Black Tongue
Nadir


4.5
superb

Review

by crossbreaker USER (2 Reviews)
January 13th, 2019 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Purgatory in an mp3 file

Black Tongue has spent three long years silent. Their last project, The Unconquerable Dark (2015) received decent reviews from the deathcore community, yet I couldn't find myself enjoying it. It seemed, quite honestly, rather generic. Then they went silent. No tours, little explanation, and no new tunes. Fast forward two years into 2017 and the four-piece from Hull, England revealed their new endeavor: Nadir. The video interview promoting this album seemed promising enough, showcasing each members feelings toward the new project, and previous work. However, it was the short clips of blaring, down-tuned riffage that was exposed in between the interview that intrigued me the most.

That video was released in March of 2017. It took eight more months for us to understand what that video was leading towards. Enter Nadir. This album is humongous. Humongous in terms of production, instrumentation, vocals, lyricism, and overarching theme (as this is a concept album). This album is phenomenal in every way, shape, and form, and here is why. It is an innovative album, and it works. This band is no longer strictly deathcore. There are actual riffs on this album, vicious screams, blast beats, and yes, breakdowns o-plenty. This album takes the paradigm of a deathcore album and throws in influences of doom metal, black metal, riff rock, and transforms that bland formula into an inspired, divergent, but none-the-less massive album.

Eddi Pickard's guitar work on this album is unrivaled in terms of creativity. With tracks tuned anywhere between drop C# and double drop B, the riffs he pulls of at such a low frequency are astounding. The little melodies shoved in between the barrage of subwoofer-melting riffage add polish to the sonic chaos in songs like "The Eternal Return to Ruin" and "Parting Soliloquy". Aaron Kitcher is a beast behind his drum kit, spending his time creating the canvas for Pickard's colorful guitar work. He uses blast beats sparingly while slowing down when necessary to lay down a solid, groovy beat for Pickard. Kitcher's drums are enormous, as well, which adds a layering depth to the already cavernous album (Check the toms towards the end of "Contrapasso"). Floating atop this ocean of audio madness is Alex Teyen, on vocals. What can I say about him" How do I mention the gurgling lows in "Ultima Necat", the shrieked highs in "Second Death", the crystallized cleans, and his infinitely large lungs in one review" Not to mention his lyricism, narrating the journey of a man (who killed himself) through purgatory, hell, and later, into the void. Oh well, it will have to wait for another review.

On a personal level, this is my album of the year, by far, although it does have a few flaws (hence the 4.5). Firstly, the cover of "A Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh" (originally by Celtic Frost) doesn't get me making much noise. It drags on for a few minutes, and before you realize it's started, it's over. Also, the ending track, "Crippled Before the Dwelling Place of God", is a lackluster ending to this epic, closing out fairly abruptly, and forces you to quit the sonic embrace cold turkey. Lastly, the bass on this record is not only unregistrable as well as unnecessary. The guitars are already low enough, the production pushes 60 Hz and 150 Hz to the max, thus the bass that is there is just overrun and unheard.

Black Tongue could be viewed as another immature, stagnant, run of the mill deathcore band by some. To each their own, right" However, if The Unconquerable Dark was a caterpillar, Nadir is a butterfly. The transformation and genuine growth displayed on this album are glaringly obvious, and if they choose to continue on this path, they will be a force to be reckoned with. If Hell had a soundtrack, this would be it.


user ratings (78)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Zach (4.5)
[...]...



Comments:Add a Comment 
crossbreaker
January 13th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So uhh yeah. This is my first review. Constructive criticism is always welcome, and thanks for reading

J() Alexander
January 13th 2019


6262 Comments


Why an mp3 file?

crossbreaker
January 13th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've listened to it via Spotify, and the vinyl orders haven't shipped out yet :/

J() Alexander
January 13th 2019


6262 Comments


Understandable.

AgentDeathbat
January 13th 2019


9774 Comments


Oh hey, an actual review for this.

Hellscythe
January 13th 2019


3515 Comments


there's no way this band could have done that Celtic Frost song justice

Digging: Billie Eilish - When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?

crossbreaker
January 13th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, Zach wasn't exactly...detailed in his "review"

Darius the Great
January 13th 2019


20127 Comments


bet this band still blows horse genitals

crossbreaker
January 13th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not that it was a horrible cover, it was just boring and ceased to progress the story of the album in any way. However, it was still decently written.

crossbreaker
January 13th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No bruv, they're really good now. As I said at the end of my review, if you hate their last albums, check this one out. It'll change your mind, trust me.

AgentDeathbat
January 13th 2019


9774 Comments


I'm outspoken as hell about my distaste for Born Hanged, and look at this rating here. Crossbreaker's right.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2019


8895 Comments


This is a great review dude, especially for a first review. Pos. I'd just fix a few minor things.


"his album is phenomenal in every way, shape, and form, and here is why. It is an innovative album, and it works."

I'd put a colon or em-dash (—) between those two sentences since they're connected.


"Eddi Pickard's guitar work on this album is unrivaled in terms of creativity."

I know you explain why the guitar work is so good, but saying "unrivaled" still seems massively hyperbolic even if you did truly believe that the guitar playing on this album is literally the best guitar playing that there has ever been. I'd suggest using a different superlative.

crossbreaker
January 14th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you my man. As for the first tweak, completely agree, that was on me. Secondly, I wrote this review from a fans point of view, I’ve been listening on end since it was released. I tried to minimize the effect that would have on the review, but obviously it still showed up. But thank you for the props and critique

Ninjahague
January 14th 2019


1169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Band is nothing like they were in Born Hanged, any doubters need to give this a listen.

Also bless, a proper review for this beast of this album was very much needed and I couldn't begin to word out the justice it deserves like you have. easy pos

crossbreaker
January 14th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you my man, much appreciated. But in all honesty Zach did a great job in his..."review"

madcowdisease
January 15th 2019


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review reads a bit more like jotted-down thoughts and impressions on the album at times, but it's a real review at least, which this deserves. Album slaps hard.



I liked the Celtic Frost cover, at the very least their rendition fits the album stylistically and they've performed it in their own style. I actually think it's a great take in that regard.

Digging: Venom Prison - Samsara

crossbreaker
January 15th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with it sounding like notes at times, but I also wanted to be quick and to the point with what I was saying and why I was saying it. Also, I do think the Celtic Frost cover SOUNDS good as far as instrumentation and vocals go, but it doesn’t do much for the story of the album, and this seems fairly useless (to me, at least).

Ninjahague
January 18th 2019


1169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

4 avg when

J0ckstrapsFTW
January 18th 2019


3761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked it I thought that the unconquerable dark is better tho

Digging: Knocked Loose - Mistakes Like Fractures

crossbreaker
January 19th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought it was decent. Yet again, to each their own



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy