Tiny Ruins
Olympic Girls


3.7
great

Review

by Atari STAFF
February 5th, 2019 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A cure for what ails you

Olympic Girls is kind of adorable. If you’re facing the day with a pounding head – be it self-inflicted or otherwise – this is just the thing to bring you back to earth. The latest from New Zealand’s Tiny Ruins is familiar and comforting in the best sort of way - a smooth mixture of indie folk ‘n dream pop that warms the soul with ease. When you’re craving something a bit lighter, Hollie Fullbrook’s band is sure to scratch that itch. It’s not a challenging listen, but there’s plenty of substance within Tiny Ruin’s meticulous sound to keep things interesting. The music on display here is anything but one-note; the somber twang of “How Much” and the twinkly, psychedelic feel of “Holograms” are about as different as night and day. Although it’s deceptively quiet at times, there’s a lot going on throughout Olympic Girls that’s easy to miss the first time around. Each track is built from the ground up with gentle, full-bodied orchestration for Fullbrook to sink her teeth into. She takes advantage of this every chance she gets; her soothing vocals add warmth and character to each carefully placed instrument. There’s something undeniably therapeutic about her voice that’s sure to cure what ails you. It’s so tender yet radiant. And man, the killer production doesn’t hurt. It’s one of those mood albums, best suited for a specific setting – perhaps a car-ride through the country or a walk. It won’t win any points for originality, but I’d argue these songs are perfectly suited for their intended audience. There’s so much room for everything to breath and flourish. Olympic Girls takes it slow, and we’re given the perfect chance for reflection through the mid-tempo bliss.



Recent reviews by this author
The Tallest Man on Earth I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.PUP Morbid Stuff
Free Throw What's Past Is PrologueJulia Jacklin Crushing
Downfall of Gaia Ethic of Radical FinitudeBetter Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

feel this deserves more than one rating, so here's a little review



https://tinyruins.bandcamp.com/



Holograms video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVmZu1360K8

How Much video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCEVTd0opu4

Title track video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kEtxoqGYGyM



Digging: The Dangerous Summer - Mother Nature

budgie
February 5th 2019


10838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so far so good (:

Digging: Claire Cronin - Big Dread Moon

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

glad someone likes it, lol

budgie
February 5th 2019


10838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i did really dig it, going to listen again tonight. thanks for the rec atari!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


16144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh shieet, didn't realize you reviewed this Atari, I remember I liked the single/s. Gonna have to give it a try.

Digging: Fire! Orchestra - Arrival

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

cheers man. It's a very nice and warm listen, even if it's nothing terribly original

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2019


2908 Comments


This review makes me happy and those recommended albums make this sound promising.

Digging: Behaving - Behaving

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

you're too kind, Blush



pretty sure you're an exception in the fact that you've actually heard those recommended albums, haha ;]

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 8th 2019


31192 Comments


Great little review. I haven't heard of Tiny Ruins or either of those rec'd artists but the indie-folk/dream mixture has me intrigued.

Digging: Bad Books - III

AaroN911
February 8th 2019


2474 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There is something fancy and catchy about this but you were right about a lot going on, going to take more than a simple listen to digest. Maybe because I am not used to Folk having so many different instruments playing at once

Digging: Mol - JORD

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

thx Sowing. maybe check the link for "Holograms"



Aaron, I think that's because it's just as much of a pop album as a folk one. There's a lot going on, but it actually sounds quite simple with the way they put things together. It's more calming than overbearing imo. they did a nice job with all the little orchestral touches

Divaman
February 8th 2019


3697 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds up my alley. Gonna have to give it a listen.

Digging: Charly Bliss - Young Enough

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2019


16144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah revisited this (tx Atari) and it's very pleasant and moody. Nothing mindblowing but just a good chill folky time.

budgie
March 18th 2019


10838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

makes me think of lotr for some reason

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
March 18th 2019


1768 Comments


So good

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

cheers Dewinged, glad you enjoyed it. "Holograms" reminds me of that Alice Phoebe Lou at times so figured it was worth a menton



"makes me think of lotr for some reason"



hmmm, that's interesting haha



and glad you dug it, blastOFF

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 19th 2019


7105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this finally and loving it

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2019


24663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

right on, bud :]

Trifolium
June 17th 2019


6989 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Where do those first 20 seconds of Holograms remind me of? Has anyone got this feeling too? Of having heard this somewhere before?

Nice record by the way, but this really bugs me!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy