COIN
How Will You Know If You Never Try


3.0
good

Review

by Divaman USER (157 Reviews)
February 24th, 2019 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "I never leave it unsaid. Why can't I leave it unsaid?" - From "Talk Too Much"

Coin (usually stylized as COIN) is a 4-piece indiepop band from Nashville, TN. They originally formed in 2012. They made a little noise in 2015 with a single called "Run" from their self-titled debut album, which received some airplay on American alternative rock radio. How Will You Know If You Never Try is their second studio album.

I don't have a lot to say about this LP, other than that it's a solid album of alternapop music. There are plenty of jangly guitars and high-pitched vocals throughout. The LP is best known for its extremely catchy lead single, "Talk Too Much", which charted on several of the Billboard charts, including the Hot Rock Songs chart (#28), the Alternative Songs chart (#8), and the US Rock Airplay chart (#16). A second single from the LP, "I Don't Wanna Dance," also achieved limited success, coming in at #43 on the Alternative Songs chart.

There are a total of eleven tracks here, some of which are quite good, and some of which are kind of boring. Other than "Talk Too Much", the highlight of the album is probably "Hannah", a mid-tempo number which contains the lyric from which the title of the album is drawn. Other solid numbers include "Malibu 1992", a slow, cool track that was originally recorded on the band's 1992 EP, and "Don't Cry 2020", the track that opens the album (which sounds like it would have been a better choice for a second single than was "I Don't Want to Dance").

I wish I had more to tell you here, but the truth is, this is a decent, but fairly generic example of the indie pop genre. If you like bands like Foster the People and Walk the Moon (and I do), you're probably going to like How Will You Know If You Never Try. It won't blow you away, but you'll get some enjoyment out of it. If you hate those bands, you probably shouldn't bother with Coin.



Recent reviews by this author
This Island Earth Welcome to the Merry-Go-RoundSteve Hackett At the Edge of Light
Yes Heaven and EarthJoni Mitchell Miles of Aisles
The Buggles Adventures in Modern RecordingMannheim Steamroller Christmas
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Divaman
February 24th 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These guys are supposed to come out with a new album this coming spring. I'll give it a shot, and see if they step up their game a bit.

Digging: Runa - Ten: The Errant Knight

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2019


9398 Comments


Gotta say, this wasn't very impressive at all. It felt like someone picked up the CD and described the cover to me. I'm assuming that perhaps the point was to sound uninspired to mimic the equally boring nature of the album, but it ends up falling flat. I don't detect any kind of investment in this review. It's usually best to avoid writing for something if your heart just isn't in it, because the result often embodies a product that lacks any substance to it.

Apologies, but this was just a weak write-up. I'd recommend beefing it up a considerable amount.

Digging: Disentomb - The Decaying Light

Divaman
February 25th 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It wasn't that inspiring an album, just an OK one. But I believe that even just-decent albums deserve a review, even if they don't always inspire passion.

Jethro42
April 3rd 2019


15924 Comments


Whoa, this is really harsh!...Diva, don't take that criticism too personally. Reviews cannot always be top notch after all. Keep the good work coming. Don't let it bring you down. You know your value, that's what's important, mate.

Divaman
April 3rd 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, but the combination of this kind of feedback, along with a neg and getting passed over for contributor again has just drained all of the pleasure out of it for me. And it happens to come at a time when I've had a lot of work to do outside of here. So you won't see any new reviews out of me anytime soon.

Jethro42
April 3rd 2019


15924 Comments


In French we use to say ''When you fall off the horse, you must re-embark on it''.

And seriously, I couldn't see how you wouldn't reach the contrib status after such quantity of quality reviews...That's quite unfair. Did you insist a bit to get promoted?

Divaman
April 3rd 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wouldn't even know who to insist to. But got passed over three years in a row. Won't give them another shot at me.

Jethro42
April 3rd 2019


15924 Comments


It cannot stay like this. There must be a solution somewhere. I asked a moderator some precisions on how is it possible that you're not contributor yet.

Edit; Here are my two cents; Maybe you didn't write enough on recent / new releases. I've seen it happening in the past.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2019


9398 Comments


Hey now, I don't want to be taken out of context. I try to offer honest and constructive commentary for the purposes of assisting. I did not mean for that to be taken as anything else.

Divaman
April 3rd 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It didn't feel like that, Mars. It felt like a kick on a day when I was already down. I had a ton of work that weekend, on a work project that was giving me a mental breakdown. I still squeezed in a review, which wasn't extensive, but which said what I felt I needed to say about the album. Did you drop the neg along with the comment?

Divaman
April 3rd 2019


3805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Jethro, but it is what it is. I was juggling too many things anyway -- I'm not kidding about almost having a mental breakdown about the work project. I needed to throw something over the side of the boat to take pressure off of myself -- it turned out to be writing album reviews. For right now, it feels like a huge relief to have stopped. If I get the urge again, there's nothing that says I can't resume. Right now, it doesn't seem like that's going to be anytime soon.

Dylan620
May 1st 2019


4937 Comments


"Hannah" is one of the better straightforward synth-pop songs of this decade tbh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy