The Dandy Warhols
Why You So Crazy


2.5
average

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
January 26th, 2019 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Why You So Lazy?

The Dandy Warhols have embarked on a quest to strip their sound ever since This Machine was conceived. While never ones to stagnate sonic-wise, their decisions have been questionable lately. Their previous album ended up as a baked version of their usual selves, rarely taking off. Distortland felt quite vapid for a band whose main appeal is catchiness through straightforward grooves. Unfortunately, their latest bong trip, Why You So Crazy falls on its nose too. The disappointingly flat production was applied to a set of tracks that more often present themselves as sketches rather than fully fleshed songs. Moreover, this LP just gently passes you by, revealing itself to be devoid of any truly memorable songs (even its predecessor had ‘STYGGO’ & ‘You Are Killing Me’ which were cool and had replay value).

Even the songs that are worthy of a few spins inspire a list of possible tweaks to enhance their potential and hide flaws. For example, ‘Terraform’ reminisces the deep bass grooves of ‘The Dope’ off Welcome to the Monkey House. I must admit it gave me hope upon the first listen, only to rapidly realize it doesn’t go anywhere. There are some interesting feedback and delay-soaked guitar leads popping up, but that’s about it. Courtney’s croons seem sung from an adjacent room, not boasting any hooks. The group simply relied on a solid synth progression to drive everything, however, it doesn’t. Meanwhile, the late ‘90s throwback, ‘Be Alright’ sounds as if the guitarists forgot to press their distortion pedals. It’s the closest they have come to the original Dandy sound in a while, still, if you’re going to do it, do it right goddamnit. Towards the end, the ‘80s goth-inspired ditty, ‘Forever’ makes use of steel drums to augment its odd-but-ultimately-interesting swaying rhythm. I find it mildly entertaining, although so far, I can’t decide if the vocals help or not. As soon as the track gives way to album closer, ‘Ondine’, a six-minute virtuoso piano solo that makes no sense in this already nonsensical context, I gave up on Why You So Crazy. I actually wanted/hoped this longest cut (amid these 2 or 3-minute numbers) to save this entire journey, but it didn’t. No matter how much I admire The Dandy Warhols for marching to their own beat, never compromising (and I’m all for crazy experimentation), their musical output lately seems like the result of excessive brain frying sessions in their own Odditorium. Regrettably, this current direction is aimless and simply boring, so I wish they snapped out of it and rebrand themselves.



Recent reviews by this author
Beastwars IVYawning Man Macedonian Lines
Jambinai ONDAZAUM Divination
Brant Bjork JacoozziThe Brian Jonestown Massacre The Brian Jonestown Massacre
user ratings (16)
Chart.
2.2
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Disappointing LP again. Here is an article that helps understand Courtney Taylor-Taylor's vision on his musical output - http://noisey.vice.com/en_us/article/3kgzmk/rank-your-records-the-dandy-warhols-courtney-taylor-taylor



'Forever' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOqBMLbLX2w

'Be Alright' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peM92qyUy5o

'Motor City Steel' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31bdm4O8314

Digging: Elder (USA-MA) - The Gold & Silver Sessions

Papa Universe
January 26th 2019


22224 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but is it better than Distortland?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For me, no.

Papa Universe
January 26th 2019


22224 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i can hear that.



it's better by this much.

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

COurtney is a lazy drunk and it shows on this record. Thank god for Pete and Brent.

Be Alright, Thee Elegant Bum, To the Church snd Forever are 5/5 songs for me while the rest of the album barely touches 2 or 2.5. And all these were written by Brent.

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

heres a video that explains why everything Courtney did on this is garbage



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjzf6WCdzeo



It just makes me sad because he was so innovative, unique and talanted songwriter. I guess getting The Odditorium was a bad idea afterall

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

heres a video that explains why everything Courtney did on this is garbage



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjzf6WCdzeo



It just makes me sad because he was so innovative, unique and talanted songwriter. I guess getting The Odditorium was a bad idea afterall

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really liked Courtney right from his attitude to his songs, but this decade he's been on a downward spiral creatively speaking. I read a few interviews in the past week and he admitted he doesn't write many songs lately. The Odditorium is a really cool place, but he spends too much time being drunk and high lol.

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Exactly. On the other note last few releases did make me appreciate some of the post Monkey House records i originally dismissed as pretentious or whatever.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Earth to the Dandy Warhols was their last awesome record for me. This Machine has some strong songs, but there's less consistency overall.

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

To me it was Are Sound which is actually my favorite record of theirs. As a music producer the sound and atmosphere of the record are something i've been trying to incorporate in my music for a long time

bloc
January 26th 2019


56419 Comments


A long time ago...they used to be a fun band

Digging: UNKLE - Psyence Fiction

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I actually dug more the sound from Welcome to the Monkey House, but I have a weakness for new wave and that '80s inspired production nowadays. Nevertheless, some of the mixes on Are Sound are just as good.

bloc
January 26th 2019


56419 Comments


I remember begging my mom to buy me the cd of Monkey House when it first came out. Shit was expensive too

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


4807 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I got into them with Monkey House, mainly because I heard 'We Used to Be Friends' on FIFA 2004's soundtrack. I still love that song.

bloc
January 26th 2019


56419 Comments


Same dude, catchy has helllll

MagicMike1
January 26th 2019


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn they were in a lot of things, i got into them after i saw a Prozac Nation video with Love is The New Feel Awful playing and had Lou Reed in it so 12 year old me thought it was the coolest shit ever and then Autumn Carneval cam out and i was hooked. Now later i've noticed Boys Better playing in Goodwill Hunting and Everyday SBAH in some Ben Stiller movie

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


12145 Comments


wow, haven't thought about these guys in a hot minute


Digging: Hot Chip - A Bath Full of Ecstasy

sixdegrees
January 26th 2019


6572 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjzf6WCdzeo


this is a cry for help


hal1ax
January 26th 2019


13880 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

lol first youtube comment:



COOL GUY ALERT everybody COOL GUY ALERT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy