | Tracklist


Go from the iris…

I always look forward to winter until that day when the wind is a little too chilly and all too few leaves remain, but we’re all still stubbornly refusing to acknowledge Autumn’s passing. The electricity in the air warning of the months-long rest to come for the green world, the graying of the sky... I know I’ll miss it when I wake up the next morning. Hifalutin is an entrancing discomfort that will come to define those moments of trepidation, when I’m all too unsure that I’m prepared to put that much more distance between me and the beginning and acknowledge there's that much less between me and the end. When I’ll have to consider if I’m living hard enough.

And we are what we are…

The soft, bubbling melodies precede a sort of mystifying madness to come. Synths pulsing among timid, staccato drumming and angelic vocals manage to build a feeling of somber regret over the course of fourteen tracks. Hifalutin is an organic, expansive moment in time, and as the spectacular “Children” fades away with soft piano I feel that same sense of loss that is only intensified with the melancholy “delicate delegates”.

…To leave it where it was, and love it like it is

Hifalutin is a joy and a curse, far too dense for its simplicity, far too affecting for so few words. Far too compelling to leave behind. “Wonder” passes me by like that final day before winter, the last vestiges of beauty leaving me all too unsure that I’ve given it all it deserves.
I’ll invariably begin again and take comfort that this time around, I can try harder. Knowing what I already know, I can surely give it the attention it deserves. And if I can’t, there’s always next year.



Recent reviews by this author
Nonpoint XThe Atlas Moth Coma Noir
Nonpoint To the PainNonpoint The Poison Red
Queensryche Condition HumanThe Atlas Moth The Old Believer
user ratings (5)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
0GuyMan0
April 27th 2019


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was far out of my realm of comfort, so I hope that I did it justice. The vocals are absolutely outstanding. The soft melodies kinda make me wanna cry.



I imagine this will probably come off as uplifting to some. I'd be interested to hear how people perceive it.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2019


21436 Comments


Niiiiiice good to see you enjoyed this so much!

Digging: Jida - Lucid

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2019


17996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude really good job! You should definitely write more! I 5'd their debut but haven't warmed up to this one yet.



I think a lot of people here would love this though.

Digging: Agnes Obel - Myopia

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2019


17996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Or maybe no, lol

0GuyMan0
May 18th 2019


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oddly enough (and I only fleetingly checked it) I was really not into the debut. Thanks for the nice words and the rec though.

gobfinger
August 11th 2019


27 Comments


Strong AOTY contender for me.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


17996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still gotta warm up to this one.

0GuyMan0
August 12th 2019


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I haven't listened to a ton of new stuff, but honestly this is the best thing I've listened to this year.

0GuyMan0
September 21st 2019


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Children is absolutely incredible. my song of the year.

0GuyMan0
January 21st 2020


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If not for cult of Luna this would have been my album of the year.



Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2020


17996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Did you ever jam Heba in the end?

0GuyMan0
January 21st 2020


2621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you know, no. I didnt. Im in love with this one still.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2020


17996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a hard 5 for me, it's a little bit different, but if you really liked this one you'll definitely find much to enjoy there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy