Lycanthropus
Lycanthropus


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (7 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2019 | 40 replies


Release Date: 02/25/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Steady stream of effective black metal, with plenty of melody

Black Metal as a genre has come a long way since its hard rock influenced beginnings and arson and manslaughter stained second wave. Bands like Poland’s Mgla, Ukraine’s Drudkh and countless of others all bring their own sound to the table. With all these different bands creating their own styles across the world, the Black Metal scene might be thriving more strongly than ever before. This begs the question: is there room for one more band?

Cue Sweden’s Lycanthropus. With very raspy, slightly monotonous and thin vocals placed low in the mix, a relentless drummer knowing how to keep up a blast beat, and cold, aggressive riffing, we’re surely in Black Metal territory. Like usual in modern Black Metal, Lycanthropus sometimes also includes acoustic guitars. However, these moments are few and far between, and are restricted to the two acoustic interludes, Pale Beauty and the title track. Do these Swedes manage to stand out from the pack? If yes, how?

Tracks are usually short but have their own clear identity. They focus on a few well thought out riffs, and get their point across clearly. The music is typically very raw, obviously opting for the more primitive approach the genre is well known for, but featuring lots of melodic riffing throughout to keep the listener’s attention. This is achieved mainly by creating a contrast between the old school vocals mixed with these aforementioned melodic riffs, borrowed from all kinds of metal styles. A short but sweet track like Death March is a good example of this diverse style. This way, the album manages to carve a sound all of its own, not really sounding like any other currently active bands.

Of course one could draw parallels with other bands, Rise for instance calling Drudkh to mind, with its melodic washes that put images of empty battle fields, forests and a wide, forlorn country side in your head. It almost seamlessly flows into The Bavarian Executioner, which features a very un-Drudkh-like heavy metal style bouncy riff to spice things up.

Sometimes these story-telling tracks, with their sense of grandeur, make you wonder whether you’ve finally found the BM version of Amon Amarth’s With Oden On Our Side. This is particularly true for tracks like Hammer and Heroes, which feature epic harmonies and a sepia tinted, historical tone. However, mixing things up and making these epic qualities even stronger by contrast, tracks like Dagger opt for a very old school sounding approach. This is even more clearly portrayed in album closer Wolf Song, which reminds strongly of punk and with its early Bathory style riffs.

All these comparisons aside, in the end Lycantrhopus have shown that yes, the world needs even more Black Metal bands. Especially so because the production here is great, finding a good balance between aggression, coldness and listenability. If albums as exciting and well thought-out as this one are being released still, the future of the genre surely looks bleak, but for all the good reasons.

How long until the next full moon?



Recent reviews by this author
Pole 1Dot Allison Afterglow
Ulfven FolkloreGas Rausch
DJ Krush Cosmic YardHaron Wandelaar
user ratings (15)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
March 3rd 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mJPQjz7O6A

And here: https://lycanthropus.bandcamp.com/releases

With a physical release scheduled later this year.

Trifolium
March 3rd 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THIS RULES, and the album art not being broken rules too :-)



manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


11745 Comments


Fixed it for ya.

Trifolium
March 3rd 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man!

TorkshireYea
March 3rd 2019


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like a fun little synthesis of black metal stylings, will give a peep on my way home from work.



Nice review man, take a pos

Hawks
March 3rd 2019


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna jam asap. Pos ahrd bro. m/

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


16815 Comments


Nice pick for a rev Trif. Gonna jam this asap too. Good write-up!

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

Trifolium
March 3rd 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot guys!

I just wanted to create the space so we could discuss this, haha! Curious to hear your thoughts.

Trifolium
March 3rd 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uggh, Death March is so goooood.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


10120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not too bad, few technical errors throughout and points weren't too developed I think. But it wasn't too badly written as it stands.



Might give this a quick stop, not sure if I'm sold on it tho

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks MarsKid! Would love to have some constructive feedback on these technical errors if you would be so kind. Got to learn!

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let's bump again!

Drums are really clear here, while the rest is very foggy. Nice contrast.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


10120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The big thing is to alter plurals when regarding the band, as it's more of a singular unit that one person. It's 'they' but with a fancy name.



The second and third paragraphs had long sentences that ran a little clunky and disjointed due to their comma placements. There are a lot of examples in there where it's not necessarily bad writing, just might benefit from polishing. Perhaps experiment by adding more punctuation (dashes, colons, semicolons) to diversify things or assist with expanding sentences.



Also, question mark bug, but that ain't your fault. Here ya are: ?

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man! Appreciated! I'll try to pay attention to these issues with the next one.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2019


10120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I look forward to it! Will try and get around to this at some point, I just hope it's not garden-variety black metal.

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've fixed some of the issues, with the question marks particularly bothering me ;-)



I couldn't seem to find any 'they' issues though... I know that bands are referred to in plural, and I think I did do that every time it was needed here.



On another note: Rise is aweeesooomee

TorkshireYea
March 4th 2019


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The end of 'Of Glory' is that rarest of beasts - an acceptable fadeout

Kinda a passing point cos I'm still jamming but this is reeeeal good so far

TorkshireYea
March 4th 2019


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh hey, Hammer has another one

This some frosty witchcraft here rn

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


10452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

''The end of 'Of Glory' is that rarest of beasts - an acceptable fadeout''

Yeah, agreed hard! I think it helps that the fade is very atmospheric and beautiful, but it completely shifts gears when going straight into Dagger, which is really oldskool and punk based.

TorkshireYea
March 4th 2019


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just finished. Really really great album and now I can say I agree almost completely with this review. Takes several styles of lo-fi bm, shoves 'em together but somehow felt like a really cohesive listen.



"This is particularly true for tracks like Hammer and Heroes, which feature epic harmonies and a sepia tinted, historical tone." - feel that. I loved how the two managed it in pretty different ways though - Hammer met with blood and fury while Heroes was actually kinda sad and reflective I think. Reminded me of a medieval battle/post-battle situation, however [in]accurate that may be.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy