Ulfven
Folklore


3.5
great

Review

by Trifolium USER (24 Reviews)
February 13th, 2019 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Melodic death/doom metal debut which covers a lot of ground

No, Ulver didn’t put out another surprise release, these guys just didn’t pick the most fortunate band name and font. This is the debut release by Ulfven, a melodic death/doom metal band formed in 2017 in Härnösand, Sweden. It reportedly is based on mythological creatures in Scandinavian folklore, hence the title, and it’s a very enjoyable listen!

Over the course of its three-quarters of an hour runtime these Swedes cover a lot of ground. From doomy riffs that feature heavily in the first tracks, to acoustic passages and even some Viking-choirs chanting in the distance in Elegy For A Child), many metal subgenres are blended nicely into one, without ever losing the record’s sense of coherence.

Nocturnal Watcher features tastefully done melodic harmonies, a bell tolling in the distance and is every bit as atmospheric as this sounds. The Keeper’s Hymn takes a beautiful, melodic riff and spreads it out across a nice, extended end section. The fast and furious riffs at the start of The Black Waters feature some effective drum pounding and Ihsahn-like guitar wails, after which it slows down to a melodic close.

After a while, the doomy drone that is used on many of the tracks can get a little samey, but the music is stopped from being flat out boring because of some nicely worked in acoustic passages or a change of speed. Further improving the sense of diversity, the band uses two different lead vocalists, one with a deep, guttural death metal style, while the other has higher and harsher wail.

Beyond The Pines is a good example of how diverse the record can be. It seamlessly transitions from its slower doom riff into a full-fledged blast beat section, after which it falls back into its earlier heavy groove, to slowly fade out with a beautiful but short solo and a moody acoustic conclusion. Moments like these are where this record’s strength truly shows. They even call the glory days of those other melodeath-Swedes to mind.

All in all this record brings a lot for fans of many different metal genres. Now let’s hope they find a way to physically release this record.



Recent reviews by this author
Nneka Love SupremeGoncalo Almeida and Dirk Serries Live at OZO LAND
Clara Malaterre Points CardinauxMeat Beat Manifesto 99%
Joana Serrat Hardcore from the HeartMonolake Hong Kong
user ratings (6)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
February 13th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This deserved a review. Was a quick write-up, but who cares! Let's discuss!

Album can be found here:

https://ulfven.bandcamp.com/album/folklore

lalchimiste
February 13th 2019


1131 Comments


Damn melodeath/doom with Twilight of the Gods in the recs, I'll def check it out

Trifolium
February 13th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool! I found it very hard to pick ''sounds like'' recs for this, so I hope I didn't get your hopes up too much. It's definitely different of course.

lalchimiste
February 13th 2019


1131 Comments


Yeah and I like it when recs are used to pin point certain colors, moments or specificities of an album. Probably would not have piqued my curiosity as much if it would have been lets say Brave Murder Day and The Morning never Came in the recs. I remember a review for a trad metal band by Voivod (sput staff) with like Primordial and some DM band in the recs and it made so much sense

Trifolium
February 13th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that's true. Great little record anyway.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2019


28237 Comments


Oh, a Trif review, nice! Props for writing about a band that could use some exposure, that's always a good deed. Will check this out, have a pos!

Digging: Ataraxy - The Last Mirror

Hawks
February 14th 2019


75358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m getting on this now. Pos ahrd bro. m/

Hawks
February 14th 2019


75358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is really good. m/

Trifolium
February 14th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks guys! I enjoyed this record a lot. Felt fresh yet familiar somehow.

Nice score Hawks!!

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2019


20381 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great review Trif. Pos'd. Will check this fs. Deathdoom is my shit. Is the melodeath folk I'm worried but we will see.

Digging: Saor - Origins

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2019


20381 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Pretty clean 3.5 but hardly a 4. will get back to it fs though. Nocturnal Watcher was my fave here.

Trifolium
February 14th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice man! Good to hear, and thanks :-)

At Nocturnal Watcher myself right now, digging it a looottttt.

Trifolium
February 14th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Time for another bump, this is really cool!

Trifolium
February 15th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Elegy For A Child is superb.

Hawks
February 15th 2019


75358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/ m/ m/ m/ m/

Trifolium
February 20th 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Deserves another bumppp!

Trifolium
March 1st 2019


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New month, new bump. I still think this was great and I still want a physical release :-(

frozencarl
March 10th 2020


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://ulfven.bandcamp.com/track/h-xkonst



seems theyre working on a new album, there are 2 singles out that are pretty decent

parksungjoon
March 10th 2020


44488 Comments


this isnt ulver [123123]

Trifolium
March 10th 2020


32358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool! That's nice, I liked this.



''this isnt ulver [123123]'' Weird isn't it?!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy