Spidergawd
V


4.5
superb

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (50 Reviews)
February 8th, 2019 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: How to revive rock and maintain your reputation in eight simple steps.

Only a few bands can talk about consistency with the same weight as Norwegian rock sages Spidergawd. The band led by ex-Cadillac Per Borten have managed to maintain an astonishing level of quality with every yearly release, with the reasonable exception of 2018, a period where the band was preoccupied with a heavy touring schedule.

Since their inception in 2014, Spidergawd have put out a new album every first month of the new year, a tradition that have been recovered in this 2019 with the release of their fifth work for Crispin Glover records, home of bands like Soup, Black Moon Circle and Sugarfoot. The starkly titled V features once again the art of French artist Emile Morel, commonly known by his love for phantasmagorical, almost three-dimensional images of hybrid creatures that have become the fauna that populate the band’s covers since the beginning. In combination with Spidergawd's recipe of modernized classic rock, the bundle oozes mythological rock vibes throughout its eight generously stuffed tracks.

It's been also three years since founder member and Motorpsycho's mastermind Bent Sather left bass duties to Orango's Hallvard Gaardlos who, along with remaining Motorpsycho representative, drum-kit punisher Kenneth Kapstad, have run the engine of Spidergawd like a loose locomotive, a rampage additionally fueled by the baritone sax of Rolf Martin Snustad and the mighty sound of Borten's guitar.

But enough of the history lesson. A first contact with V quickly shows that Spidergawd is a band in excellent shape and with a very clear identity. They do drink from different taps: from the Thin Lizzy feel of highlight "Ritual Supernatural" or the NWOBHM callbacks of closer "Do I Need a Doctor..."", the Norwegians excel in recreating a glorious era without becoming a shoddy caricature of the bands that made it great. Borten is a hell of a vocalist; not only he has an impressive range, but he also has the gut needed for the job. His delivery in songs like the dizzying "Whirlwind Rodeo" or the second half of "Green Eyes" is, honestly, jaw dropping.

The long touring seasons have made Spidergawd an incredibly compact band too. V doesn't disguise anything behind fancy effects, on the contrary, it shows the quartet from Trondheim doing their thing like they would do it in your living room. The extra spice comes from Rolf Martin's superb work on the sax, never too prominent and always fulfilling, as he amply shows in the opening section of "All and Everything", or even taking the spotlight with a killer solo in "Avatar". There are other times where its presence is just felt, giving a song like “Twentyfourseven” a solid base for the rest of the combo to shine.

Spidergawd's fifth entry is not a revolution for the genre and it doesn't need to be one. V is just the proof that constant work pays off, and the audible testimony that it is possible to revive the sound of legends of old without travestying into a laughable pantomime. Hats off to the Norwegians.



Recent reviews by this author
Elizabeth Colour Wheel NoceboMammoth Weed Wizard Bastard Yn Ol I Annwn
Devil Master Satan Spits On Children Of LightSoen Lotus
Nivhek After Its own Death/ Walking in a SpiralCherry Glazerr Stuffed and Ready
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

5 albums, not a single review here. Thanks to TwigTW for introducing me to these guys.



I just hope I'm not the one condemning them to ostracism with this languid write-up (lol), cause the album is seriously GOOD.



I couldn't find a stream, but the Obelisk has a track up for your delight:



http://theobelisk.net/obelisk/2019/01/04/spidergawd-v-review-premiere/



It's also on spotify, pine-apple music, etc. Give them a whirl.

Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2019


11547 Comments


Great read Dewi, pos. You can use this stream https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9JQq8-uDhk&list=OLAK5uy_lJVYBwpm1BuJdJWnJAJbljhabppG_ma3c.

Decided to give this a shot because of your review and it's really good indeed. Lots of bands nowadays seem to be inspired by Thin Lizzy which is great. A more modern comparison may be Horisont or even Hallas, but I've only jammed the first two tracks so far so I may be talking out of my ass haha.

Digging: Praying Mantis - Forever in Time

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh sweet, thanks manosg. I'll rely on your everlasting wisdom and add those 2 acts to the pertinent section ;)

bgillesp
February 8th 2019


6715 Comments


Dang it Dewi, I’m behind on 2019 already and now ya gotta go and add another to my list. Begrudging pos ):

;)

Papa Universe
February 8th 2019


20096 Comments


oh I remember this band. never really liked them much, but if you say it's worth it, I'll bite

sPOSdergawd

Digging: Pedigree - New Freak

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh remember Uni, I say a lot of things but rarely any of it makes sense.



And tx bgill, happy to contribute to your 2019 saturation ;)

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


8176 Comments


Crispin Glover records? Do they want to get sued? Cos that's how you get sued. xD

Good review! Ima check this out.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2019


8226 Comments


Love their debut album, great band, I'll check this one if I have time.

Good review, pos.

TwigTW
February 8th 2019


3656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, 4.5, you really do like them! They are heavily influenced by the past (which is undoubtedly why I like them), but they keep it sounding fresh.

Digging: Jungstotter - Love Is

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Sitar and Voivod! Twig, yeah I had it at a 4 but jammed it compulsively while writing and kinda grew on me. I can't really find any major drawbacks either, zero fat, all meat.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 8th 2019


41657 Comments


I just get bored even thinking about modern rock so I probably shouldn't check this but that band name is pretty funny and the arts a trip

Digging: Edyth - Bare II

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Potsy, I think I can safely say you won't like this. Morel's art is pretty cool though, all the other covers have amazing artwork, specially II and IV.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 8th 2019


41657 Comments


deffs some dmt and mushroom vibes goin on

MotokoKusanagi
February 9th 2019


1737 Comments


great band name

Digging: DJ Central - Li'ud

Mad.
February 9th 2019


4746 Comments


Damn this is high praise

recommended by reviewer
Motorpsycho Heavy Metal Fruit


Damn this is high praise

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha well the band has its roots on Motorpsycho and they share the drummer. If I have to choose a representative album for them it'd be HMF. This is different though, more straightforward. You jammed it yet Mad.?

Ecnalzen
February 9th 2019


8078 Comments


Only heard their first album and liked it, but I haven't really checked anything else from them. Perhaps I should change that.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd say so ;)



They haven't made a 180 degrees change in style but they are imo among the best "classic rock" bands right now.

Ecnalzen
February 9th 2019


8078 Comments


Yeah, I was on a kick for that kind of music a while back and their debut fit the bill pretty well. I still like that style, I just haven't been looking out any new material from anybody for a while.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same here, it's not a genre I would explore myself, but when TwigTW told me about them and I realized this was a side project for 2 members of Motorpsycho I already knew it was gonna be smth else. Although the real shocker here was Per Borten. That man is one talented mf.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy