Pissgrave
Posthumous Humiliation


5.0
classic

Review

by oltnabrick USER (21 Reviews)
March 8th, 2019 | 80 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Enjoy the violence

In 2014 Pissgrave pushed death metal to the limits with their murky production and vicious vocal style on their debut demo. Combining both the elements of bestial black metal such as Blasphemy and Naked Whipper with the somewhat unconventional tendencies of bands like Infester with an added twist of gore, Pissgrave were able to jump to the head of the death metal pack. In 2015 they signed to Profound Lore records and released the polarizing Suicide Euphoria in the summer of the same year.

After a long 4 year wait the Philly death metallers have finally given us a new album to feast upon, Posthumous Humiliation. Clocking in at around 43 minutes it is non-stop brutality from beginning to end. The album is even more noisy and chaotic than Suicide which is a good thing because being chaotic and noisy is something that Pissgrave do rather well. Explosive riffs, blown out drum beats and incomprehensible vocals cover the album from start to finish. On the track “Into the Deceased” the guitar solo is reminiscent of something that Kerry King would have done Reign in Blood-era Slayer but even filthier and more disgusting. The murky production sounds like something the producer on Incantation’s Onward to Golgotha could have cooked up if the band had been playing 150 mph.

On Posthumous Pissgrave prove to the naysayers that say they rely on the “edgy” artwork and imagery too much that they are more than capable of writing great, disgusting death metal. Pissgrave’s Posthumous Humiliation is an onslaught of metal violence that should not be ignored and demands to be heard.



Recent reviews by this author
Yung Lean Unknown MemoryDemilich The Four Instructive Tales... of Decomposition
James Ferraro Suki GirlzPink Floyd Ummagumma
Xavier Wulf and Bones ダサいYung Lean Unknown Death 2002
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

first review in almost 5 years



stream/buy:

https://pissgrave.bandcamp.com/album/posthumous-humiliation

Digging: Sense Field - Tonight and Forever

LOVEANDACCEPTANCE
March 8th 2019


119 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

short and sweet, nice return. you got five years of yung lean to catch up on dawg



completely disagree tho, band is pretty useless at what they do imo

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


8849 Comments


Think this could use some grammar/technical checks and get a bit more meat on its bones. Just a little sound-off as it stands and doesn't delve into much detail, but perhaps it's not as necessary with this album?

Anyways, welcome back to reviewing my man, it's a nice little piece overall

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why waste time say lot word when few word do trick?





also i wrote like 3 reviews for this and kind of combined them together

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


8849 Comments


Ey no problem, just a suggestion. If it works it works

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

if you got any suggestions let me know, i'm down to edit

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


8849 Comments


Well adding detail is up to you, would like to hear more about the album but I like knowing specifics. I get that might be more of a personal preference.

In terms of the techy stuff, there's this at the beginning:
"...jump to the head of the death metal pack. Signing to Profound Lore records..." - The Profound Lore sentence that follows is incomplete, double check that.

The rest is just comma stuff i.e. "Clocking in at around 43 minutes it is non-stop brutality from beginning to end." - comma after minutes (there are a few different instances of this)

Just trying to help if I can

auberginedreams
March 8th 2019


6252 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

All the songs sound the same.

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cool will check it

zaruyache
March 8th 2019


20499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"were able to jump to the head of the death metal pack"



Suicide Euphoria 2015



3.0

88 Votes


Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this website is a terrible indicator of anything metal tbh

zaruyache
March 8th 2019


20499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

3.25 on rym 400 ratings :p

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also not a good site!

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2019


3164 Comments


wow these guys are actually on spotify

will jam in a min

Meridiu5
March 8th 2019


1755 Comments


album art is delicious

Digging: Theatre Brook - I Am the Space, You Are the Sun

zaruyache
March 8th 2019


20499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

these vox are almost as bad as Neckbeard Deathcamp's.

oltnabrick
March 8th 2019


36448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

bro i will literally destroy you, get out of here!!!

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


2954 Comments


dope record, lady next to me on the plane did not approve of the artwork tho

some of the riffs feel pretty portal-esque which is cool

ButtBoy
March 8th 2019


2181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I give zero shits about what RYM rates anything. Best album of all time? 3.6/5

zaruyache
March 8th 2019


20499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I was gonna mention portal, yeah. I picked up on some Mayhem/Thorns vibes too a little bit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy