Beast In Black
From Hell With Love


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
February 9th, 2019 | 78 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 49% headbanging, 51% dancing

Beast In Black released their well-received debut two years ago and, despite the positive reviews and the interesting lineup, I hated it. There is a very fine line that separates poppy metal from Eurovision crap, and I felt that these guys went way too far. Everything about Berserker seemed over the top; I felt that the instruments were leaving very limited space for the music to breathe, the vocals filled the aforementioned space, and the production was way too loud and plastic. The result of that was disregarding these guys almost completely. However, 2 years later, I have to admit that I was wrong.

All things considered, Beast In Black is still the same band doing the same thing, which is producing bombastic metal. Nevertheless, the major change on the band’s sophomore effort is the level of songwriting. Simply put, the melodies here – based on ‘80s pop – are more memorable, the drums leave some breathing room, and the production is modern and polished but not overly loud. In terms of influences, From Hell With Love is a blend of Turbo-Judas Priest, modern power metal in the vein of Sabbaton, symphonic metal reminiscent of Nightwish, and of course ‘80s pop (think of Bonnie Tyler). And if you’re thinking that this is a cheese-fest, you’re right. But, at the same time, it is really fun and not tacky.

In addition, there is a nice variety of different styles such as uptempo tracks like the GTA Vice City “True Believer”, “Sweet True Lies” with the ‘90s pop a la Britney Spears chorus, “From Hell With Love” and “Heart of Steel”, those with more metal elements like “Cry Out For a Hero”, “Repentless”, “Die by the Blade” and “This is War”, and even a ballad (“Oceandeep”). One of the reasons that, despite the unquestionable cheesiness, this is such an enjoyable listen, is how seamlessly and naturally synth-heavy and metal parts come together within the same song. Of course, the execution is also at a high level as the guitars and the soulful vocals a la Rob Halford shine.

From Hell With Love is the very definition of a feel-good album and even though the second half is not on par with the first one, the LP still ends on a high note with two well-done cover versions of “Killed by Death” (Motorhead) and “No Easy Way Out” (Robert Tepper). At the end of the day, I am happy that I gave Beast In Black another chance and even happier that this multinational band proved me wrong.



Recent reviews by this author
Flame, Dear Flame The Millenial HeartbeatArch/Matheos Winter Ethereal
Vargrav (FIN) Reign In Supreme DarknessSmoulder Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring
Traveler (CAN) TravelerTwin Temple Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound....
user ratings (73)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is catchy af.

Digging: Leonard Cohen - Live In Dublin

TheNotrap
February 9th 2019


11401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great and accurate review, as always.



Album is good Giorgio Moroder-esque cheese.

Digging: Tomb Mold - Planetary Clairvoyance

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude!



Had to look up who Giorgio Moroder is, which is a shame considering his role in Italo disco, but you're very spot on.

TheNotrap
February 9th 2019


11401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, super influential dude back in the 80’s.



The album could be the metal flashdance soundtrack.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2019


8374 Comments


Manos, how is this album better than the debut which you rated with a 1.5?

Good review, which includes the answer to my rhetorical question, will definitely give it a listen.

Digging: Norman Shores - De L'Ombre Surgit La Lumire

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Voi. In all honesty, I need to revisit the debut. Jammed the first couple of tracks today and even though I didn't enjoy them a lot, a 1.5 may be a bit harsh. I like though how this album is more on the pop side of things compared to the debut.

BallsToTheWall
February 9th 2019


49683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This looks fun af!

Digging: Dealer (AUS) - Soul Burn

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is!

Toondude10
February 9th 2019


13897 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Enjoyed this way more than I should have, this shit is fun as fuck!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2019


16295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found myself yesterday trying this out while doing some work and ended up jamming the whole thing, it's like a popcorn movie, stupid fun. Great review manosg!

Digging: Lingua Ignota - Caligula

zaruyache
February 10th 2019


21108 Comments


they were really shameless in copying Battle Beast when they left, weren't they.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Dewi, well put!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2019


8374 Comments


The "Killed By Death" cover fuckin' slays.

Lucman
February 10th 2019


2892 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some of these songs are the most 80s things I have ever heard. I actually get kinda disappointed when it tones it down a little.

Digging: Nick Drake - Pink Moon

TheNotrap
February 10th 2019


11401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, the cover is great, both covers rule actually

NordicNorth
February 10th 2019


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is epic and catchy, just good fun and a quality listen. Will be coming back to this.

Toondude10
February 10th 2019


13897 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the t/t off this is sooooo good

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2019


10121 Comments


This sound like fun!

Scheumke
February 11th 2019


947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good thing I'm not even slightly lactose intolerant lol. Will give this a listen. Good review my man!

Digging: Heilung - Futha

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2019


11739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Much appreciated, Scheumke! Hope you enjoy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy