Get Scared
The Dead Days


5.0
classic

Review

by industry plant USER (27 Reviews)
April 19th, 2019 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dead but not forgotten

Layton, Utah gothic metalcore outlet Get Scared have had one hell of a run marred with hardships and conflict that likely would have killed any other band in an instant; from drama with other bands and record labels to conflict within the band itself, they never stopped doing what they loved to do. Unfortunately, all good things come to an end, as the current wave of drama within the band likely means they're done for, and The Dead Days is, simply put, the best way they could have gone out with a bang.

The Dead Days is probably the darkest album in their repertoire: not only does it develop the sound they laid the path for on Demons, the lyrical content has gotten even darker; though Get Scared have always been a band to write about bleak topics, The Dead Days discusses things such as abandonment and drug addiction. Nicholas Matthews is at his peak in the vocal department, both in terms of screams and cleans; he's also a lot more angrier than before, as his lyrics are one giant rant about how his life virtually fell apart; not only is he now addicted to drugs, but he's also had a multitude of other problems, such as the end of his relationship with his long-time girlfriend; indeed, the anger and hatred expressed by Matthews is one of the chief assets of the album. Johnny Braddock and Adam Virostko provide top-notch guitar work and play each other off absolutely beautifully, while Bradley "Lloyd" Iverson's bass is amongst the best in the genre right now. Dan Juarez's drumming has taken a drastic turn for the better, and his aggressive, angry drumming compliments the music very well. Kris Crummett's production is very raw and abrasive, even more so than Demons; the guitars in particular are incredibly heavy and very loud, while the drums and bass have much grittier tones to them. The mixing is also nearly top-notch; the only thing left to be desired is that the bass is louder, but it ultimately ends up being a minor nuisance rather than a genuine detriment to the album.

The Dead Days is Get Scared's greatest work by a mile, the perfect way to go out, and one of the greatest metalcore releases of the decade; fueled by anger, hate and tragedy, it's one of the greatest representations in music of life falling apart and not being able to get better no matter what you do, and the heaviness of the instrumentals provide a massive breath of fresh air in an increasingly lighter metalcore scene more concerned with writing poppy radio hooks and gimmicks, rather than providing a nice outlet for angrier music.



Recent reviews by this author
From First to Last From First to LastTrash Boat Crown Shyness
Judah and the Lion Folk Hop N' RollBelzebubs Pantheon of the Nightside Gods
New Years Day UnbreakableWaterfall Strainer Carry It
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Shamus248 (5)
"I'm afraid I won't see better days."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
WeepinnWillow
April 19th 2019


612 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Album stream: https://open.spotify.com/album/08M2nrcIACOFrgkjprl4Zn?si=XqPlJGRvREGwhfGG-5fdVA



Constructive criticism appreciated.

Digging: Daniel Seven - Resonate

Durrzo
April 19th 2019


1736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Demons was way darker, sound wise, and way more interesting. This is... Eh.

ItsTheSquirrel
April 19th 2019


217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’m not sure if I like this or Demons more, but this was certainly worth the wait

blueskysailor
April 19th 2019


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I personally think demons was way darker, and it had more ambience. The Dead Days took out much of what i really loved about demons and left base metalcore for me. im still trying to give it a chance though, ive listened to it abt 3 times so far and its kinda growing on me bc of how catchy it is. But to me nicks voice is either mixed into blandness or he didnt perform as well as i feel he did in demons. in demons i felt like he was really feeling what he was singing because of how shaky and sad he sounded. the dead days doesnt have any of that realness to me.

But like i said im listening to it again because get scared really influenced me when i was a teenager and i want to like this album.

(also im extremely biased bc demons is probably my favorite album of all time if not in my top 3 so this is by no means objective)



Durrzo
April 19th 2019


1736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nick's performance on Demons is vastly superior to his work here. I gave this a few spins to try to get into it but it's not doing anything for me. Demons stomps this into the dirt and is far and away their best album.

spatulagrass
April 19th 2019


7 Comments


Nah this shit trash

AgentDeathbat
April 19th 2019


9886 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

honestly the only critique i have here is your sentences run on a lot, mostly thanks to the semicolons and all that. this is a good review for a great album.

Shamus248
April 19th 2019


435 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man if this is the end for them, I can't think of a better way to go out. pos for the great review. RIP to an incredible band. fuck the album slaps too

Seanicito
April 19th 2019


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk man. EOTGM was okay to me, but I loved Demons. This album just fell off for me from Demons. This album is still decent, and my god are some of the hooks catchy as fuck. Anyways, this album sounds like they incorporated a little bit of everything they’ve ever done, and I guess that’s a good thing, if this is their last album. I was expected for a little bit more though.

WeepinnWillow
April 19th 2019


612 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Shamus: It might not be the end after all, if Nick's Instagram is anything to go by.

DreamAgain
April 20th 2019


932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some hilarious fanboying from the usual suspects regarding this band. Are you on a personal mission to make LAYTON, Utah famous or something? All your reviews lead with that, like who cares specifically what city (tbh, even state) any of these bands are from.



But with opinions such as "For Layton, Utah-based rock outfit Get Scared, it's probably been one of the most hectic rides of any band in music history." ..



I'm sure this most recent album is very objectively looked at.



Yes, this band has gone through the most turmoil in the history of music!

WeepinnWillow
April 20th 2019


612 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thank you dream, very cool

Snake.
April 20th 2019


21668 Comments


you know what show was garbage back in the day? invader zim

Feather
April 20th 2019


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If they had released this album as their debut I have a feeling these guys would have gotten a real following. Unfortunately it is 2019 and not 2009. Regardless, I love this and it brings me straight back to being a sophomore in highschool

ItsTheSquirrel
April 20th 2019


217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok no this isn’t as good as I thaught on my first listen

Shamus248
April 21st 2019


435 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

idk, I think DreamAgain needs a snickers. you're not you when you're angry

Danred97
April 21st 2019


2224 Comments


Never really listened to these guys and honestly hadn’t even thought about them in years. The songs I checked were pretty good, nothing amazing but a nice bit of mid-late 2000s phc sound. Not sure if I’ll check the whole album or not though.

igordrago
April 21st 2019


83 Comments


Yeah just tried to listen this its trash. Decent review but option is way off.

LoLifant
April 21st 2019


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They always were a mediocre band with a couple of solid songs, but this is a huge disappointment even for their standards.

WeepinnWillow
April 21st 2019


612 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Shame to hear your dissapointment, what didnt you like about it?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy