Quercus
Verferum


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (107 Reviews)
February 1st, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Starting 2019 off on the right foot, the metal foot. m/

Well my friends, I’ve been stumped. Quercus is a band from the Czech Republic, and yes, their music is as weird as their name is. Verferum is an album that is rooted in funeral doom but it definitely can’t be pigeonholed into that specific sound alone. Quercus is not your average funeral doom band folks.

First of all, I want one of you to think of some funeral doom albums that have 99% clean vocals and barely any demonic death growls from the pits of Hell... I can’t think of many myself, but that’s what Quercus does. And honestly, it works out heavily in their favor. The bleak and empty feeling of doom is still there but now all the hells of the world are being dug to you with operatic vocals. Isn’t that some ***....

The main thing that is unique about these guys is that there are extremely heavy avant-garde influences throughout the album. One minute you’re smack dab in the middle of an agonizing doom section and the next you feel like you’re in the circus. Some of these passages could’ve been pulled right off of an Arcturus album and you wouldn’t know the difference.

The final main point I’d like to make about this band/album is that you cannot have a short attention span to listen to it. If you’re familiar with this type of music then you probably know that, but if not then let me give you a little insight. It’s over an hour long and there are plenty of times where the music drags on and on with ambient and drone bits scattered all over the place. If you listen carefully you can understand how important it is to the overall feeling of the album. However, if you need music that’s riff heavy and in your face at all times, Quercus isn’t the band for you.

A lot of people think funeral doom is boring and pointless. Others think of it as a terrifying journey into the eye of death itself with the atmosphere to back it up. The choice is yours.



Recent reviews by this author
Vehemence (FRA) Par le sang verséCara Neir Part III / Part IV
Grouper Cover the Windows and the WallsNokturnal Funeral Creatures of the Night
Warmoon Lord Burning Banners of the Funereal WarPumpkin Witch Hovel of the Pumpkin Witch
user ratings (8)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Written on my phone as usual, let me know of any mistakes. :]

Digging: Venom Prison - Samsara

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2019


9384 Comments


You know I luv ya Hawksie but I don’t think the phone write ups are working in your favour. I mean it’s conversational, typical of the Hawks persona but it’s clunky (?), choppy and in places down right loose.

I don’t know man.

As for the album, will check. You and I both share a love for the doomscape.

The choice is yours.


A bit of a cop out, you’re better off telling readers they have no choice. Similar to “go listen and make up your own mind”.

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the punctuation thing on the phone is annoying. Gonna fix that. Idk though this is how I normally review so nothing out of the ordinary lol.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quercuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuussss.



It's more casual than for example the Uada review but if you were going for the trve Hawks feel, then you got it hahah.

Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A bit of a cop out, you’re better off telling readers they have no choice. Similar to “go listen and make up your own mind”.


Yeah I feel you. I worded it like that because I know some people are scared to take the leap into funeral doom ya know.

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Dewi. m/ m/ m/

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All those funeral doom lovers need to get on this honestly

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes for sure. m/

Azog
February 1st 2019


119 Comments


Sounds interesting enough. Will look into this.

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NIIIIIIICE.

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NOBODY IS PAYING ATTENTION TO THIS. -_-

Azog
February 1st 2019


119 Comments


Just listened to this on Bandcamp. Reminds me somewhat of Skepticism, occasionally. Not quite as good, but still pretty decent.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2019


9384 Comments


Now you know how I feel when I review UDOM Hawksie

Hawks
February 1st 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spell it out for me bro I’m fuckin fried I’m not getting what you’re saying lmao.

Hawks
February 4th 2019


68337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NOBODY IS PAYING ATTENTION TO THIS. -_- [2]

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We tried, Hawks, we tried. -_- [3]

Marehelm
February 14th 2019


791 Comments


I'll try and get on it, frens

Trifolium
February 14th 2019


3931 Comments


Slightly hesitant, but I'll give it a go too.

I'm a biologist btw, and ''Quercus'' is a genus of plants of which the oaks are the most well-known.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy