Black Forest
Dream


4.0
excellent

Review

by frozencarl USER (1 Reviews)
January 17th, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: eat your heart out, Jari Mäenpää

Picture this: it’s 2018 and you’re a Wintersun fan. Their 2004 self-titled sits at a cozy 4.5 in your ratings list. Time I is a few pegs below, and The Forest Seasons is nowhere to be found. You’re melancholic. You want more folk-infused melodic death. You want epic guitar riffs and melodic synths. You crave raspy screams and lyrics about forests, snow, and celestial bull***. Alas, poor you, a Time II release date in this lifetime is about as probable as an In Flames comeback album.

After spinning Ensiferum for the tenth time this week, you load up Spotify and click discover. You spot an album cover depicting a quiet grove by a pond, colored with shades of pink and blue. Hmm, oddly familiar. You hit play, and an orchestral prelude begins.

The album you’ve chosen is the 2-year brainchild of Vienna, Austria newcomers Black Forest. You immediately double check your music player. No, that isn’t Beyond the Dark Sun. That vocalist is not, in fact, Jari Mäenpää. The production is clean and crisp, the keyboards are fantastical, and the guitar mellisonant. The lyrics are riddled with images of trees and moonlight and all that corny goodness. Each song is as catchy as the last, and you soon find yourself immersed in a snowy, melodeathical dreamscape.

Before you know it, the 34-minute long LP fades out. You enjoyed it, however not without a few shortcomings. Maybe you think it’s borderline excessive on the Jari worship, perhaps somewhat uninspired, a little bit of both, whatever. Black Forest isn’t reinventing the wheel here. But that’s fine. They’ve taken that wheel and polished it up nicely. You might not even care that Time II isn’t coming out anymore, because Dream scratches that itch real good.


user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
frozencarl
January 16th 2019


655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

first review, tell me it sucks. here's a song:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0to-WImG0o

suppatime
January 16th 2019


1421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ayyyy pos m8. Dis shit p dank

Hawks
January 16th 2019


70615 Comments


Black Forest - Dreamen

Digging: Flamen - Furor Lunae

Shredgazmo
January 17th 2019


18 Comments


Hawks, did you make some weird bet that you have to put 'en' after any 'm' LMFAO

frozencarl
January 17th 2019


655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

listen to this album men

DungeonBoy
January 17th 2019


5990 Comments


The colors and font on that album cover looks like something from our dear friend Black Malachite.. but gonna jam now

Good first review man. The guitars sound pretty terrible and the drumming sounds synthetic, I was surprised to see they have an actual drummer according to Encyclopedia Metallum. But that aside, yeah I see the Wintersun comparison. Cheers dude!

Digging: D'un Autre Temps - Nos Mmoires

frozencarl
January 17th 2019


655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hey thanks for the kind words :^ )



now that you mention it, the cover really does scream Black Malachite. but yea, wouldn't be a wintersun clone without all that studio magic lmao

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2019


4474 Comments


good first review, it's readable and flows well which is better than most (certainly mine, way back in the day). I can give you more detailed feedback if you'd like but generally if you're going to paint the album in personal terms like you've done here, you're going to want to really, really lean into it. this is good but everything personal (except the ratings) could be replaced with a more neutral, impersonal, "review-y" sentence, particularly the last two paragraphs. just something stylistically to keep in mind for next time. here's a review that really does the personal aspect well, in a similar style to this https://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/64444/Beach-Slang-Cheap-Thrills-On-A-Dead-End-Street/

DungeonBoy
January 17th 2019


5990 Comments


https://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/73747/Paramore-After-Laughter/

this one is a hidden gem. Actually it's not hidden at all cause 42 people loved it or hated it.

frozencarl
January 17th 2019


655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@brostep thanks man, i appreciate all that. i've never written a review for anything before, but i've got a little background in writing so i'm def open to any and all feedback you're up to typing out. thanks for the links too, both reviews are great.





mthilliard
January 17th 2019


2 Comments


To someone unfamiliar with most of the band references (me), you still managed to successfully sell it! It flows real well and no sentence is wasted :-)

Digging: Kaleikr - Heart of Lead

hal1ax
January 18th 2019


13600 Comments


good review dude

Source
January 18th 2019


10849 Comments


I like me some wintersun s/t

Scheumke
January 18th 2019


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review! I am really loving this artwork. Will give it a spin!

Digging: Illyria - The Carpathian Summit

RippingCorpse1986
January 18th 2019


3115 Comments


Nice succinct review.

I saw this album in a list of the best melodeath albums released last year, but didn't hit it up, been in more of a DM mood these days. That album cover is beautiful though, and the Wintersun comparisons definitely make this look interesting so I'll check this out soon.

Scheumke
January 18th 2019


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does scratch that itch.. Quite good this one!

frozencarl
January 19th 2019


655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

if you enjoyed this album, here's some more melodeath in its vein:

https://youtu.be/T5tkG7duSJQ





Scheumke
January 21st 2019


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll give it a spin! For people who enjoy this I can really recommend Xanthochroid.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy