Saor
Forgotten Paths


4.5
superb

Review

by Zach USER (98 Reviews)
February 6th, 2019 | 36 replies


Release Date: 02/15/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This beauty which I hold within my hand is fleeting.

That's what I think when listening to Forgotten Paths. This is in part due to it's own brevity. Never has a Saor album felt more like a brief stream of wind rather than a massive winter storm. Of course, the extravagant song length and structures are still there as aside from the outro, nothing clocks in under 10 minutes. This leaves only 3 tracks, which begs the question- has Saor made the most of them?

That, my dear reader, is a resounding yes. The track Forgotten Paths kicks in with a passion and energy that creates a burning hole through your chest. Through unyielding blast beats, desperate howls and an array of intertwining melodies Saor conjures a sound of melancholy that has been awashed with beauty.

Then comes Monadh. The explosive opener prior is now instead a faint ripple created by a piano and acoustic which almost melt together into a single somber note. The desperate howls have now become raspy barks, as if the desperation has grown into both sadness and anger. However these soon subside into an extravagant ensemble of tremolo guitar work, flutes and violin.

This contrasts sharply with the beginning BrĂ²n, a song that brings the brunt of Saor's ferocity, like a mystical flail smashing down fortresses. It's a fitting time for this too, as it feels much like one final march, one last destructive current before it subsides into the silent pulse of Exile. By then, the journey is over, the goodbyes have been made, and it is then you realize-38 minutes was but a single blink. One tiny mote of time.

That's what I love. In every effort they put forth Saor makes something that feels like something to be cherished, like all the overwhelming realities and pains of the world should be paused, if only to appreciate the rare cracks of beauty within it. They make me forget about the world around me, and that is what I love.



Recent reviews by this author
Mgla Age of ExcuseKing Dude Burning Daylight
Allegaeon ApoptosisPanopticon The Crescendo of Dusk
Can Bardd Nature Stays SilentNokturnal Funeral Lye x Love Cuts
user ratings (254)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Come discover the path less trodden....

related reviews

Guardians

Aura

Roots
recommended by reviewer
Saor Guardians

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
February 6th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God bless this band and everything they do

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


8275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Monadh is the best thing ever

Also unless I mistaken this isn't officially out yet

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

Dedes
February 6th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It just released officially a few days ago I think

Its all on YT as of today too

DarkNoctus
February 6th 2019


10869 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it's streaming

Digging: Borknagar - True North

Dedes
February 6th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I made a mistake then

I thought it was officially out

DarkNoctus
February 6th 2019


10869 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

no you are right, he released it early, i'm just signifying for the sake of the comments that this review has every right to be here :p

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


8275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh oops shows how much I know lol

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


25039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

love that melody in the opening title track, especially when it's just the piano around the 6 minute mark. SO nice

DarkNoctus
February 6th 2019


10869 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"love that melody in the opening title track, especially when it's just the piano around the 6 minute mark. SO nice"



i really don't feel the riff before it, nor the transition into that piano melody. i feel the climax goes on for too long and the flute melody gets really grating too.



man this album just really isn't for me haha

Hawks
February 6th 2019


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dammit Noctus.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


25039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'll actually agree the climax drags on too long following that section. didn't notice an issue with the transitions, but my ears aren't as sensitive as yours ;)

DarkNoctus
February 6th 2019


10869 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

my ears are too sensitive for their own good sometimes



i'm just a moaning grumpy old man

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


8275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love the flute so much lol

Hawks
February 6th 2019


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The flute is the best.

Dedes
February 6th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The flute brings dem beautiful tweets

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


26103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The production is fantastic. So much depth.

Digging: Wampyric Rites - Reflections Of A Frostbitten Moon

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2019


3406 Comments


Review feels really rushed. Fully on board with short reviews for short albums but even some of the imagery here feels a bit contrived for the sake of beefing up the write-up. Definitely a passionate piece but I'd hope for a bit more, especially for a 4.5.

As for the record, first jam was fun. I think I'm content with this band writing a lot of similar material at this point because at the very least, no one really sounds like Saor so the more Roots-core I can get my hands on, the merrier. Like the guest features a lot.

teamster
February 7th 2019


4423 Comments


New Falloch in the works. I prefer them instead.

Digging: Klone - Le Grand Voyage

Dedes
February 7th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ramon

This is the longest review I've written in a wrong time

Idk took me like an hour to an hour and a half to write

Dedes
February 7th 2019


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My honest opinion straight from tha heart

From tha soul



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy