Convulsing
Grievous


4.5
superb

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (152 Reviews)
February 26th, 2019 | 51 replies


Release Date: 08/22/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I’ve longed for this... the taste of your flesh.

After their split with the ever eccentric blackened grind trio Siberian Hell Sounds, I promised myself I would keep an eye on Convulsing, an idea that has recently payed off handsomely. Their newest album Grievous is a near masterpiece. It’s an atmospheric death metal album more structured and thoughtful than the majority of their contemporaries could ever dream of creating. “Inert” billows plumes of carnal death metal riffage that settle into a cloud of psychedelic haze, dichotomous elements somehow perfectly in step with one another. Meanwhile closer “Strewn/Adrift” proves itself the middle-ground between weightless ambience and downtuned heaviness, an exercise in extremity that resolves these opposite ends of the spectrum without any sign of struggle. However, the most compelling feature of Grievous is how human the record feels, and especially for an extreme metal album. Created during a time of personal turmoil for sole member Brendan Sloan, his guttural howls and furious guitar lines ring with catharsis, as if they’re an exorcism of every inner demon and lacerating thought. Rarely is death metal this affective, and rarely is it this finessed, cementing the fact Convulsing is not just a one of a kind project, but that Grievous is easily one of the best death metal albums of the last decade.



Recent reviews by this author
Horrendous IdolOssuarium Living Tomb
Lord Snow SHADOWMARKSSinmara Hvísl Stjarnanna
Malfet The Snaking PathNihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid Madness
user ratings (92)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cheating, but this needed a review. Going to go back to longer reviews after this.

Digging: Arnaut Pavle - Arnaut Pavle

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


16651 Comments


I kinda dig the short format Spirit, nice and swift.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thank you! I really appreciate that

Butkuiss
February 26th 2019


4608 Comments


Aye, Pete and Brendan are sicklads and it's a trip seeing his bands reviewed here lmao

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Do you know them?

Gallantin
February 26th 2019


521 Comments


I remember enjoying their split with SHS, I'll check this out.

trilo
February 26th 2019


2742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell yes



album rips

Digging: Mizmor - Cairn

suppatime
February 26th 2019


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

both albums and the split pwn face

Digging: Midlake - Bamnan and Slivercork

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice catchup review my man

Butkuiss
February 26th 2019


4608 Comments


@TheSpirit don't know them heaps well but I live in Sydney and run into them (Moreso Pete) thru the scene from time to time. Brendan is a pretty well known name too tho.

Papa Universe
February 26th 2019


22419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so it didn't have a review yet? jeez

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


2898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice

Digging: Streetlight Manifesto - Everything Goes Numb

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


8001 Comments


Man this sounds awesome, excited to check

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

WretchedCacophony
February 26th 2019


1684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

VINYL PRE-ORDER NOW AVAILABLE %$$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!**##* m//

Digging: Lord Belial - Enter The Moonlight Gate

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Glad you all are enjoying this record m/ m/ I definitely feel as if even though this style of atmospheric/dissonant death metal is done a lot these days, Brendan has a style of his own that allows him to be just as affecting as aggressive.

Relinquished
February 26th 2019


41093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

super short review.. what is this? Pervert the Church??

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I kind of like this magazine-y style :] And you know what's fucking nuts? I was JUST on PtC reminiscing the other day. I wish blogs like that were still relevant, I'd take it to the top again.

Relinquished
February 26th 2019


41093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

time to hogtie crysis, balls, shadow, and hype on the back of the wrangler and ride towards the sunset of blog success

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

we need zack too

Hawks
February 26th 2019


73572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AWWWWWW FUCK YEAH



Album rips so fucking ahrd man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy