Goatmoon
Death Before Dishonour


4.0
excellent

Review

by blou52 USER (3 Reviews)
April 10th, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cold, misanthropic black metal from one of Finland’s finest one-man bands

Released by Werewolf Records in 2004, Death Before Dishonour started the career of finnish black metal legend BlackGoat Gravedesecrator (what a name) and the Goatmoon name as well. With an album as well done as this, it's easy to see how Goatmoon has received such a cult-like following in the black metal community. While the racist and National Socialist views portrayed within songs like “Kunnia, Armageddon!” and “Pure Blood” are less than desirable, the music itself is fantastic.

As mentioned in the summary, Death Before Dishonour is outright misanthropic. The vocals presented here have such a sound of bitterness and raw hate that one would be hard pressed to find vocals with a more defined sound of loathing than these. Coupled with the raw and grainy production, the lyrics being screamed are all but indecipherable for the most part, aside from the odd “Satan” or “White Power!”. Because of how raw the vocals are, they become an instrument of their own, as opposed to a vessel for lyrics.

Backing up the verbal fury on this album are the guitars and drums. With production as raw as this, intricacies of the playing are lost. This is a tradeoff though as, where intricacies are lost, an icy coldness is added to the guitar tone, boosting this albums intense nature. Take the song “Disease” for example. The opening is a harsh, dissonant assault on the ears. This song is arguably the most evil sounding on the album and evokes a sense of utter disdain towards man. The drums, while nothing to write home about, further the sound achieved on this album and are competent enough to not cause any problems. They do, however, provide a punk vibe to the sound. A welcome, if not unusual, addition that Blackgoat would later remove from Goatmoon’s sound on subsequent records.

In the end, this album doesn’t do anything new or experiment on the sound of albums that came before it. What it does do is provide a fantastic example of what raw black metal should and can be. If you can ignore the overtly National Socialist views of BlackGoat Gravedesecrator, then you will be treated to an unrelenting slab of black metal.


user ratings (31)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
blou52
April 9th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album goes hard and is definitely worth a listen if you like the more raw kind of black metal.



If you see any mistakes, let me know

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yes, nice to see this reviewed. m/

Digging: Remete (AUS) - Into Endless Night

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2019


25114 Comments


i'm surprised this hasn't been reviewed until now

Digging: Remete (AUS) - Into Endless Night

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Me too honestly. Band slayz.

blou52
April 10th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm guessing it has to do with the racism in the album. I mean, Blackgoat isnt the most welcoming musician

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah he’s a racist fuck but he makes some of the best bm around honestly.

metalhead2425
April 10th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album riffs so hard. The albums that came after are killer too, but part of me wishes he would put out another album like this one. Judging by how quickly he ditched this sound, though, it seems unlikely.

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First 3 are all 4.5’s for me but I haven’t heard anything after this yet. Gonna have to get on them.

metalhead2425
April 10th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You definitely should jam the last two. I really like Stella Polaris. Both aren’t as raw as the first 3 though.

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will def get on them bro.

blou52
April 10th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My question is why listen to the 2 latest Goatmoon albums when you could listen to the first 3.

Hawks
April 10th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why not??? ;]

metalhead2425
April 10th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@blou52

I mean, your not wrong..........

blou52
April 10th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's like listening to Fallen by Burzum. Is it pretty good? Yeah. But you could just as easily listen to his first 4 albums

zaruyache
April 11th 2019


20668 Comments


why listen to any of those when you could cheq Forgotten Woods instead

Hawks
April 11th 2019


69379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cause this band is better. :]

blou52
April 11th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm gonna have to agree with Hawks on this. Goatmoon>Forgotten Woods

necropig
April 12th 2019


5243 Comments


Some good old fashioned 88 metal

Digging: rstir Lfsins - Saga tveim tungum I: Vpn ok vir



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy