Hath
Of Rot And Ruin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Egarran USER (1 Reviews)
April 25th, 2019 | 307 replies


Release Date: 04/12/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another undead led by the serpent.

Hath is American Blackened Death Metal, so you know to expect a pummeling. Brutal death riffs over blastbeats and a vox between screamo and growl. A short intro and blasting before the minute mark, which instantly brings it over average. No ***ing around with these guys.

An exhausting first listen, but soon you start appreciating all the great little things going on here. Thankfully Hath often spice up their style with some excellent solos, melodic riffs, and just a hint of synth and female vox. I think this is what humans call prog. There's even a good old chorus here and there.

Lyrics are classic death lyrics as per the album title. But like the music, there are gems to be found:

"Father, I know the gods have all gone away
Yet I will remain to hold up the sun"

That's the human condition, children. Also, apparently Dark Souls references.

The album does get slightly too long and samey. They could have trimmed a song or two and shortened some others. And I want more experimentation - but this is Hath's debut beyond their Hive EP, and they have potential for making a classic.

[This review was part of the Review a Random Album event, album recd by Hawks.]



user ratings (270)
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Slugdge Esoteric Malacology

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fanto
April 25th 2019


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best albums this year so far!!

Hawks
April 25th 2019


73846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There it is!

Digging: Havukruunu - Uinuos Syömein Sota

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


14535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Winds of the next decade



Easily one of the best albums of the year so far, in my top 5

Digging: Katalepsy - Terra Mortuus Est

DDDeftoneDDD
April 25th 2019


12614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is awesome..jams and riffs for days.

Rev is a tiny superficial but I got the chalenge and still good. We can tell you ve enjoyed the hell of it. Nice first review Ega. Glad it was this one. Cool summary m/

Digging: Thaetas - Shrines to Absurdity

Egarran
April 25th 2019


17194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tell me what you miss, I have located the edit function.

Digging: Be'lakor - Stone's Reach

ChaoticVortex
April 25th 2019


1020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The hype is truly real for this album. One of the most electrifying debuts I've heard in a long time. Great blend of blackend death metal and prog metal, with touches of Gorguts, Opeth and melodic metalcore in the mix.

AaroN911
April 25th 2019


2787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i miss the good ole days

Digging: Spiritbox - Spiritbox

DDDeftoneDDD
April 25th 2019


12614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Its nice that way Ega. Cold and short (and that's cool), not much entering the songs or band s influences, but I wouldn t have done it better. Congrats.

Egarran
April 25th 2019


17194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks 3D.



Now WTF is up with all these Opeth references? I don't hear that at all, but I see them mentioned a lot with this.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 25th 2019


12614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Some acoustic inputs f.e., the way they give all that balance on every track (dm enough prog enough). I ve seen it being mentioned on some reviews too. But there s so many of them. I setted the tags based on vibes I got and some reviews out there.

Makemebad35
April 25th 2019


969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this rules

Hawks
April 25th 2019


73846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed it does.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


14535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That’s a fact

Egarran
April 25th 2019


17194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I notice you also have some trouble finding the right words for this.

Comatorium.
April 25th 2019


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best album so far this year good good shit

dbizzles
April 26th 2019


14177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Found this very sterile and boring, sadly.

Digging: Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2019


11965 Comments


Yes, an Eg review!

Digging: John Mayall - A Hard Road

MotokoKusanagi
April 26th 2019


3194 Comments


can tell i'm gonna dig the shit outta this

Sinternet
April 26th 2019


22671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

electrifying

Digging: Karenn - Music Feels Better With Shoe

DungeonBoy
April 26th 2019


7862 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very informative review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy