Trivium
Silence in the Snow


5.0
classic

Review

by Bl4ckheart USER (1 Reviews)
March 20th, 2019 | 42 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My favorite album of all time.

Trivium are my second favorite band of all time, beaten only by Asking Alexandria. All 8 of their albums are masterpieces for different reasons, and Silence in the Snow is not only my favorite Trivium album, but is also my favorite album of all time. It’s usually considered one of the band’s weaker albums, and I’ll never understand why. There isn’t a bad song on the album, and the lyrics are among the best ever written.

The first thing that is great about Silence is Matt Heafy’s vocals. His voice has never sounded bad, but it was on this album that his voice became amazing. He sounds like he’s having fun singing, since there isn’t a lyric on the album that is screamed.

One of the common complaints about the album is the complete lack of harsh vocals, since this is Trivium’s only album without them, but I don’t mind it at all. Matt’s singing sounds amazing, so he doesn’t have to scream. Some people have said that some songs would benefit from screaming, but I disagree. I wouldn’t change anything about any of the songs on the album.

I understand that some people might not be a fan of the more radio friendly songs on the album like Rise Above the Tides, but I don’t care about that. All I care about is the music being catchy and fun to listen to, and every song on the album meets those two requirements.

There are some songs on here that sound like they were made for the radio like the aforementioned Rise Above the Tides, Until the World Goes Cold, The Darkness of My Mind, and Blind Leading the Blind, as well as some darker and heavier tracks like the title track, Dead and Gone, The Ghost That's Haunting You, and Beneath the Sun, and the contrast is one of the things that I love about the album.

Overall, Silence in the Snow is, in my opinion, the best album of all time. I love it so much, and thing that it gets a bad reputation because of the lack of screaming. I think that this is an album that any metal fan should listen to at some point of their life. It’s not overly long, and is a very fun listen. Silence in the Snow gets a perfect 5/5.

Here’s how I would rank all 12 songs on the album (excluding the opening instrumental Snøfall):

1. Cease All Your Fire
2. Until the World Goes Cold
3. Pull Me From the Void
4. Silence in the Snow
5. The Darkness of My Mind
6. Rise Above the Tides
7. Dead and Gone
8. The Ghost That’s Haunting You
9. Blind Leading the Blind
10. Breathe in the Flames
11. The Thing That’s Killing Me
12. Beneath the Sun

Thank you for reading my review, and I hope you have a great day.


user ratings (532)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Snake.
March 19th 2019


21586 Comments


ok

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
March 19th 2019


13634 Comments


I mean, all I've really got from this is that it's an album with radio appeal, nondescript clean vocals, and some variation in intensity that you love. A bit more description across the board might help you support your opinions; a general rule of thumb is to assume then when you say something about music, an online reader might be interested in your analysis or description but won't care in the slightest that you specifically are the one saying it, so unsupported opinions never look too good. Stick at it though!

Digging: Blonde Redhead - 23

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

JohnnyoftheWell, thanks for the tip. I'm new to reviewing albums, but I'll get better at it.

kalkwiese
March 20th 2019


3030 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Trivium are my second favorite band of all time, beaten only by Asking Alexandria."

Idk what to say about this. It's kind of brave I guess

Digging: Periphery - Periphery IV: Hail Stan

TundraL5Z
March 20th 2019


2611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I do like this album, it's kinda overhated I'd say

MAN0
March 20th 2019


24 Comments


Eh. Feels more like you justifying why it's OK to think this is your favorite album as opposed to a review. I think most/all of your paragraphs contain something about the album that other people don't like. It's not bad for what it is, but it, you know, is what it is.

I know you're probably a bit more of a casual metal(core) guy, but I personally appreciate a little more professionalism on here, though , not like my two reviews are much better. I don't really suggest you read them - admittedly they're sort of practice because my writing skills aren't exactly great (some of the really professional people writing on here probably went to college and took some high-level English classes) at least as of now, but that's sort of besides the point.

I don't know, maybe everyone else is less pretentious? Just seems more like something I'd share on r/metalcore or something. Also, I repeat words too much.

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I'm not experienced with writing reviews. Hopefully I'll get better as I write more.

MAN0
March 20th 2019


24 Comments


Yeah, take some notes if you're planning on continuing this. Only advise I can reliably give is to really try to give off why you like it, but I suggest you read other reviews and take notes from people who are (currently) good at this

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Do you think that doing a track by track analysis would be a good idea?

swipenet
March 20th 2019


2980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good job dude, not bad for a first review. Obviously you're gonna get a lot of flak for this opinion, but you definitely argued your stance.

Digging: Aephanemer - Prokopton

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

swipenet, thanks for the kind words. I've never been afraid to share my opinion on something, no matter how much I know people will hate me for it.

swipenet
March 20th 2019


2980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anytime man. I mean, I'm a Trivium fanboy by this site's standards to give you an idea.

Regarding track by track analysis; if you have enough to say for each song, go for it.

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've read a few other reviews that did it like that, and it let me know exactly what the reviewer thought about each song.

swipenet
March 20th 2019


2980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's a common format here. Some of those reviews are pretty bad but if you're specific enough it works well.

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's true.

kalkwiese
March 20th 2019


3030 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are albums where a track by track video is appropriate, but I don't think this album is one of them. It's just too homogeneous a track by track review would be super redundant for example. So chose the format carefully

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll figure something out.

Ninjahague
March 20th 2019


1174 Comments


yeah don't include other bands that have no relation to the album especially when listing out your "other favorite band"
especially since it's asking alexandria

Bl4ckheart
March 20th 2019


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love Asking Alexandria.

TheMightyScoop
March 20th 2019


1086 Comments


@bl4ckheart what ninjahague is saying is you loving asking alexandria has nothing to with the album you're reviewing, especially since trivium and AA have very different sounds. so there's absolutely no reason to include that piece of random information.

also: "All I care about is the music being catchy and fun to listen to" .....


Digging: Karp - Self Titled LP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy