Dream Theater
Distance Over Time


2.0
poor

Review

by Thomm USER (1 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2019 | 90 replies


Release Date: 02/22/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Progressive vs Complicated

Dream Theater has been a hugely important band during the last 2-3 decades, producing many memorable albums that have offered some of the best music in the genre. Their musicianship is something undeniable, even by people that do not like their compositions and find them too long or too technical for their taste. The above statement is something that I firmly believe, having listened to all of their records, studio albums, demos, live albums etc., having thus a good knowledge of their history as a band.

Despite all their musical prowess, somehow they manage yet again to produce an album which is, according to my opinion, dull and problematic, similarly to most of their previous releases. I am not personally one to accuse them of trading their pathos or their emotional side for technical playing, as I believe emotion to be purely subjective and something that should not be used when writing a critique. For me, their main problem started almost 20 years ago and has since plagued them, driving them in producing mainly subpar albums since their last masterpiece "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence".

This problem is that they stopped being progressive. Being progressive does not mean composing songs with odd-time signatures and immensely difficult and elaborate musicianship, but rather creating new, novel ideas that push forward the boundaries of the contemporary music scene. It is something that they used to do as a band, but currently have entirely forgotten, choosing instead to focus on the creation of complicated compositions, that they try to masquerade as progressive compositions. In my opinion being complicated and technical in terms of composition could only be the byproduct of a truly progressive sound and should never be the first focus of a band.

Dream Theater is not anymore a really progressive band, as they have lost the utmost characteristic of such a music genre: The ability to surprise their audience and produce music which is thought-provoking, instead of blasting complicated riffs, intricate solos and cheesy metal lyrics. This is exactly the case with "Distance over Time", a problem which plagues the entirety of a well performed album. It is (for me) uninspiring, and a repetition of their previous work.

If you want to listen to some solid musicianship, with great solos and heavy metal riffs, then this album is great for you. If you want to listen something thought provoking, that pushes the boundaries of contemporary music, then try something else.

4/10


user ratings (374)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
OmairSh
February 23rd 2019


14920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is a very Dream Theater album. The band showcases all it's elements, and stays within the comfort zone, but the music is good. I'm still digesting it, but it's piqued my interest more than their last few albums

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


10972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol. Don't let genre labels define how you feel about music.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


10972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, whose alt is this?

Meridiu5
February 23rd 2019


2720 Comments


Your definition of progressive is a bit overblown but your opinion still feels a bit true. Album still has some definite baggage

Digging: Nathanael Larochette - Earth And Sky

JJKeys
February 23rd 2019


1083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Valid criticism on the band's stagnation, but 'progressive rock / metal' is the definition of the genre, not the shifting -of- genres over time. Gonna have to give you a neg for how surface level the review of the album itself is, sorry my dude.

Looking forward to a lukewarm review of this record that's highly detailed from someone, though

Bfhurricane
February 23rd 2019


6232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your review is a verdict on where Dream Theater stand as a progressive metal band, and not a review of the music. I can respect an opinion that Dream Theater is no longer progressive (a statement I disagree with, but whatever), but that opinion should stand independent of how you’d rate their music.



I’m sorry. I’m not going to neg your review because I can tell you’re coming from a good place, but this is a crap album review.



peartnoy
February 24th 2019


1409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You say that Dream Theater isn't progressive anymore yet you seem to forget The Astonishing. Hate that album all you want, but you can't say it doesn't fit your definition of progressive. Your writing style is overall pretty decent and I like that you tried a different stense from a typical review though.

Titan
February 24th 2019


19754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is this a review about the band, or the album?

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2019


10438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cannot wait for people to stop overrating this album.

TheNotrap
February 24th 2019


12078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Titan!!!!

Your rating











Explain





The bro needs your argument

Digging: Teitanblood - The Baneful Choir

DivergentThinking
February 24th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^lol, why?

TheNotrap
February 24th 2019


12078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn’t a 4





3...3.5 maybe



I need to see Titan’s argument

OmairSh
February 24th 2019


14920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Titan's justification could shift your opinion? :D

TheNotrap
February 24th 2019


12078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No





But I respect the man











OmairSh
February 24th 2019


14920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes Titan's a music aficionado

TheNotrap
February 24th 2019


12078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude





4.5 Michael







Now

OmairSh
February 24th 2019


14920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Only if you 4 the new Dream Theater



:]

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2019


10972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Cannot wait for people to stop overrating this album."



Don't be like that Rob. This has some genuinely fun songs and is solid from start to finish.

Sinternet
February 24th 2019


20551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

good rating on this review

Digging: SeeYouSpaceCowboy... - The Correlation Between Entrance And Exit Wounds

DivergentThinking
February 24th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sint, your hatred of progressive rock always amuses me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy