Harrison Lipton
Loveliness


4.0
excellent

Review

by SitarHero CONTRIBUTOR (60 Reviews)
March 4th, 2019 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wypipo slow jamz

One of the most interesting thing about Harrison Lipton’s Loveliness is how well he manages to reconcile his bona fide soulful R&B-flecked singer-songwriter chops with his love for dream pop aesthetics. While his elastic melodies, relatively unencumbered by excessive reverb, gracefully float on waves of minimalistic grooves and sparse but effective instrumentation, Lipton reveals that he mainly showed up to cajole his way into your ears’ pants, and he doesn’t mind resorting to some three part falsetto harmonies, as on “Smile” and “Flames”, or dipping into a basso thrum in order to do it. Even when he’s crooning about “sitting on your couch watching Totoro” you know what he’s really thinking is “a flicker of your light / is like a beacon in the night / you make me ooooohhh” (“Beacon”). The only time the smoothness of his delivery is replaced by something approaching angst is on “Loneliness”—the tale of a New York City romance being broken up by the lure of California sunshine—but even that just momentarily crescendoes in emotional and vocal histrionics before settling back into soulful blue-eyed melancholy.

Of course, none of this would work if Lipton didn’t have the vocal chops to pull it off, but thankfully he does. His voice is positively soaked in warmth and soul, and is complemented well by the shimmery guitars, hazy synths, understated percussion, and a light touch with the production. It’s tasteful and more intricate than it appears on the surface—there are some pretty little arpeggiated synths and bluesy guitar leads swimming around deep under those glassy sheens—but maybe just a bit too subtle to make an impression or break through to the surface. Then again, it’s meant to be a pastel coloured canvas for Lipton to paint his sleek R&B melodies on, and Lipton definitely seems to know that, whether you’re getting your groove on, lazing in the sun, or just unwinding after a long day, nothing kills the mood as quickly as getting snagged on a sharp edge of any kind.



Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist Our BonesHe Is Legend White Bat
Destrage The Chosen OneThe Wildhearts Renaissance Men
Solitude Aeturnus Beyond the Crimson HorizonPeriphery Periphery IV: Hail Stan
user ratings (1)
4
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Washed Out Paracosm
Mree empty nest

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I stepped well outside of my comfort zone to review this one, but I saw this guy and his band perform last night at the most hipster venue I've ever been in and he was pretty damn good.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


16484 Comments


I think I told you before but the short format really suits your writing man. Everything needed to say is there, and I have a pretty good image of what to expect.

Can't pos you anymore but there goes the thought ;)

Digging: Grima - Will of the Primordial

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Dewi! When I was in school we had minimum word limits for essays. Naturally I struggled mightily. Imagine my joy when I grew up and found out that pretty much everyone else favoured maximum word limits. :D

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, I know you prefer female vocals in this type of thing, but give it a shot!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


16484 Comments


You know me very well haha, sure, I'll give the man a listen.

Hopelust
March 6th 2019


3451 Comments


"Recommended by reviewer: Washed out - Paracosm"

I am all over this.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha! To be honest I don't have enough knowledge about Dream Pop artists to have an accurate "sounds like" recommendation. But, I love Washed Out, and this appeals to me for most of the same reasons, so there it is. :]

Hopelust
March 9th 2019


3451 Comments


Man, Paracosm for me is still VERY frequently spun whenever summer hits. It is so fucking solid front-to-back. His newest though was such a let down in comparison.

Hopelust
March 9th 2019


3451 Comments


Anyway, I'm definitely gonna give this a listen cuz I can't get enough of music along those lines. Puts me in the best mood.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this definitely has that summer chill vibe, even though it's a bit more melancholy that Paracosm was.

Hopelust
March 13th 2019


3451 Comments


Seriously remind me in like a week to listen to this cuz im gonna fucking forget and I don't want to; but I've been too swamped to get on new music with any sort of attention level.

Hopelust
June 6th 2019


3451 Comments


So this is absolutely lovely. First five tracks are so tranquil and serene. Caress is just stellar. Loving the lyrical content too. Paints quite the picture.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My man! Glad you finally got around to checking this! :]

Hopelust
June 6th 2019


3451 Comments


Yeah I've got a whole list of shit just sitting on the backburner, unfortunately. Also very glad I was able to find the time to check it though. This is perfect for the incoming summer months.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2019


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed it is!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy