Cara Neir
Part III / Part IV


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
February 19th, 2019 | 148 replies


Release Date: 02/14/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The culmination of Cara Neir’s chaotic yet gorgeous take on blackened skramz.

Cara Neir is a band that gets nowhere near as much love as they should. Hailing from the wastelands of Texas, Cara Neir has been belting out their chaotic style of blackened screamo for over a decade now. You wouldn’t know it though because they get very little exposure for whatever reason. Well, that’s about to change.

Part III/Part IV is Cara Neir fully embracing all of their influences. This album gives you everything you need. From kvlt black metal sections to absolutely heart wrenching screamo to the sheer brutality of grindcore. They even decided to throw in some experimental ambient and electronic bits with absolutely serene clean vocals, which is something new for the band. It’s really impressive how one band can go through so many different genres in just one album.

This is Cara Neir’s fifth full-length project and they have progressed from a band who seemed like they were just throwing ideas all over the place into a cohesive and well oiled machine. The riffs are relentless when the black metal parts come in, the vocals are manic, painful and emotional and the softer post-rockish and ambient bits are blissful as hell.

There’s nothing like seeing a band fully realize it’s potential and create an album that is truly special. That’s exactly what Cara Neir have done with Part III/Part IV. There’s something for people of all walks of life (music) to love here. If you’re a screamo fan then you’ll love the emotion in the vocals and the enchanting, hazy post-rock atmosphere. If you’re a black metal fan you’ll love some of the icy riffs and trems. If you’re a fan of hardcore/grind you’ll love the sheer brutality oozing from this album. Cara Neir have created something for everyone to enjoy. So stop kidding yourself and jump on one of the best albums 2019 has to offer so far.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (99)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here we go boys. m/ m/ m/

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


3386 Comments


excited to jam this one, band defs doesn't get enough exposure

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They’re becoming one of my favs!

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


3386 Comments


yea, fantastic band. they've got some dope ass splits under the belt too.

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep I plan on jamming the splits too. Haven’t yet for some reason.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


8117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

There are albums that fuck and albums that F U C K, this is the latter

Pos

Digging: Cursive - Get Fixed

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YESSSSS!



Thanks bro. :]

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


8117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't know if it's just because I'm paying more attention or what but heavy shit has absolutely dominated this year so far

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah that’s usually how it goes for me but there’s been some other great stuff too. That Wicca album is up there with the best I’ve heard so far.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


16789 Comments


This is good so far, 2 tracks in, a long way to blow my mind but it's definitely enjoyable.

Good write up man.ç

Edit: And dammit Hawks, you just pushed down my fresh from the oven Soen review!

j/k m/

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FUCK YESSSSS DEWI!!!



And yeah I know I’m sorry. :[

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


14565 Comments


i think i only found out about this band because fantano reviewed portals to a better dead world ages ago. band seems to have dipped from his radar as well tbh

i still regularly jam a song or two off portals, will have to check this

Digging: Celtic Frost - To Mega Therion

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All of their stuff rulez get on this hard bro.

ComeToDaddy
February 19th 2019


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hard pos m/ edges out Portals as their best for me, absolutely rips.

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep agreed 100% bro, thank you!

FearThyEvil
February 19th 2019


17067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gotta hear this

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You will love this Fear.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


10120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn just when I thought my 2019 was pretty dry, blessed be the Cara crew

Hawks
February 19th 2019


73697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Get on this asap my man.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2019


10120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was one of the few on their last album, I'm entering the bandwagon city, no worries m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy