Puddle of Mudd
Famous


3.0
good

Review

by thezouz USER (19 Reviews)
February 27th, 2019 | 11 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Famous" isn't really better than their debut, but it is a solid record nevertheless.

If you've been a radio rock fan back for about 20 years now, chances are - you've heard of Puddle of Mudd. Maybe not in the most positive of lights, but there is no way you could escape "Blurry" or "She Hates Me" at the turn of the past decade, they were flooding the airways. "Come Clean" was an album that made them huge, and it is a fairly decent post grunge record, with good enough singles and some solid deepcuts as well. However, the biggest problem PoM has is how much filler are they able of exporting on their albums. "Come Clean" had only a couple of those fortunately, but the follow-up "Life on Display" was just an abomination, pretty much the sophomore slump situation. Uninspired songs, the most basic generic music, boring lyrics and to top it all - Wes Scantlin's overly nasal vocals. Above all that, the replay factor was zero and the hook were either bland or flat out nonexistent (tho "Away From Me" was still a good song).

Members have left and four years passed, can they show us that Puddle of Mudd train hasn't completely fell off the rails" Well, in some ways the certianly did, and straight out of the gate - "Famous" is a significant improvement over "Life on Display", both musically and lyrically. It has way more solid ideas thrown in the mix, hooks are much stronger and Wes' voice does miles better job than last time around. Both singles "Famous" and "Psycho" are really fun and catchy jams, while "We Don't Have to Look Back Now" is a solid attempt at pop. "Psycho" was once again, a huge single for them, dominating the rock radio for weeks, and it honestly is a really good track. Yes the lyrics are ridiculous and instrumental is simple, but it works to its favor, honestly. "Livin' on Borrowed Time" has, again, everything that LoD lacked; catchy (kinda generic tho) riff, set of decent lyrics, a good chorus, and a sense of fun, pretty much everything you want to have in your music as a radio rock band.

However, the one thing that plagues this album is the same thing that plagued "Come Clean" - filler tracks. While some songs are some of the best tracks in their discography, some of them are just as painfully paint by numbers and bland as you can get. "I'm so Sure" is easily the worst track here, and "Thinking About You" sound like a B-side LoD track. It's truly offputing, because it unables you to fully enjoy the intire experience, you just zone out after listening to them. Not to discredit really every deep cut here, "Radiate" is one of their best ballads to date, "Merry Go Round" is an energetic faster number, and "If I Could Love You" ends this record on a fairly decent note.

The one other issue with "Famous" is that they brought several people to help to write music for them. Not saying professional songwriters are a bad thing, but it feels less Puddle of Mudd in places than anything off LoD. It really works in places, but in others it really proves that "Famous" would be way better is Wes and company wrote the songs on their own. Say anything what you want about Wes Scantlin, but guy knows how to write a hook, and that is a very important factor for a mainstream rock band.

So overall, "Famous" isn't really better than their debut, but it is a solid record nevertheless. It may not be a game changer or the most innovative thing ever, but it really doesn't need or try to be. It is mostly a fun listen with some incredibly catchy tunes and some of their best love ballads to date. It may not change your negative opinion (if you have one) on the band, but it is at least worth giving a listen, since this is almost as good as it gets with them, since Volume 4 was also just middle-of-the-road and they kinda fell off the map after that.

Recommended:
Psycho
Famous
Radiate
Livin on Borrowed Time
Merry Go Round



Recent reviews by this author
Lou Reed and Metallica LuluThree Days Grace One-X
Daughtry DaughtryBurzum Filosofem
Hinder Far from Close (Demo)3 Doors Down Away from the Sun
user ratings (142)
Chart.
2.5
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
WeepinnWillow
February 27th 2019


233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good album tbh

Digging: I Set My Friends On Fire - You Can't Spell Slaughter Without Laughter

WeepinnWillow
February 27th 2019


233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also check your shoutbox, I recommended you something

thezouz
February 27th 2019


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I checked it...decent track, deserves more views tbh

Digging: Lou Reed and Metallica - Lulu

WeepinnWillow
February 27th 2019


233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You totally need to check the whole album



https://open.spotify.com/album/0TyqyKjDHqVCPx831t8kYK?nd=1

AgentDeathbat
February 27th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Always felt Life On Display and Vol. 4 (as well as Come Clean) were better than this album tbh

Digging: Attalus - Into the Sea

thezouz
February 27th 2019


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Life on Display is a bore, and that review goes out tomorrow lmao



AgentDeathbat
February 27th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I def disagree with that, always found it to be a hidden gem that got overlooked. Looking forward to the review though!

sixdegrees
February 27th 2019


5642 Comments


waRnIng THat IF You sTOP ReADINg YoU wilL DIE toNiGHt. HI i'M mikE. I'M 11 YeARS OLD BUt I'M DEAD NoW. I hAd nO friends... iF yOU Do NOt Inbox ThiS to 20 FriEnDS YOU WilL DiE tONiGhT AT EXAcTLy 11:59pm. DON'T belIEvE Me? a GUy NAMED jaKE rEAd tHIs aNd LaUgHED LATer that NiGhT i tOOk A KnIfe from HIS KitcHEn And STabBEd HiM To deATH. YoU dOn't WANNA Be Jake dO yoU? A giRL NamEd SandRA INBox iT to OnLy 10 FriENDs SiLlY GiRL shE'S OnlY 11 BUT oh WELl. ThaT DaY SHe SAw ME And RAn tO HeR granDma's HouSe... sHE aSKEd hEr CoULD SHE Use hEr BathRoom Read ! thIs isn't FakE. aPpARENTlY, IF u SEnD His tO 20 FRIEnDs In THE NeXt teN Minutes U WiLL havE tHE bEsT dAY oF UR LIfe tomorRow. U wILL EithER GEt KiSseD or ASKED oUT, If U BreAk THIs cHaiN U Will See A LItTlE DeAd gIrl In yOur room tOniGhT. IN 53 MInS sOmEoNe wiLL SAy i lOve You or I'm sORRy 11 Min. · STep 1- KISS yoUr hand sTeP 2- Say your crusHEs NaME stEP 3- clOsE yOuR hAND STep 4- saY a weEk day StEp 5- say YoUr naME STEp 6- Open YoUR hAND Step 7- SeNd This tO 20 oTHer frIEnDs reSultS- yoUR CrUsH WILl sAY ThEy lIKe yOU on ThE DaY yoU CHOOSE



Digging: Rei Clone - Greetings From Somewhere

AgentDeathbat
February 27th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually the loneliest number is 7 because 5 spread a rumor about him eating 9, and he's been rejected ever since, no one ever accepted him, he got bullied all through his life, he became a drinker, he even started drugs, he Overdosed, but he survived, he went to live in a mental hospital for a couple years, then he was considered sane, until he finally got arrested for almost running 5 over for payback, until he decided he didnt want to be a murderer, his trial found him guilty of attempted murder. and 8 sent him away for a long time, he met the color Red, who helped him by hooking him up with a rock hammer, they became friends, until 20 years later 7 escaped using the rock hammer, 10 years after he was finally living a happy life, alone as a sailor in Zihuatanejo where he sometimes got visits from his friend Red, he finally met a women, her name was Yes, he married her 3 years later at the age of 52 and he lived happily with his wife until she died at the age of 68 because of Leukemia, 7 was so devastated that he eventually bought a gun, but he couldnt do it, he lived in sorrow for 4 more years, until he finally thought he should make the most of the time he had left, he visited many places where he payed homage to his dead wife, at the age of 87 he was the oldest adventurer still alive, he was also one of the oldest Numbers, he finally settled down with a dog he found on one of his adventures, at the age of 93 he was on his bed, waiting for death, "Ten" he said with his final breath, the snowglobe he was holding fell out of his hand, and broke onto the floor, and here 7 lay dead on his bed death had finally took him away, still to this day, we dont know what he meant to say with his last words, but he will forever be remembered as one of the best numbers that ever lived.

WeepinnWillow
February 27th 2019


233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

waRnIng THat IF You sTOP ReADINg YoU wilL DIE toNiGHt. HI i'M mikE. I'M 11 YeARS OLD BUt I'M DEAD NoW. I hAd nO friends... iF yOU Do NOt Inbox ThiS to 20 FriEnDS YOU WilL DiE tONiGhT AT EXAcTLy 11:59pm. DON'T belIEvE Me? a GUy NAMED jaKE rEAd tHIs aNd LaUgHED LATer that NiGhT i tOOk A KnIfe from HIS KitcHEn And STabBEd HiM To deATH. YoU dOn't WANNA Be Jake dO yoU? A giRL NamEd SandRA INBox iT to OnLy 10 FriENDs SiLlY GiRL shE'S OnlY 11 BUT oh WELl. ThaT DaY SHe SAw ME And RAn tO HeR granDma's HouSe... sHE aSKEd hEr CoULD SHE Use hEr BathRoom Read ! thIs isn't FakE. aPpARENTlY, IF u SEnD His tO 20 FRIEnDs In THE NeXt teN Minutes U WiLL havE tHE bEsT dAY oF UR LIfe tomorRow. U wILL EithER GEt KiSseD or ASKED oUT, If U BreAk THIs cHaiN U Will See A LItTlE DeAd gIrl In yOur room tOniGhT. IN 53 MInS sOmEoNe wiLL SAy i lOve You or I'm sORRy 11 Min. · STep 1- KISS yoUr hand sTeP 2- Say your crusHEs NaME stEP 3- clOsE yOuR hAND STep 4- saY a weEk day StEp 5- say YoUr naME STEp 6- Open YoUR hAND Step 7- SeNd This tO 20 oTHer frIEnDs reSultS- yoUR CrUsH WILl sAY ThEy lIKe yOU on ThE DaY yoU CHOOSE



AgentDeathbat
February 27th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey, sorry I saw your profile and I just thought you looked cute in your picture, I really wanted to tell you that)) It's really rare to see girls playing video games haha! I don't know why its a guy thing honestly im like really against misogyny and like ill be the one in the kitchen making sandwiches. We should really play l4d2 sometime its a really cool zombie game with a lot of scary moments, but don't worry ill be there to protect you ;) sorry that wasnt flirting I swear Im just trying to be friendly I really like your profile picture sorry was that too far? Really sorry i'm really shy I don't go out much haha add me on skype we should talk more you look really nice and fun xxx



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy