Cherry Glazerr
Stuffed and Ready


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (57 Reviews)
February 4th, 2019 | 57 replies


Release Date: 02/01/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bring on the Apocalipstick.

Clementine Creevy's youthful and burning desire to unfuck the world resulted in Cherry Glazerr's releasing their previous album, the sharply titled Apocalipstick, on the very same day that US president Donald Trump was making his way to the White House. Amidst the political storm, the album made waves, not because of Creevy's flammable and ricocheting opinions but because the band sounded like it meant it. She did realize one thing though: you can't change the world if you don't start with yourself.

Following synths sorcerer Sasami Ashworth's departure from the band last year to hop on her solo crusade, and back to trio formation, the band named after an NPR reporter returns in 2019 with an explosive package of fuzzy 90s garage rock produced by Grammys’ regular Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, M83, Wolf Alice). The follow up to 2017's Apocalipstick doesn't mean a radical change of course for the band helmed by the incendiary Clementine Creevy. Building from the foundations of their previous release, Cherry Glazerr's fourth full length and second work for Indiana's label Secretly Canadian is, simply put, bigger and wilder than anything they have done before.

The political flavor of Apocalipstick has been accidentally diminished in their latest release in favor of more introspective themes. Stuffed & Ready is a peephole into the front-woman's twisted psyche but it also serves as an outlet for Clem’s caustic takes on the role of women in the entertainment industry. The barrel of the gun that is her provocative lyricism aims now to her own head in standouts like "Stupid Fish", "Ohio" or "Wasted Nun", to the point of being satirically disturbing in “Daddi”, with lines like ["Who should I fuck daddi? / Is it you?]. Her sugar-coated vocals are once again backed by a thunderous guitar tone and the rock-solid machinery of now full-time member Devin O'Brien on bass, and master hitter Tabor Allen on drums. Whatever knobs were set to max in Apocalipstick they have been brute forced beyond their reach in Stuffed & Ready.

Structure-wise, the band's latest feels like an ice-cream. Once the palatal spark of the ice is gone, all that is left is the crunchy fun of the cookie. Songs like "Wasted Nun", "Ohio" and "Daddi" claim a good portion of Clem's sweetest melodies, which binds a track like "Pieces" and its mono tonal vocal line to be helplessly sandwiched between two bangers like "Juicy Socks" and "Stupid Fish". These are two cuts that still manage to uplift a lighter second half that ends on a high note with "Distressor". The closer is the condensed version of everything Cherry Glazerr has been producing in the last 3 years and a much needed punch to send off the album with confidence.

About that first part, "Ohio" makes a wonderful job as an opener, starting with 10 seconds of a raw room recording that swiftly transitions into the album's monumental sound. Some Smashing Pumpkins comes to mind, maybe even Pixies, Garbage or L7, but all in all, this sounds unmistakably like Cherry Glazerr. Clementine's robotic singing style rarely leaves the frequency she is comfortable with which, on the other hand, it gives her songwriting a very cohesive feel. The very subtle touches that pop up on the quiet parts and the way the hard sections hit are some of the aspects that make Cherry Glazerr's most recent album worthy of more than a ceremonial jam. 2019 is, indeed, Stuffed & Ready.



Recent reviews by this author
Fire! Orchestra ArrivalFull of Hell Weeping Choir
オオハシ (Ohashi) 波のはじまり (Nami no Hajimari)Secret Chiefs 3 Book M
Ioanna Gika ThalassaHellripper Black Arts and Alchemy
user ratings (47)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
widowslaugh123
February 4th 2019


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m not as into it as the last one. I can’t stop listening to it though. Have a Pos by the way my guy.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh look another non-proofread 4 review by Dewi!



Check "Wasted Nun" here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLZYJ-u3WMo



Check "Juicy Socks" here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcaNe6nd3gc



I love this band.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh damn, Widow ninja'd my first post ;)



Thanks man. Yeah, I wasn't too convinced when I heard the singles but 5 secs into "Ohio" and I was sold. Their best I believe.

widowslaugh123
February 4th 2019


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha I too love love this band and was eagerly waiting for a review.

Ashtiel
February 4th 2019


693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not much to say other than ❤️ this band and this is a v. nice review.

also some of the lyrics on this thing hit uncomfortably close to home at times

Digging: Blood Cultures - Happy Birthday

widowslaugh123
February 4th 2019


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also that’s weird because I can’t really get into Ohio that much. I think it’s a strange opener but then again not sure what else would be better. May be wasted nun?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember I read your Apocalipstick review back in the day, we may be the only two morons on this site that dig them hahah

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh nice Ashtiel too, we three now! lol



Widow, as far as favorite tracks go, Ohio, Wasted Nun and Juicy Socks may be my picks. Isolation is cool too, really dig the chorus, and Daddi, even being somehow weird and silly is really catchy.

Ashtiel
February 4th 2019


693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably "wasted nun" or "stupid fish" for me, but "juicy socks" and "isolation" are definitely up there if i remember the latter correctly.

Papa Universe
February 4th 2019


22419 Comments


Oh this thing again. Not sure I care enough.
stuffed and POSd

Papa Universe
February 4th 2019


22419 Comments


But I will be checking out that song named "Daddi".

widowslaugh123
February 4th 2019


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first couple times I heard juicy sucks I was like don’t be nervous? What kinda fucking chorus is that? And then By like the 3rd or 4th time I’m all driving around my car like headbaging and shit “DONT BE NERVOUS” this record is fuckingg huge

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lmao



Same here, same here.



Thanks Da..errr Papi!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2019


24898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

not surprised it’s produced by the same guy as Wolf Alice.



nice review!

Digging: Together to the Stars - An Oblivion Above

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Atari! Yeah man, I love what Garza did in Visions of Life too. The man knows his craft.

Cormano
February 4th 2019


1570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet indeed.



The beginning of Daddi reminds me of T.A.T.U. and I'm totally ok with it.

Sinternet
February 5th 2019


20309 Comments


nice review! their last album was fun so will eventually get round to checking this out. heard they are a goo live band so might check them out as they always seem to be touring.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Sint. yeah, their last was severely underlooked here (and this one looks like it's gonna follow suit).

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2019


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just edited the reference to "Distressor" a bit since it has been growing on me these days. At first I thought it fell flat as a closer but nope, it's actually great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy