Thrice
Deeper Wells


3.5
great

Review

by AriDoe USER (15 Reviews)
April 17th, 2019 | 115 replies


Release Date: 04/13/2019 | Tracklist


Thrice are one of the most important bands in my life. Apart from introducing me to post hardcore, they played a huge role in molding me into a more serious music fan, and have been one of my favorite bands for over a decade now. For a long time, Thrice were widely regarded as one of the most consistent and forward thinking bands in modern post hardcore and alternative rock, constantly reinventing themselves and experimenting with new genres to great success. Sadly, that trailblazing seems to have ended with the band's most recent effort, Palms. Where previous Thrice albums all made significant creative jumps, Palms felt stagnant, as if the band were just going through the motions and the horrible production didn't help this.

Deeper Wells is a collection of 4 leftover tracks that didn't make that album, and interestingly enough, feel significantly more adventurous than their parent album. The opening title track is likely the heaviest song the band have done in ages, with some very aggressive drumming and bombastic riffs; it also sees vocalist Dustin Kensrue using some harsher vocals that he hasn't utilized in at least a decade. Its a fantastic introduction and a massive breath of fresh air after the dull Palms. Elsewhere, A Better Bridge is the most radio friendly track on the EP, with guitar melodies and massive hooks that wouldnt feel out of place on an album like Major/Minor. The last 2 tracks take a more atmospheric direction, reminiscent of Palms' closer and highlight track- Beyond the Pines. In This Storm sees the band building from some very moody guitars into a massive crescendo while Stumbling West features one of Dustin's most emotional vocal performances in a long time.

Deeper Wells may just be a collection of unused cuts, yet it somehow manages to feel more important and adventurous than its parent album. The production remains fairly lifeless however, suffering from some very odd sounding drums and badly mixed guitars. That being said, while it may not win over any new followers, it could be just the thing disillusioned Thrice fans need after Palms.



Recent reviews by this author
Slipknot We Are Not Your KindPossessed Revelations of Oblivion
Morbid Angel Blessed Are the SickBolt Thrower Honour - Valour - Pride
Pitchshifter DesensitizedPitchshifter Industrial
user ratings (79)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Eugene Tymchyk (2.5)
These wells are not that deep after all, eh?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I want to start writing more reviews. This is a bit rough, i know, but this EP is pretty interesting, much more so than Palms

letsgofishing
April 17th 2019


1448 Comments


Very experimental ending to this review. Caught me by surprise.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2019


9424 Comments


Lmao be nice

Digging: Nicolas Jaar - Cenizas

WeepinnWillow
April 17th 2019


926 Comments


uhhh...did you mean to end this review where it ended

AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tf no i didnt, idk why it happened like that. I copied it right from my notes

AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First review in months and its totally botched!!

WeepinnWillow
April 17th 2019


926 Comments


alright. carry on then

XingKing
April 17th 2019


15097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The band doesn't consider these leftover tracks, but an addition to them. I don't understand why garbage like Hold Up a Light or Everything Belongs made the LP but these tracks didn't.



"it could be just the thing disillusioned Thrice fans need after Palms."



This. Their past two albums and the shit they've been doing during the Palms cycle have me convinced they are going full sell out mode but I'm glad there are still flashes of brilliance.

Larkinhill
April 17th 2019


6324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Palms is shockingly mediocre (Only Us, Just Breathe and Beyond the Pines are good), but TBEITBN is pretty damn solid imo. Not as good as their earlier stuff but a solid 3.5.

AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TBEITBN is really in the upper tier as far as comebacks go. I mean compare it to ATDI and Refused's comebacks.

AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So i can let the lack of innovation there slide, but Palms is where they should have found their stride again

AriDoe
April 17th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also what else have they been doing during the Palms cycle Xing?

Space Jester
April 17th 2019


8340 Comments


“TBEITBN is really in the upper tier as far as comebacks go. I mean compare it to ATDI and Refused's comebacks.“

Tbh I’d rather listen to those

Space Jester
April 17th 2019


8340 Comments


Also let’s not forget Glassjaw and Quicksand

Larkinhill
April 17th 2019


6324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So i can let the lack of innovation there slide, but Palms is where they should have found their stride again



Yes this I definitely agree with. Really hoping they’re able to pull it together for the next album.

Larkinhill
April 17th 2019


6324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This didn’t get released on CD did it? Would like to add to the collection if so.

veninblazer
April 17th 2019


10326 Comments


@Lark: pretty sure this is vinyl exclusive for Record Store Day, and will probably be released in digital form at some point. Hopefully.

bananatossing
April 17th 2019


1147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow this is great news. good review

StrizzMatik
April 18th 2019


3898 Comments


Definitely an improvement in quality from Palms. Deeper Wells is probably the best song they've put out in years, hopefully we see a bit more aggression on the next LP.

chaywa
April 18th 2019


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Record Store Day purchases have 60 day exclusivity for the physical release, so digital release should be Weds 12th May FYI.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy