Warmoon Lord
Burning Banners of the Funereal War


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (112 Reviews)
February 6th, 2019 | 76 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Warmoon Lord brings a classic melodic black metal sound with a modern edge.

It’s honestly crazy to think where the black metal scene is now compared to back when it was just getting started. Back in the early 90’s grown men would dress up in corpse paint, take pictures in forests with swords and spikes and some even went as far as to commit brutal and heinous crimes. But with all of that came something truly special. Black metal may seem stupid to people who aren’t into it, but this genre invokes a feeling that others can’t replicate.

Warmoon Lord is a one man melodic/symphonic black metal band from Finland. If you are already a fan of the genre, you should know Finnish black metal is up there with the very best in terms of overall production and quality. Burning Banners of the Funereal War is Warmoon Lord’s debut album, and you really can’t get off to a better start than this. Even though it’s only a debut, this album brings back the classic sound of 90’s second wave black metal. The production here is hazy and cold. No static and doesn’t sound like it was recorded in a basement but the atmosphere of the trems and blistering raw and frigid riffs are absolutely perfect. The vocals are ear piercing and banshee like. Sometimes symphonic black metal albums come off as cheesy and over produced but this is the exact opposite of that. Think of the frozen yet stunningly beautiful melodies from albums such as The Somberlain by Dissection or Enthrone Darkness Triumphant by Dimmu Borgir and you’ll get a good idea of what to expect from this. The best part of the album is the almost effortless mixture of melody and heaviness. It’s the perfect balance.

It’s hard to stand out in a scene full of one hit wonders and generic rip offs of the glory days but Warmoon Lord does just that with his debut album. Burning Banners of the Funereal War is the perfect album to help someone get into the black metal genre. It’s raw yet full of melody. It’s heavy yet beautiful as hell. It makes you feel as if you were trekking through a forest in the dead of night with the moonlight shining upon you. And the best part is, it’s only a debut. The best could be yet to come for this exciting new one man band.



Recent reviews by this author
Misthyrming AlgleymiSterbend Dwelling Lifeless
Fallujah Undying LightImperialist Cipher
Illyria The Carpathian SummitVehemence (FRA) Par le sang versé
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let me know of any mistakes as always bros. Album ripz so ahrd.

Digging: Deus Mortem - Kosmocide

hansoloshotfirst
February 6th 2019


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this year's Vargrav I'd say

Digging: Urfaust - Ritual Music for the True Clochard

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very good comparison. m/

TheNotrap
February 6th 2019


11096 Comments


Will check this out Hawks.

Have a pos.

Digging: Xentrix - Bury The Pain

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks bro!!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


15357 Comments


great rev hawks, pos.

think i'll give this a spin, you've piqued my interest.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


11704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will jam, nice review.



Dumb art though.

Digging: Jean-Michel Jarre - Oxygene

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


16034 Comments


Nice one brother. Pos'd, gonna jam this tom.

Digging: Fire! Orchestra - Arrival

DungeonBoy
February 6th 2019


6067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review dude, jamming now and digging the sound so far. I've heard it all before but I have a soft spot for melodic black metal

Digging: Misthyrming - Algleymi

DungeonBoy
February 6th 2019


6067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If it aint broke don't fix it:



https://f4.bcbits.com/img/0015284960_10.jpg



https://specialagentdalecooper.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/mayhem1.jpg



Really impressed with how well this was executed and how interesting it was. The production is very nice as well, the mix is fantastic. The production imitates that raw 90's Norwegian black metal sound, but it's quite polished compared to its predecessors by comparison. Maybe it's just the right place at the right time for me, but I got a lot of satisfaction out of this this morning so thank you for sharing

Papa Universe
February 6th 2019


21564 Comments


alright, i'll listen
burning banners of the funereal POS

Digging: N'Zwaa - Maha Kali

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


25391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad you dug this so hard Hawks. I've been jamming this hard af lately Melodic but still deadly

Digging: Malfet - The Way To Avalon

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks everyone!!! Much appreciated. :]

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump. m/

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


25391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like this album is proof how much production can do for an album. I feel like if this was produced like more modern BM and super clean, the music could be the same but this wouldn't be nearly as enjoyable.

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep the production is def the best part about this album. It’s fucking perfect.

BallsToTheWall
February 6th 2019


49650 Comments


Hawks reviewed it so I’ll look at it. Almost lost me with modern edge tho




Digging: Pharoah Sanders - Karma

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don’t be turned off by that bro I just meant that it was a modern album lol. This is straight up 90’s melo black, you’ll love it.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


25391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Balls, you should like it

Hawks
February 6th 2019


71529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It honestly reminds me a lot of early Dimmu with some Swedish melo black thrown in.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy