Mykele Deville
Maintain


3.5
great

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (52 Reviews)
March 4th, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deville’s got some muscles

Eschewing the increasingly popular “Chicago sound” of modern hip-hop, Deville endlessly flexes between a confident swagger and flow to match the 90s rap gods, and a warm polish to his beats that breathes natural life into the soundscape very much at odds with the artificially click-clacking beats and overblown production of his peers. The most obvious shred trait with his Chicago scene is his emphasis on community, most evident in highlight “Free Soul,” which makes great use of a bouncy jazz sample and joyous female vocals scatting in the choruses. His aggressive flow dominates this track and album opener “Whispers,” offering a breakneck pace that never distracts from the severity of his words.

It’s when the music and his posse gets stripped down later on in the album that Deville’s weaknesses become the most apparent. After the gorgeous woodsy samples of “Kalief,” “You_re Enough” starts promising enough with a twittering brass backing before descending into the basest of choruses concerning the basest of anthem-rap themes: self-love. The following track doesn’t fare much better either, as “Loosies” plods along to a lethargic beat until it breaks into a strangely affecting slam poetry session, again by a guest artist.

This all isn’t to say that the best moments of the album aren’t owned by Deville, as he acts as gripping persona both on and off the stage. It’s just that once the floor drops out from under his features and leaves him alone in the sound booth, it’s more obvious that Deville lacks the most important aspect of what Chicago has been consistently offering lately; a unique voice. But he isn’t far, mere steps away in fact, and the more he leans on complex themes and complex soundscapes instead of the simpler variety, the more obvious that is. Until then, it’s far easier to sit back and enjoy his eminently evident talent than to sit and stew in gripes that will surely be resolved by the next time he swings around.



Recent reviews by this author
Solange When I Get HomeLos Unidades Global Citizen EP 1
Tierra Whack Whack WorldLucy Dacus Historian
Blood Orange Negro SwanBig Red Machine Big Red Machine
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quick one for this up and coming local artist (:

This one might be a bit rough around the edges, I almost realized that this is my first hip-hop review

"Free Soul": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8-zXnwGRy0

Papa Universe
March 4th 2019


20120 Comments


so a somewhat decent throwback hip-hop, huh?

[insert a title-related POS pun]

Digging: Pedigree - New Freak

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the first half of this slays, you should peep "Free Soul"

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


8884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice little blurb here friendo. Might have to give this one a shot, I like some good, commanding delivery if this has it.

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You should def give the opener "Whsipers" then man, he kills it on that

And thanks dude, gotta rep my local talent!

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2019


2808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Not for me, sorry friend. :[ Really nice review, though, so glad to see that tag.

Digging: Angel Du$t - Pretty Buff

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

big oof @ that 2.0, but glad you gave it a spin!

and thank you, means a lot from you especially! And likewise look at you rockin that staff tag (;

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


15107 Comments


Considering how much I enjoyed Denzel Curry's last year without being a big fan of hip hop I won't turn down any chance of hearing more from the genre. Good write-up neek!

Digging: Deafkids - Metaprogramao

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the love Dewi, would love to hear your thoughts! Can't believe I skipped out on that release

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2019


9386 Comments


Nice first contrib review Neekafella. Can’t say I have a lot of time to peruse this, im already way behind on my listening schedule

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks buddy, and no worries, it's not a top rec regardless haha!

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh hell yeah, thanks for the feature guys (:

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2019


41421 Comments


strong little review, good start mr. contrib

this sounds pleasant

Asura14
March 7th 2019


198 Comments


Free Soul is not bad, might give the album a listen... Not since j.i.d. have I been feeling any new rappers but lets see

Digging: While She Sleeps - So What?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


8884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I actually quite liked the single, might need to jam

Muppelope
March 7th 2019


1663 Comments


so far i'm liking this a fair bit..
Edit: Eh, really falls off after the first two unfortunately...

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


14736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks all! Yeah the first two are def the strongest

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2019


8884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It definitely runs out of steam, especially the closing tracks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy