Haruomi Hosono
Hochono House


4.5
superb

Review

by anatelier USER (26 Reviews)
March 9th, 2019 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Come again soon. You're welcome any time.

Harry is an old friend of mine. He sets down a tea for me – it was ready for my arrival – and smiles with earnest. He’s framed by the accrued knick-knacks of a storied life; photographs of friends. Keepsakes and trinkets from far-flung places. Musical regalia through the ages; a thumb piano, a melodica, a tape deck, a synthesizer. It almost feels like a museum, a collating of cultures and eras – only, it’s rare for a museum to offer up more than just a snapshot of then. “That was then,” it says. “This is now.” In this place though, it’s more of a composite, with one informing the other and in turn, as perpetual as the dance between the sun and the moon.

Some 45 years ago, Harry welcomed us into Hosono House and charmed with silky, lounge-tinted folk and country rock ditties. It only ever half-hinted at the creative output that would emanate from the chap in the decades to follow, with his involvement in the synthpop-seminal Yellow Magic Orchestra and his own new-fashioned experimentation on stellar works like Philharmony and Paradise View, but in its own right demonstrated his knack for all things groovy, melodious and enduring.

And here we are now, returning to the same homely domain, with these decades of fertile ventures informing a reimagination of those ditties. Hochono House never seeks to improve upon its spiritual predecessor, nor undo it. Some of its tracks sound vastly different to their earlier counterparts; that is, until you play them back to back. There are no ghosts of a song, nothing lost in the way of soul. These are fond recollections, memories living in the same space as today. To that end, it plays very much like a layered, learned reminiscence, a summation of the man’s entire career that doesn’t wave it over the horizon so much as bundle it all together for a two-step in the twilight.



Recent reviews by this author
Ex-Isles Luxury MassMatt Maltese Bad Contestant
Andrew Hung RealisationshipFuture Islands The Far Field
Sandy's Fourth DementiaJames Joys and Peter Devlin Devil, Repent!
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
related reviews

Watering a Flower

Comments:Add a Comment 
anatelier
March 9th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I miss my granddad

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2019


9381 Comments


This is a swanky, well written review. Good work

Asdfp277
March 9th 2019


19660 Comments


whos harry

anatelier
March 9th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he's a wizard



thanks nocte!

SandwichBubble
March 9th 2019


9335 Comments


Tempted to listen, I still haven't checked his discography yet though. I can't just start at the end like a fool
Don't really get the review, but it's well-written

Digging: Samara Lubelski - In The Valley

anatelier
March 9th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this wouldn't be the worst place to start, but a lot of the context is lost if you don't listen to 1973's hosono house first. and it's worth noting that hosono house is not an awful lot like anything else of his to follow.



this might make more sense to you once you've heard both albums, it might not. i definitely was trying to capture a fairly intangible thought!

rabidfish
March 9th 2019


4892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lovely review for lovely "Harry"... will give this a spin asap.

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2019


12975 Comments


Very wholesome review, pos pos. Checking out the original now, and the second track is calling out to me

Digging: BUCK-TICK - Atom Miraiha No.9

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2019


2395 Comments


lovely little write up

anatelier
March 10th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks all



the second track on this (penultimate on hosono house) is definitely the best example of the reimagined sound

anatelier
March 10th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the other track(s) to really look out for are the sixth on either record, 'party'.

rabidfish
March 13th 2019


4892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is greatttt

DoofDoof
March 13th 2019


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, enjoying this one a lot



And I can pos...this means another of the class of 2017 contributors has been stripped of their status :/

Digging: Jungsttter - Love Is

anatelier
March 13th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i was stripped a while back - was never told as much, so couldn't tell you exactly when!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy