Dead To A Dying World
Elegy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
April 24th, 2019 | 37 replies


Release Date: 04/19/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dead to a Dying World are doing doom better than anyone else right now and it’s time you took notice.

When a doom band called Dead to a Dying World releases an album called Elegy, you’d be forgiven for thinking “oh this old card again.” While the Dallas act drinks from many different and very familiar wells, their brand of doom metal feels revelatory.

Flashes of Godspeed, Candlemass, Twilight, and The Pax Cecilia are everywhere on their latest record. But when the strings and shrieks swell on “Empty Hands, Hollow Hymns,” it doesn’t really matter because Dead to a Dying World pull their symphonic, sludge-laden take on their influences from a unique and emotive place.

Elegy takes cues from its own title and that of the band’s. It’s a dirge for the slow death of the planet which feels, thematically, like the fullest realization of the band yet. Fiction is full of apocalyptic visions of the fall of Earth, but Elegy is a unique vestment of the morose and operatic sound of doom on a typically chaotic and melodramatic theme. Visions of the ravages of climate change and pollution elicit the depressing sounds of “Of Moss and Stone.” When one thinks about the depleted forests and disappearance of aquatic species, it’s “Hewn from Falling Water,” not Kreator’s “When The Sun Burns Red,” that plays.

It’s ostensibly depressing, lacking in subtlety and it works beautifully. Dead to a Dying World are doing doom better than anyone else right now and Elegy is their boldest and most affecting statement yet.



Recent reviews by this author
Yellow Eyes Rare Field CeilingMiley Cyrus She Is Coming
Inter Arma Sulphur EnglishWaste of Space Orchestra Syntheosis
Vous Autres Champ du SangVanum Ageless Fire
user ratings (86)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
dedex
April 24th 2019


322 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

oh this old card again

dedex
April 24th 2019


322 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

nice & short review, will definitely give it a listen

Sniff
April 24th 2019


5683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

drop the symphonic bogus and then we can talk

Gyromania
April 24th 2019


28298 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This shit is so boring

icatchthirtythree
April 25th 2019


903 Comments


this is dope

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


10185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This took a long while to get into

dedex
April 25th 2019


322 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

turns out it didn't affect me

TheNotrap
April 25th 2019


11801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These short reviews are nice



Jamming now, their music has an interesting angle



Digging: Vitriol (USA) - To Bathe From the Throat of Cowardice

Durrzo
April 25th 2019


1874 Comments


I like this when they're actually doing something, but there's a whole lot of nothing going on so far and I'm pretty over it already.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2019


15628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ive been sat on a review for this since sunday but wasn't happy with it. this pretty much says what I wanted -- nice job xeno. I absolutely love the style of this; its swans meets black metal!

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

Hawks
April 25th 2019


73511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Guess I need this asap.

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

deezer666
April 25th 2019


4946 Comments


My friend adores this band I saw them live and it was all a bit 'meh' looking forward to listening this allthough 'doom' was never a word i associated with them

Digging: Breach - Kollapse

BallsToTheWall
April 25th 2019


49738 Comments


Great band and review.

Digging: Fuming Mouth - The Grand Descent

oltnabrick
April 25th 2019


37378 Comments


interesting will check

Digging: bladee x ECCO2K x Thaiboy Digital - Trash Island

Catatonic
April 26th 2019


153 Comments


Digging the hell out of their sound

naughtcturnal
April 26th 2019


1261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit this is great. I don't know if it's just me that doesn't know the proper definition of "symphonic" but I personally got more folky vibes from this than symphonic ones. Either way, it all sounds great together. Profound Lore are having quite a year so far. Great write-up and thanks for turning me onto this

Digging: Diocletian - Amongst The Flames Of A Burning God

naughtcturnal
April 26th 2019


1261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, Thor Harris AND Jarboe are on this which is epicccccc

TheSupernatural
April 26th 2019


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wtf is that Buzzfeed-level summary?

Hawks
April 26th 2019


73511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Getting on this now. m/

Hawks
April 26th 2019


73511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok yeah this is good stuff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy