Puppy
The Goat


4.0
excellent

Review

by PyramidNoise USER (6 Reviews)
January 28th, 2019 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With some well-regarded singles and EPs under their belt, have Puppy lived up to expectations with their first full-length?Or have they stumbled at the first hurdle?

While ‘hyped’ may be the wrong word, a lot of people were certainly excited for the release of The Goat – the debut album from British rockers Puppy. With some well-regarded singles and EPs under their belt, have the trio lived up to expectations with their first full-length? Or have they stumbled at the first hurdle?

Despite it being a favourite pass-time of most music writers, Puppy is a hard band to pigeonhole. For lack of a better genre term they're an alternative rock band, but that title does little to really explain what Puppy do on The Goat. If I tell you it's Citizen by the way of Ghost. Or goth Weezer with groove metal riffs, then you should have a better idea of what's going on.

At the core of the band's sound is a brand of 90s influenced power pop that channels the slacker vibes of Weezer and Teenage Fanclub. Surrounding this foundation of infectious fuzzed-out power chords, however, is something a little darker. There's a bubbling undercurrent of doom-swathed occultness that goes beyond the album's name and the morbid album art. From the drugged-up weirdness of the vocal lines to the obvious Black Sabbath influence in the riff writing, even the catchiest of melodies have something sinister about them.

Vocalist, guitarist and founding member, Jock Norton put it best when talking with the NME:

"We're hugely into stuff like early Ozzy Osbourne and Van Halen and things like that […] heavy music, but with songs that sound like they're written by the best pop songwriters around."

Opener Black Hole, for instance, is as pure of a statement of purpose as you'll find. Cracking heads with a stomping groove-laden guitar riff before reaching the first chorus of the album. And what a chrous it is. An ethereal earworm of a vocal melody sitting on-top of fuzzed up chords while a tambourine shakes playfully. A stark contrast to the song's verses. Entombed, a track originally appearing on the 2016 Vol II EP, is another standout moment. Opening with a pummelling groove metal riff before dipping down into a sinister building verse, it is perhaps the most 'heavy metal' song of the bunch. Ironically, it may be one of the catchiest too, with stadium-sized guitar leads bolstering one of the darkest lyrically and most hypnotising choruses on the album.

It's a formula to persists throughout. Heavier, darker verses breaking out into melody focused choruses that burrow themselves into your brain after just one listen. While this has the potential to become repetitive in the hands of lesser bands, it doesn't get boring when Puppy do it. I couldn't tell you how long tracks from The Goat have been bouncing around inside my skull. The melodic core of Puppy's sound is incredibly strong. Despite this, their doom-laden approach keeps them very much in the metal world. Just last year, the London trio played a well-received set at UK metal festival, Bloodstock. The power pop tendencies doing little to put off the more traditionally inclined crowd.

Featuring superbly crafted songwriting and enough riffs to satisfy the most demanding of metal fans, The Goat is one that's going to be sitting on my record player for the rest of 2019.



Recent reviews by this author
In Flames I, the MaskWristmeetrazor Misery Never Forgets
Voices (UK) FrightenedSlice the Cake Odyssey to the West
In Flames Siren Charms
user ratings (51)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Snake.
January 28th 2019


21500 Comments


one review per day

Papa Universe
January 28th 2019


20096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so this album's good, huh?

Digging: Pedigree - New Freak

PyramidNoise
January 28th 2019


261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Snake. does it help that only this one was actually written today?

Digging: Venom Prison - Samsara

Papa Universe
January 28th 2019


20096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, if those were two different days in your time zone, we understand. Just that nobody really likes when someone saturates the front page with reviews or lists. (though we've all been guilty of it)

AgentDeathbat
January 28th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this band name reminds me of PUP.

Digging: Attalus - Into the Sea

PyramidNoise
January 28th 2019


261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll bare that in mind for future. I wrote this one today but the Wristmeetsrazor review on Friday. Wasn' able to post it until now. I'll take a posting break for a little while and let my name slink off the front page before posting again



Groundking
January 28th 2019


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album fucking slaps, I wish the vocal hooks were a little bit stronger like they are on the EP's but instrumentally I think they've taken a serious step up here.

They fucking kill it live btw.

Groundking
January 28th 2019


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also good review, pos.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm waiting on papa's rating to know if I should check this or nat.



Good review btw.



Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

JesperL
January 29th 2019


355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i wish i liked this more. this is brilliant instrumentally, especially the riffs (black hole, holy shit), but i wish the vocals had more impact/range

Groundking
January 29th 2019


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Black Hole is great, I think my favourite is And So I Burn so far, but still time for something else to grow on me.

Jesper have you listened to the ep's?

PyramidNoise
January 29th 2019


261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always been a big fan of that slacker drawl, I know a lot of people aren't. It's what made me think of Weezer and similar grungy power pop bands in the first place. Pity Sex have a similar vocal style that I dig.

My favourite vocally melodic work right now is probably on Demons. That chorus is infectious. But that'll probably be different by the end of the day.

JesperL
January 29th 2019


355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i have groundking, think i prefer those (at least vocally). saw them live a few years back, they were very solid!



i love pity sex, tho i think the vocal style suits their gazey atmosphere better

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 29th 2019


29859 Comments


Another good review. I made most of my grammatical points in your other post, so the only unique suggestions I'll make here are:
-the site's code is outdated/buggy and, until fixed by the site's creator, will autocorrect any ? to ". there's no easy way around this, but the most visibly-pleasing method for me has been to copy paste full-width question marks (see here: ?) in place of where you would normally ask a question. I keep it saved in a notepad on my PC for easy reference.
-try using [ i ] text [ / i ] (without the spaces, though) to italicize album titles and things of that nature. helps to make them pop, and that way everything doesn't have to be signified by quotation marks.

Pos'd this review as well.

PyramidNoise
January 29th 2019


261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks again for the great feedback Sowing!

McTime50
January 29th 2019


832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is alright enough

SteakByrnes
February 1st 2019


14471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"this band name reminds me of PUP."



Gee I fucking wonder why lmao

Digging: Ghost Atlas - Sleep Therapy: An Acoustic Performance

Faraudo
February 2nd 2019


2709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very nice.

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1

AgentDeathbat
February 2nd 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Steak: Yeah, it's because it's the full word.

JesperL
February 3rd 2019


355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

pUp sTaNds fOr pATheTiC uSe oF PotEnTiAL



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy